We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Show Prices
#65 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

970 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 896: English reviews
uk
Reviewed 26 May 2015

I received a great welcome here after a VERY long day travelling from the south of England. All the staff were friendly and looked after me. The room was superb, the bars (I tried more than one!) were very comfortable and the service excellent. A great meal with attentive service. Definitely a location to revisit. Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank UkHugh
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear UkHugh It was great to read your positive review following your stay in March with us. Thank you for your comments and I'm glad you managed to find both the Claret bar and Whisky bar, both well worth the visit. Look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Gillian

Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

I was brought up not to judge books by their covers, but sadly all too often this is exactly what happens at hotels like this. As a young solo traveller in a well-appointed (albeit pricy) hotel, some of the staff were lovely to me but some really obviously looked down their noses at me and treated me like the poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lebeq
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Lebeq Thank you for your review after staying at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh in May. Overall I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, but disappointed you found some of the service not up to our usual high friendly standards. The warm, friendly welcome should be extended to all our guests and I can only apologise that this was not your...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 23 May 2015 via mobile

I am never disappointed with hotel du vin. This time no exception - except the parking. The hotel itself is a wonderful converted building around an outside courtyard. Rooms, service and food all up to normal du vin standard. Car parking however is a bit of a pain. There is no legal parking even whilst checking in then you are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Phil H
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Phil H Thanks for your feedback after staying at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. Overall I was glad that you managed to enjoy your stay and appreciate your comments regarding the parking. As a city centre hotel it can be difficult to provide parking on site, however, we are proud to offer a discount at the local car park. I...

Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2015

I mucked up booking dates so I had to upgrade, room was lovely as to be expected at the price - £205; free standing bath in main room, with drench shower and a wonderful bed. Breakfast was very good. Service impeccable. The hotel is superbly constructed within this very old building which previously was an asylum; perhaps that's why I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter B
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Peter B Thanks for such a wonderful review after staying at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It was great to read that every aspect of your stay was perfect and I'm glad that we could accommodate you despite the mix up. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Gillian

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2015

From the moment of signing in it was a relaxed atmosphere, we were well at home in the old asylum and it's rabbit warren of passages to the room. Ours was on the second floor overlooking the courtyard and was very quite even though the courtyard was is use for the smokers. The room was a standard room and was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RabbiBuckley
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear RabbiBuckley Thank you for you positive review following a recent stay at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I'm delighted that we managed to meet your expectations and you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Gillian

Reviewed 19 May 2015

Fantastic weekend at Hotel du Vin in Edinburgh - comfortable bedroom (no need to upgrade despite the emailed offers) overlooking the courtyard with good en suite shower/bathroom (really hot water!). Staff friendly and very professional, for dinner it is better value to upgrade from prix fixe to a la carte (if you are on the dinner, bed and breakfast deal)...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicky C
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Nicky C Thank you for your positive feedback after staying in Edinburgh. It was lovely to read that you managed to enjoy our central location and take in the sights the city has to offer as well as enjoy meals within the hotel. We hope you will manage to stay with us on your return visit. Kind Regards Gillian

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

Maybe I was expecting too much but the most special thing about the room was the quirky name. Don't get me wrong, it was a very comfortable room but I expected more for the price. The ensuite was ok but small. I did love having the bottle of wine in the room instead of water - and at a reasonable...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LEJ9120
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear LEJ9120 Thanks for your feedback regarding your stay in May. It was great to read that the team looked after you and made your stay enjoyable. I appreciate your feedback regarding the size of the room, as we are a converted ayslum our rooms do vary in size and shape dependant on location within the building. Should you visit...

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2015

Spent a couple of nights here whilst at a conference. I remember this building from my childhood and was fascinated at how creatively it had been transformed into this quirky hotel. We had a very good deal and loved every minute of it. Fabulous room and bathroom. Very enjoyable breakfast. Excellent situation.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Blunderbusy
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear blunderbusy Thank you for your review following your stay in May. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. We hope that we might be able to welcome you back to Edinburgh in the near future. Kind Regards Gillian

Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

Over priced ... Standards dropped for such a chain who promote high standards Upgrade was pathetic the room was the size of a cupboard Dusty and felt grubby Breakfast was good despite the very unfriendly staff I moved hotel for my second night The du vin is no longer a high spec place to stay Have bigger and cleaner rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank morphnsqueeze
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear morphnsqueeze Thank you for your feedback following your stay at HdV. I was disappointed to read that your did not enjoy your experience as this is far from the high standards you should rightly expect within Hotel du Vin. Following previous visits I do hope you may return in the future so we can restore your faith in the...

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2015

a few days away thanks to a grateful daughter and partner,very pleasant stay at the hotel du vin .very well located,room was excellent, staff very friendly and helpful.plenty to see and do in edinburgh, as not to large and all sights easy to reach,due to location of the hotel.breakfast at hotel was really good,at first glance looked expensive, but was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redheath123
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear redheath123 Thanks for the wonderful review following your recent stay at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I was glad to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay - the room, breakfast, location and service. Hopefully we might be able to welcome you back to stay again in the future. Kind Regards Gillian

629 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (231)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (107)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (388)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Dom Perignon Master Suite (82)
Viewed
La Grande Dame Suite (65)
Viewed
Dining (66)
Viewed
The Hotel (165)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
841 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,388 reviews
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,055 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $188 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a courtyard room.”
 of 5 bubbles J5938HNedm, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade your room if available, bathroom so much bigger with a bath in the main room too”
 of 5 bubbles damedolan, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“"Penfolds" is small, but nice - but does look out onto busy Bristo Place”
 of 5 bubbles 646gabriellap, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask about size of room”
 of 5 bubbles Bryyan55, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor rooms at the front for a nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles Miserablesod, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5