We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

TripAdvisorUS$173*
View Deal
#71 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$192*
US$173*
Great Deal
US$175*
US$175*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

994 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 919: English reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2015

We visited as a large group and booked a private room. Before dinner we were given exclusive use of a bar area. Service was friendly and efficient. Considering the large number eating the food was very good and arrived simultaneously. I would strongly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NM590
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear NM590 Thank you for your review after your private dining event with us at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am glad that you enjoyed the use of the Whisky snug prior to your meal and that the food was enjoyable. Should you be looking for any future events then please do get in contact with the events team. Kind...

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights for a treat. This hotel is breathtaking, we had a room upgrade to the Saintsbury room with an enormous waterfall shower and a huge roll top bath. The bed was covered in diamond white sheets that hugged you when you jumped in. We took advantage of the steak chataubriand offer for dinner & it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trace H
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Trace H Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Edinburgh Hotel du Vin. It was wonderful to hear that you were so well looked after, especially by Ashley - she was delighted to have made such an impact! We hope to welcome you back very soon! Kind Regards Gillian

Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2015

we stayed here in January for a two night weekend break booked direct from an offer from the hotel du vin website. the cost was £118 per night for a superior room including breakfast and dinner in the bistro (reviewed separately).the hotel is situated near the royal mile and just up the hill from the grassmarket. on arrival the girl...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark h
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear markh Thank you for your review following your stay at HdV Edinburgh. I appreciate your constructive comments regarding the layout of the room and am glad that overall you had a great stay with us! Look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Gillian

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2015

My partner and I booked a night away from the kids as a birthday celebration - one night of grown up decadence and Hotel du Vin delivered perfectly. Our room, a superior double was lovely; big bed, crisp white bed linen and a fabulous free-standing bath as well as a fantastic, huge rainfall shower area - really great use of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynda G
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear LyndaG Thank you for your fantastic review following your stay at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am delighted to read that we are your luxurious haven away from the kids! We hope you have another special occasion soon so you can manage another escape. Kind Regards Gillian

Reviewed 15 March 2015

We stayed here late last year and found the hotel to be of a lovely standard with a beautiful, large room. The decor is tasteful and top notch and the beds comfortable and luxurious. We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was really lovely and the service was spot on. Breakfast was delicious and nice choices away from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helenokane
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Helenokane Thank you for your feedback following your visit to Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I was delighted to read that we are your favourite HdV and you found the service to be perfect as well as the wonderful breakfast. Hopefully we will see you again at HdV! Kind Regards Gillian

Reviewed 15 March 2015 via mobile

Attended here as a birthday gift. First impressions.. Wow. We were offered a table which we politely declined due to its position and the staff offered another without any problem. We had a 3 course lunch from the fixed price menu. The food was of a good standard with no complaints or criticism from either of us. The wine list...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Almcfet
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Almcfet Thank you for the wonderful review you posted following your birthday celebration at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. It is always fantastic to read that your experience was extra special due to the service you received from the team and that this adds to the stay. We can't wait to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards...

London
Reviewed 15 March 2015

Having decided on a staycation for our annual spring break, we decided to visit Edinburgh, and we're pleased to see they had a Hotel du Vin as we use our local one in Tunbridge Wells on a weekly basis. The hotel is conveniently placed, a short walking distance from the Royal Mile. We received a lovely warm welcome on arrival,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeannius24
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Jeannius Thank you for your kind review following your stay at HdV Edinburgh. It is always great to read that regular Hotel du Vin guests enjoyed visiting another property and that we did not disappoint! We will hopefully see you back in Edinburgh soon! Kind Regards Gillian

Saint-Genis-Pouilly, France
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Right in the centre of Edinburgh, this lovely old building really works as a hotel (for me). I'm always impressed if I have a super comfortable bed (tick) and a powerful shower (double tick - it's like being in a rain forest). And on top of that there is a 24 hour bar. The breakfast we OK, nothing too much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Simon F Thank you for your positive review. It was good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially liked our monsoon showers, they certainly wake you up in the morning! Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Kind Regards Gillian

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 March 2015

Hotel du Vin is conveniently located in the heart of Edinburgh. The rooms are a decent size and the furniture is very comfortable. Good beds and an excellent bathroom. Good choices for breakfast and good service from the reception staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RomaPHILE33
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear RomaPHILE33 Thank you for writing a review following your stay at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. Overall it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay, the service and the breakfast. We do hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Gillian

Northumberland
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

I took my wife here for her birthday weekend. The room was really well presented, clean and had great fixtures and fittings. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the hotel itself is really beautiful and interesting. I wish we could have spent more time there and would liked to have tasted the food as it looked really good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mozzzer
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Mozzzer Thanks for the fantastic review following a weekend stay at HdV Edinburgh. I'm delighted that we lived up to expectations and that we will see you again in the future. Kind Regards Gillian

635 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (231)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (107)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (388)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Dom Perignon Master Suite (82)
Viewed
La Grande Dame Suite (65)
Viewed
Dining (66)
Viewed
The Hotel (165)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
868 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,537 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,408 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $230 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“some rooms are on the street side so can be a bit noisy”
jclewis80, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The attic suite showed the essence of Edinburgh.”
LM477, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid this overpriced slop”
ih716, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a courtyard room.”
J5938HNedm, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade your room if available, bathroom so much bigger with a bath in the main room too”
damedolan, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$173* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$175
Hotels.comUS$175
HOTEL.INFOUS$192
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates