We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cityroomz Edinburgh

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Cityroomz Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

696 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cityroomz Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 487: English reviews
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016

took my girlfriend on a mini holiday and we couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay, staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and inviting. the breakfast were a welcome treat in the morning with its wide selection to chose from

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelsallen
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 30 September 2016

A lovely clean hotel, nicely priced and with friendly staff. The location is good and very close to the centre of Edinburgh and also the tram to and from the airport. Our room was surprisingly quiet. Good wifi throughout. The only downside was that we couldn't open the bedroom window which wouldn't usually be a problem in Edinburgh - it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The3Es
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Just a few minutes' walk up from Haymarket Station, and very well located on the map beneath the shadow of Edinburgh Castle, Cityroomz exceeded my expectations based on what I'd paid and other accommodation of this sort. Front desk staff were very friendly and informed me that as I'd paid directly I received a £5 per day voucher to spend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrokenFriend
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Arrived late and the guy behind the desk was nice enough but got the impression I was interrupting him watching tv or something. Wifi was strong enough and the room was really clean. Good value for a midweek stay during the festival for business, the room was slightly warm but who has air-conditioning is Scotland right?!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chiantiloverrr
Javeed A, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Chiantiloverrr, Thank you for leaving a nice review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you liked our great value room rates. Apologies if the receptionist gave you the wrong impression, we'll have a word, as it not our usual behaviour. Good to also hear that the free wi-fi met your needs. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

chicago
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We arrived and checked in very quickly. the staff were very professional, nice and knowledgeable. the location is also good close to Edinburgh castle and the golden mile easy access to the airport bus or tram nice place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMRILUSAGUY
Javeed A, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear AMRILUSAGUY, Thank you for leaving a lovely review. Great to hear that you liked our central location and our professional and knowledgeable staff. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night with partner was last min booking due to previous hotel letting us down last min. On arrival the lady on reception was wonderful and friendly on route to the room we seen one of the cleaners who was also very polite and helpful customer service here was great. Will certainty be using this place again Well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
Javeed A, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Mark W, Thank you for a great review. It is always a pleasure to hear from happy guests. Thank you also for your kind words about our friendly and helpful staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 11 nights during the Festival at totally hiked rates. Room was acceptable but could have been cleaner. Wasn't serviced everyday and the water bottles weren't replaced. After checkout, a day early, discovered they had charged my card an extra £30 with no explanation. Won't answer my calls to explain this. There are much better places to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jkpdalz
Javeed A, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear jkpdalz I am sorry to hear that you had some issues with your stay. Unfortunately we can not ascertain your stay details from your TripAdvisor user name. Please can you contact the hotel direct via email, reservations@cityroomzedinburgh.com and we will look into your concerns. We look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed 1 night before a flight to Oslo. The room was hot, the lift was hot, the corridors were hot..and no air con! The fan in our room was noisy but the open window didn't do enough. Had a terrible night's sleep. Plus points are that they have an actual hairdryer in the room and the staff were very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katy P
Javeed A, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Katy P, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. It was the unusually hot weather that caused the issue, we don't get many days with such high temperatures. I am pleased that you found our staff to be helpful. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Boylston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We arrived on August the 19th for a 3 night stay after spending some time in London. No I understand it was a very busy time of the year with all the festivities going on around the city at this time of the year, so when we booked I thought the 300$ US a night was not going to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ivan R
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Cityroomz is a great place to stay! Perfect bus connections to the airport, right infront of the hotel. It is very central, shopping, good restaurants, old town everything close by. The room it self was perfect for my 2 girls and me. Confortable, clean, quiet. I would choose the same hotel again. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chantal M
Javeed A, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Chantal M, A perfect 5 star review, thank you so much. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your family stay with us and you found our family room to be clean and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (141)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
1:32
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#29 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,162 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#73 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,024 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cityroomz Edinburgh is conveniently located just off Princes Street on Shandwick Place only a few minutes’ walk from Edinburgh Waverley and Edinburgh Haymarket stations and close to all the major attractions this great city has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cityroomz Edinburgh

Address: 25-33 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh EH2 4RG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $63 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityroomz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Cityroomz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Shandwick Place Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh Scotland
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cityroomz Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question
northern england
dunbartonshire
over a year ago
Sunderland, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Cityroomz Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book direct with hotel as its no more expensive than comparison websites. You get a voucher to spend in the hotel which covers breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles garymckeown88, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a high floor. Avoid 1st floor, would be noisy because of breakfast room”
 of 5 bubbles X9632LAemmam, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the back of the building. It's quieter”
 of 5 bubbles BixieB, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear are nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Cartimand, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Front views are better but busier. But honestly, most thing shut down at 11pm. Views of buses, taxis and pedestrians.”
 of 5 bubbles Trademarck, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay