We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Merchiston Residence

Hotwire.comUS$125*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Merchiston Residence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Merchiston Residence
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
North East England
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had tickets to see The Lunineers at The Corn Exchange and didn't want to stay in a hotel. These apartments are wonderful; warm, comfortable and blending modern functionality with original features. We decided to walk in to the city centre, a very leisurely 45 minutes, all downhill and stopping to explore some interesting shops on the way. Taxi back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janice36
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your conference. Well done for walking into town, it's lovely to see all the independent shops and of course The Meadows on the way. Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

staffordshire
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Excellent is all I can say. Spotlessly clean, lovely and warm, extremely comfortable and really convenient for the city centre. Far better than a hotel room and for the same price. Wouldn't hesitate to book an apartment again.Taxis and buses are really plentiful and cheap. So quiet and safe area. Just book it !!!!! You won't be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alibee49P
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate you sharing your experiences. It sounds like you had a lovely time and took full advantage of our location. I hope we will see you back again soon.

Cork, Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We booked our stay here just a few days before leaving for Edinburgh from Cork, Ireland. The reason we chose the apartment was due to the cost being about the same compared to a Bed & Breakfast and cheaper then any hotel stay for our trip there. I am so glad we booked it too! It was well worth the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kara H
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review

Thank you, so much, for taking the time to post such a lovely review, it sounds like you had a great time and made the most of your time in Edinburgh and the surrounds. Not many visitors make it to Cramond, which is very pretty! We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.

Hertfordshire, England
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have just stayed here for a couple of nights in apartment 6 for my husband's birthday and because he used to live in the 'two rooms' ( one now) as a student so we were excited to see what it was like-love the design of the room, had a lovely welcome on arrival and were left with chocolates and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debo66buster
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Your husband must have found some difference since his time staying there, but his local knowledge would have meant you knew all the good places to go! Its also great to hear that you noticed our housekeeping standards, I will pass your comments onto the team. We hope to see you back...

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is a great place to stay - all the benefits of a hotel suite with the privacy of your own flat. The location is perfect, close to the city centre but a couple of minutes from the main road so very quiet at night. There are groceries round the corner and lots of tempting restaurants, cafes and bars within...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grahame_Goode
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found lots of things to do. There are so many lovely restaurants close by that we are spoiled for choice. I hope we get to welcome you back soon.

Droitwich
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Not a lot more I can say that I haven't written in previous years other than the rating this accomodation gets is no surprise to me. Truly excellent and great value. stayed in the basement rooms this time, no issues with bookings, early arrival later entry tot he property. This is an ideal site from which to visit Edinburgh

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy_Worcs
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review

Hello there. Thanks for posting another lovely review, we are get to hear that we keep meeting your expectations and we look forward to seeing you back soon! Thanks again.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We are into our 4th day if a 6 day stay at the apartment. We have absolutely loved it. There has been no complaints. Room service is awesome. Furnishings are beautiful and everything you need is provided. A grocery store and coffee shop is 2 mins away as is the bus stop. A 10 minute ride from tranquility to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anexastihor
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review

Hello there Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely comments about Merchiston Residence, it's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for your feedback, all of which is appreciated. For your next trip, we have maps for guests by the front door, I will check when I am there later that there are...

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We spent 2 nights in these brilliant apartments on a recent visit to Edinburgh and to visit family. They exceeded our expectations, they were spotlessly clean and decorated extremely tastefully. They are located in a very quiet area but still close enough to explore the city of Edinburgh.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arthur_T_W46
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our apartments, we really appreciate it. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, the surroundings of Merchiston are so peaceful, particularly in the summer madness, so its good to hear you enjoyed that and your trip to Edinburgh. We hope to see you back soon.

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in apartment 5 on the first floor which has one separate bedroom and another bed on mezzanine level above the bathroom. The whole appeareance of the place was almost spotless, the only this I noticed was the the groutings between the tiles in the bathroom and kitchen started to desintegrate a little. The apartments are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muh-Sagt-Die-Kuh
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review

Hello there Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and the location and thanks for posting the restaurant tip, there's nothing like actual recommendations! Thanks for letting us know about the grout, our bathrooms are being regrouted as soon as the summer madness is over, its impossible to gain access before then. I hope it didn't impact on your stay....

boston, ma
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 4 nights. We have been to Edinburgh numerous times & always stay in a hotel the city center. For this trip, we decided to try an apartment in a different area & couldn't have been happier with our choice. The apartment was great, very clean & comfortable with everything we needed. We encountered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank belfast10
Merchiston R, General Manager at Merchiston Residence, responded to this review

Hello there Thanks for your review, it's always good to hear the our guests have enjoyed their stay. Well done for finding the green space, maybe of Bruntsfiled Links, which we love! Next time try some of the ice cream from Lucas to follow the chips, it's amazing! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Other (16)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
884 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,034 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
284 reviews
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A grand Victorian property of 8 luxury serviced apartments set in the cosmopolitan district of Merchiston where visitors are now offered an unrivalled home from home experience. The sumptuous interiors at Merchiston Residence are contemporary and bespoke, exuding sophisticated elegance. Merchiston Residence is a minute’s walk from the fashionable area of Bruntsfield which is home to designer boutique shopping and a myriad of independent eateries, and is a 15-20 minute walk or 5 minute bus or taxi ride into the city centre and the surrounding landmarks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Merchiston Residence

Address: 4 Merchiston Avenue, Edinburgh EH10 4NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $177 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchiston Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Merchiston Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchiston Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Merchiston Residence Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Merchiston Residence staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Merchiston Residence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Read check in details as unmanned and a code is needed to get in the building and your apartment and for enquiries or complaints.”
janbV6760ZJ, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“warm and modern”
weivein, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“apartment 6 is lovely”
dee2508, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I would say they are all good”
K1143FAcarolem, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for the double bedroom on the ground floor :)”
  • Double bedroom on ground floor
Angelaslips, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$125* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$151
Agoda.comUS$151
PricelineUS$151
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates