Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian

View from room - St. Cuthburt Church (foreground) with Edinburgh Castle in background
Traveller (3164)
Castle view
Room & Suite (1098)
Peacock Alley at the Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Dining (246)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

C$874
Get rewarded with One Key
C$875
C$803
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#26 of 161 hotels in Edinburgh
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh – The Caledonian, built in 1903, is one of Edinburgh’s most significant landmarks. Admire some of the best views in Edinburgh from the luxurious guestrooms and suites and dine at Scottish fine dining restaurant Grazing by Mark Greenaway. At Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh – The Caledonian you can also experience the grandeur of the Peacock Alley, formerly the station concourse and ticket office, now a luxurious lounge offering light lunch, Traditional and Champagne Afternoon Tea, and elegant evening drinks. Sample some of Scotland’s finest whisky from the collection of over 100 malts and bends at The Caley Bar. Indulge yourself at the Waldorf Astoria Spa, a sanctuary of luxury and relaxation, home to four treatment rooms, an indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and two gyms. The spa offers pampering treatments for men and women, for reviving and healing, or just for pure indulgence.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Iron
Laptop safe
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Offer:Hilton Honors Discount

Location

Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AB Scotland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Turnhouse Airport
Dundee Airport
57.3 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles6,023 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian enjoys acclaim for its prime location and elegant atmosphere, with guests often mesmerized by the luxurious Peacock Alley and the stunning Edinburgh Castle views. However, opinions on rooms and value are polarized; some find them spacious with breathtaking views, while others lament the small size, dated feel, and not getting their money's worth. Service quality and cleanliness are high points, despite occasional lapses in service speed. Noise from AC units and squeaky beds, though, sometimes disrupts the tranquility.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Elegant
Rooms
Varied
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Noise level
Noisy
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Opulent

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
6,023Reviews78Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,762
  • 1,167
  • 629
  • 290
  • 175
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dan H wrote a review Jun 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is just wow. From the minute we arrived until the minute we left, we were absolutely amazed with the standards and service the hotel has to offer.

The staff at the hotel are exceptional,from reception to Spa and restaurant they were truly faultless. Every single team member went truly above and beyond to make our stay memorable.

The food is fantastic, we ate in the restaurants over two nights and the food & service faultless on both occasions. We also had treatments and the Spa which was fantastic. A true gem of a hotel.

Don’t like to nitpick but the only fault were the 3 young children who dominated the pool & hot tub over the two days we used these facilities. As it’s quite an expensive Spa experience, you’d expect this to be nipped in the bud. I appreciate kids are kids but if you’ve come away to relax it’s not all together ideal to rest up.

Fantastic hotel and couldn’t recommend it enough. Thank you Edinburgh Waldorf
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nitin R, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Responded Jun 16, 2023
Dear Dan H, Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey following your stay with us, as we greatly value and appreciate your feedback. I am pleased to see that in general you enjoyed your time with us! However, I would like to apologise for the fact that you did not have the most relaxing spa experience due to the noise in the pool area. Please rest assured that I have passed your comments onto the spa management team, as we are not in the habit of disappointing our guests, and we hope we can pleasantly surprise you on your next visit. We trust you had a safe onward journey and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul0407 wrote a review Oct 2020
East Kilbride, United Kingdom242 contributions123 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having stayed here on a few occasions, we were really looking forward to visiting again although wondering how different it would be with all the restrictions in place due to the pest that is coronavirus! The Hotel is set up magnificently and very safe with hand sanitizers readily available throughout the Hotel. The staff really are so very friendly and welcoming and this is all throughout the Hotel. Concierge, reception and staff at breakfast all an absolute credit to the Hotel. Always welcomed with a smile and a nice comment to start your day. For me, an example of how perfect customer service is delivered in the hospitality industry. Our room was lovely and roomy ( pardon the pun ) with all amenities you would require. The breakfast had been moved to within the relaxing bar are and a lovely afternoon tea style to start with including cheese, pastries and cereal and then hoot food available to order also. This is where we would always look to stay when visiting Edinburgh with it's location on Princess Street and a great view of the Castle from certain rooms. Could not recommend this Hotel enough and an absolute pleasure to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dale MacPhee, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Responded Oct 17, 2020
Dear Paul0407, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and heart warming review on your recent stay with us at the Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian. I am delighted to hear that our staff have provided top notch hospitality and most importantly that you felt safe and comfortable during your stay. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Edinburgh. Best Regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Aaron Shippen wrote a review Nov 2020
San Diego, California4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed here recently for our 1 year anniversary. Every aspect of our stay was fabulous. Fionna at check in was very warm and welcoming; she informed us that our room was upgraded (it was absolutely amazing and really made the trip). In our suite we were welcomed with a congratulatory macaroon/chocolate/fruit platter and bottle of wine.

We dined in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and both meals were as you would expect for a property of this category. Our server Victoria was very personable and a delight. I’d also like to mention Jamie (bellman) and Steve (doorman) who were both very friendly and welcoming throughout our stay.

I have to also remark on the above and beyond measures the hotel has made for Covid safety. Hand sanitation dispensers are throughout the property. The hotel is quite spacious in all areas so you are quite socially distanced. The room had a sticker seal on the door to reassure you it was sanitized and ready. The remotes were sanitized and sealed. The room itself was spotless. I can’t imagine a cleaner and more safe hotel to stay. Lastly, the staff wear badges with their headshot so you have a picture of who is behind the mask - a nice touch.

Will definitely stay here on my future visits to Edinburgh!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dale MacPhee, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Responded Nov 23, 2020
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Shippen, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian. I am delighted to hear our team were able to make your 1st Anniversary stay special and memorable, and thank you for giving Fiona, Victoria, Jamie and Steve a special mention. They are indeed great assets to our hotel. I'm very pleased you felt safe and comfortable during your stay with us, and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to stay with us again in the future. Best wishes, Dale MacPhee General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandhu93 wrote a review Jul 2020
United Kingdom84 contributions78 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is in a really good location and our room had a wonderful view of Edinburgh castle (which is why we booked it!)

The whole property has a very grand feel and was maintained very well. One of our favourite things was the little fudge sweets at the check in desk from a local producer - they were lovely and we bought some to take home!

The style of the rooms stays true to the period features of the property, however with an older building there is always a drawback on some of the infrastructure. The air conditioning/heating unit in our room was on the fritz and making quite a loud rattling noise. We arrived late evening on the first night so just turned it off, but for the second night the staff were kind enough to find us an alternative room.

Breakfast had a very good continental selection as well as a few hot items on one station. Cooked breakfast was made to to order with some items on the menu included in the breakfast price and a couple of extras at additional cost.

We really enjoyed this stay and will definitely come again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dean McVey, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Responded Jul 14, 2020
Dear Sandu93, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a detailed and lovely review of your time with us at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed a beautiful room with our unrivaled views out over Edinburgh Castle, they are truly spectacular! Thank you also for your kind comments on the styling of our hotel, our wonderful facilities and delicious offerings. I do hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adam N wrote a review Mar 2020
Flitwick, United Kingdom61 contributions60 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I had high expectations for a stay at such a prestigious hotel, however left slightly disappointed.

It definitely had a lot of pros; reception staff went above and beyond to accommodate us which was wonderful, the location is great very easy to get to all the main attractions and getting there from the airport is a breeze with the tram system so close by.

On to a the negatives; In contrast to the reception staff the Doorman was less the interested in our arrival didn’t even open the door, onto the room it was outdated and in need of some tlc, the mattress was solid as rock not the most comfortable for getting a good nights rest.
Our room faced a rear car park which in itself was fine apart from a Saturday morning delivery truck waking us up early, it was also a catch twentytwo with the heating either being kept awake by the extremely noisy heating or freeze.

I’ve now ticked it of my list as place I’ve dreamt of staying and to be completely honest not likely to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMWAEdi, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Dear 809adamn, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am so pleased to hear that you experienced great service and hospitality from our Front Office team, and enjoyed our advantageous location in the centre of Edinburgh. However, please allow me to offer my apologies for for failing to meet our usual standards on this occasion. I would like to ensure you that the issues you mentioned will be looked into by the relevant departments. I trust you had a pleasant onward journey and hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the future. Best regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natascha T wrote a review Jan 2020
San Francisco, California351 contributions275 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The best thing about this hotel is the beautiful old building and the location. It's stunning and beautifully decorated over the holidays.

The room we had was on the top floor, which meant we had a little higher slanted ceiling and decent space with a very nice bathroom (shower no bath). We booked partially with points and were told at check-in that we won't have the same status as people booking directly at the hotel. OK! As Hilton Honors members, we were told we could still get free WIFI and 2 water bottles a day. The water bottles turned out to be a bit of a challenge at first but after a few days we didn't have to call for them.

Bathroom products are very nice. Hair dryer in room is poor...one of those where it goes hot after a few mintues and you have to wait to let it cool down before you can start another segment of blow drying before you have to wait again....

The bed was very comfortable. You can open the windows and we had a FANTASTIC view on Edinburgh castle when standing up and looking directly out of the two small windows. Lovely when the castle is illuminated.

Surprisingly, it's quite noisy. You can hear a lot of noise from the streets and when the people opposite us openend their door, our door would make a noise. We turned the air conditioning off and it got nice and cool. I wish I could have also had a cold shower setting but you can only have a warm shower. Good water pressure.

We valeted our car and during our week's stay, succeed once or twice in calling reception to get the car out before we walked down. It seems impossible to get anybody on the phone most of the time. I guess, busy over the holidays?

We had a few late night drinks in the bar area, which is lovely and comfortable. Overall, staff was very friendly and the cinamon cookies and mini mince pies at reception where a nice touch. We also appreciate being given an umbrlella to use during our stay. Something that I see happening all the time is that the room service doesn't check on tea supplies. I like herbal tea and there was ONE pack that never got replenished. I know, I could have asked, but I forgot. Having a free coffee maker with pods was nice, as were the cookies.

There is a very nice pool, hot tub, steam room and sauna. And that area actually has a blow dryer that works really well.

Thank you for the Christmas bauble! It's beautiful.

We would likely stay at the Cally again, although, I don't feel that they are fully up to the standard one would expect for a Waldorf Astoria.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Aks for quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMWAEdi, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Responded Jan 3, 2020
Dear princessvontrapp_7, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review and for choosing Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian for your stay. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room and that you found our staff so friendly and professional. I do hope that you had a very Merry Christmas and that we are able to welcome you back in the future. Best Regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ginger_traveller2000 wrote a review Jan 2020
Scotland33 contributions66 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is very grand in the public spaces and the staff are very friendly and helpful but there were a couple of things that I would have expected better for an establishment that trades on a very high quality reputation, and charges accordingly.

The main gripe was that we arrived back to the hotel at 12.30am and the main bar appeared to be closed. I asked a member of staff if there was a residents bar to be told that there wasn't. I asked if you could get a drink anywhere in the hotel to be told that it was only room service. We were a group of three so were staying in different rooms which would make that less sociable than we wanted. I have never been in a hotel that stops serving residents that early. I would have understood if it was 4 in the morning!! However there are lots of other bars in the area that you can go for a quiet drink before turning in for the night.

Secondly, we went to the pool in the late afternoon and I thought that the floor in the ladies changing room was particularly grubby- lots of hair and general grime on the floor. Definitely wear the hotel slippers! The pool is a good size but i could imagine if you have kids that want to mess about while other people are trying to swim lengths this might cause problems since it's not very wide. The jacuzzi sits four comfortably or six at a squeeze, same with the sauna.

On the plus side, the breakfast is great, if a bit pricey. There is a wide selection of items to choose from- cold, hot, bakery, etc. However, one gripe I had was that while poached eggs on toast is included in the buffet price of £25, if you want poached eggs and avocado it's an extra £5. Quite an expensive avocado...
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMWAEdi, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Responded Jan 23, 2020
Dear ginger_traveller2000, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review following your stay with us at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian. I am both saddened and concerned to learn that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion, kindly accept my sincerest apologies. We always greatly value and appreciate our guests' feedback, and I have made the appropriate departments aware of your feedback. I trust you have had a safe onward journey and I hope I can welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
peppi k wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our forth visit to this hotel and it didn't disappoint we were greeted at the door by friendly door staff who took our bags till our room was ready and the front desk Abigail was very friendly and rang us once the room was ready an hour later despite arriving at 11am.

The room was great it was the carriage room and had an amazing view of the castle we also received a phone call to check our room was okay on arrival. The concierge staff were also very helpful getting us taxis during our stay quickly so we could travel around and always greeted us on return.

In terms of food breakfast was good despite being adapted for covid I would recommend adding muffins to the pastry part but it was a good mix of buffet ,continental and a fixed menu. We also did room service which was very nice and reasonably priced.

I would also recommend afternoon tea we did the tropical afternoon tea it was very structured and the staff were friendly and explained each of the sandwiches and cakes and it was very nice

We will definitely be coming back if we return to Edinburgh the hotel's it's in a great location too for getting around Edinburgh definitely worth a look.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dale M, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Responded Sep 6, 2021
Dear 227peppik, A pleasure to have you back with us and great to hear that it was as good as you remembered! We pride ourselves on connecting with guests to provide personalised attention to our guests. I will share this valuable feedback with the team and let's see what we can do about the muffns! Hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Dale
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John S wrote a review Jan 2022
Soller, Spain19 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We travel extensively and we like our luxury 5 star treats. We know the difference between Good, Mediocrity and just plain Bad.
The Waldorf will always be known as The Caledonian or more affectionately the Cally by all in Edinburgh, She is the Grand Old Lady of Edinburgh. The Cally is understated elegance, non shouty, old traditional values wrapped up in a 119 year-old solid sandstone, stunning building situated in the centre of all that happens at the west end of Princes St . If you want hermetically sealed windows, cookie cutter finishing's, perfunctory service or the latest fleeting fad of décor, go somewhere else. At the Cally, you have good old fashioned Scottish hospitality, admittedly with the occasional eastern European accent! But at least this hotel had staff to wait on you hand and foot opposed to others who appeared to constantly be playing hide and seek!
The castle view suites and rooms are beautiful, yes you get some street noise, yes it can be a long walk along the seemingly endless corridors, or take the beautiful grand staircase and forget about the need to visit the gym. But all of this history combined with attentive staff who clearly have pride in what they do is unmistakably the charm of the Cally, Go you wont regret it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Choose Castle view rooms, second highest floor to avoid road noise. Some top floor rooms have...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dale M, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Responded Jan 4, 2022
Dear John S, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and trust you had a memorable experience here in beautiful Edinburgh. I also want to thank you for those lovely words about the hotel that has indeed a very special charm and elegance, typical of Edinburgh ! We trust you had a safe onward journey and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard K wrote a review Sep 2020
243 contributions106 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It is my opinion that throughout the covid crisis, the Hilton brand has really outshone some of its competitors, with its flexible booking policies and superb safety guidelines. The Waldorf Astoria in Edinburgh just further supported this.
I got a text message from Alexander the night before asking if there was anything he can do before my stay and what my estimated arrival time was. We were able to check in a few hours earlier than the actual time, and same applied for when we checked out, we were able to check out a few hours later than advertised.
When we checked In (we parked at the hotel for free due to covid), the receptionist set up the digital key on my app which is so easy to use. we were upgraded to a king room with wonderful views of the castle. I’ve added a few pictures of the extremely spacious room and beautiful bathroom with a rather large bathtub in it.
We used the swimming pool during our stay which was easy to book in, as we called a few days before to secure a slot.
The breakfast next morning was served made to order but we were just thankful it wasn’t a takeaway breakfast as some hotels now do. All staff were very attentive and it was very filling.
To summarise, I loved the whole interior and exterior of this hotel. The service was fantastic without being intrusive. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again and all staff are extremely customer focussed, and we felt we really did get value for money from our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dean McVey, Guest Services / Front Office at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Responded Sep 30, 2020
Dear Richard K, I wanted to take this opportunity to pass on my sincere thanks for your glowing review of the Hotel. It gives both me and all the staff here at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian an immense sense of pride reading it. Knowing that all of our hard work is appreciated and that the extra steps we as a hotel take made you feel all the more welcome and as you said set us apart from our competitors. We are truly lucky to have such wonderful, passionate staff who enjoy ensuring our each and every one of our guests is looked after thoroughly and each have their own memorable experience when staying with us. I do hope that we have the pleasure of hosting you again, very soon. Best regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Tania
Dubai, United Arab Emirates54 contributions33 helpful votes
The original room we were allocated had no bath! Many rooms are just walk in shower. Personally I love a bath and when we asked to change room I did not need a ladder to climb in it was just a normal bath,!
Catherine C asked a question Nov 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Is there a Hairdressers in the hotel?
Answer from loriberryman962
2 contributions1 helpful vote
It doesn't have a salon, but it's not uncommon to be able to ring someone to come to hotel and not outrageous in price. There are also loads nearby, but honestly don't go too elaborate. You will be rained on go through a wind tunnel.
stephen l asked a question Aug 2022
Essex, Massachusetts2 contributions
do room have both shower and bathtub
Answer from Tania
Dubai, United Arab Emirates54 contributions33 helpful votes
No it depends on room type. I was very disappointed as our initial room did not have a bath
Answer from Abigail W
Bacup, United Kingdom22 contributions4 helpful votes
Yes they do.
Answer from GraemeSD
Polmont, United Kingdom17 contributions3 helpful votes
Sorry I don't know. As already answered, Boots nearby may do that.
Rodrigo B wrote a tip May 9
2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you ask for a drink or organize a dinner party in that hotel, try to see how and whit what the bar team prepare your drinks."
Read full review
S6180HIandrewb wrote a tip Apr 2024
50 contributions66 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beware Parking is £35.00 per night which even for Edinburgh is high"
Read full review
Passport591630 wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just ask the team will help..... Twin rooms avilable for children - Queen rooms with 2 x double beds excellent for teenagers sharing"
Read full review
Carlos H wrote a tip Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"At check-in, request availability for a higher floor to get the most optimal views. We were on fourth and the castle was towering in beauty."
Read full review
Lyndsay wrote a tip Mar 2024
Ennis, Ireland7 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Traffic is bad at times but a beautiful city. Lots to see but will be my second and last time here. Go to Yorkshire instead!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
C$529 - C$1,030 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton international edinburgh, hilton edinburgh, edinburgh hilton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Caledonian Hilton Edinburgh Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghWest End
NUMBER OF ROOMS
231
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Which popular attractions are close to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian?
Nearby attractions include Edinburgh Castle (0.5 km), Escape Edinburgh Morrison Street (0.5 km), and Game Of Throwing Edinburgh (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Caley Bar, Dine, and Peacock Alley at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian have airport transportation?
Yes, Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Edinburgh HotelsEdinburgh Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in EdinburghHotels near Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars