We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Howard

Show Prices
#11 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Howard
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

754 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 715: English reviews
Start your review of The Howard
 Click to rate
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at The Howard cannot do enough to make you feel welcome. We stayed for 2 nights in November, 2016, and would love to return. It was cold and rainy most of our time there, and the fire in the breakfast room was most welcome! Breakfast was delicious, and we enjoyed trying Scottish items from the menu. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank forsalebysandy
EdinburghCollection, Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous impressions following your recent stay at The Howard. We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed a wonderful experience. We were particularly pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and service. As you areaware we do offer some fantastic fish dishes for our breakfast which is all locally sourced as...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned after a quick trip with a girlfriend. Lovely position and easy walking distance to Princess street. I had a large room which was great but the decor is a little tired.. the hotels best asset is the but,ear Marcin who is fantastic and sooo helpful - I hope the owners realise how lucky they are to have him...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucybee03796
EdinburghCollection, Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay at The Howard. We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed a wonderful experience. We were particularly pleased to hear that you enjoyed our butler service, Marcin is one of our most experienced butlers and he is often praised for his professionalism and service skills. I personally...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here recently, a return visit and it won't be our last. Excellent service, great room and tasty breakfast. Great location too. Thanks again for a relaxing visit. Lovely to have friendly butlers to nake uour stay comfortable. Look forward to visiting again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susiejoyp
EdinburghCollection, Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous impressions following your recent stay at The Howard. We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed a wonderful experience. We were particularly pleased to hear that you made good use of our dedicated butler servce and have listed a few of thier services in your review. I will pass on your...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just like stepping back in time to a time when you weren't just a number, and customer service was important. We loved the Howard and its attention to detail and customer service. The butlers were amazingly helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Example: Alarm call at 7.15am Coffee and paper delivered at 7.30am Breakfast delivered to the room at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MuffinManMatty
EdinburghCollection, Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous impressions following your recent stay at The Howard. We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed a wonderful experience. We were particularly pleased to hear that you made good use of our dedicated butler servce and have listed a few of thier services in your review. I will pass on your...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having stopped at some very decent places in my lifetime we decided to give the Howard a go. It's absolutely amazing. The rooms are not ultra chic and modern so if that's what you are looking for it won't be here. What makes this place stand out is the service, the people and the overall feel of the place. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Copey_11
EdinburghCollection, Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous impressions following your recent stay at The Howard. We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed a wonderful experience. We were particularly pleased to hear that you made good use of our dedicated butler servce and have listed a few of thier services in your review. I will pass on your...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Returned to the hotel for the first time since 2016 and wasn't disappointed. An amazing room, warm, comfortable and spacious. The decor was charming and had everything necessary for a stay. The thing that makes this Hotel stand out is the service. From parking the car, small handwritten notes each day with useful information, the staff went beyond what is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GregoryB1975
EdinburghCollection, Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous impressions following your recent stay at The Howard. We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed a wonderful experience. We were particularly pleased to hear that you made good use of our dedicated butler servce and have listed a few of thier services in your review. I will pass on your...

Wolverhampton
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights in their Mews Cottage. Staff are really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. It was nice to have the cottage as a family of 4 and gave us a lounge to relax in. Only stayed in for breakfast which was excellent. Very good butler service with free teas, coffees and hot chocolate at any time....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimA1818
EdinburghCollection, Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous impressions following your recent stay at The Howard. We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed a wonderful experience. We were particularly pleased to hear that you made good use of our dedicated butler servce and have listed a few of thier services in your review. I will pass on your...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were disappointed by the lack of atmosphere and the lack of "polish" in the Hotel. The office staff was anchored to the computer and we were left alone until the Butler arrived from other duties. The staff were courteous and helpful and made our stay enjoyable but the warmth and atmosphere that we had enjoyed during a previous visit...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pufferman2017
EdinburghCollection, Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations as we aim to exceed them. As I am sure you are aware we have recently refurbished many areas of the hotel, we did this in a tasteful manner and in most cases all the areas were refurbished using the original features and fittings of the hotel and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My fiancé and I stayed at The Howard for 2 nights in February. Lovely hotel with a real old fashioned luxury feel. Hotel reception were very friendly and helpful, assisting us with our bags up to our spacious and luxurious room on the top floor. There was a great choice for breakfast in a relaxing room. Particularly good choice if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank regman84
EdinburghCollection, Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous impressions following your recent stay at The Howard. We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed a wonderful experience. We were particularly pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and service. As you areaware we do offer some fantastic fish dishes for our breakfast which is all locally sourced as...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very welcoming, tasteful hotel. Lovely room, with a comfortable bed. Attentive service by a friendly staff who were also able to offer some tips about some of Edinburgh's features. The breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
EdinburghCollection, Manager at The Howard, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous impressions following your recent stay at The Howard. We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed a wonderful experience. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Howard. Andrew Smith head Butler/Deputy General Manager

530 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
1:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (308)
Viewed
Abercromby Junior Suite (80)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (111)
Viewed
Trinity Terrace Suite (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,756 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,579 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
258 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,093 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in New Town

Neighbourhood Profile
New Town
Suits and shopping bags rule the streets of New Town, until after dark when strappy dresses come out to play. This is the city’s central business district with its smaller offices, clothes boutiques, and many of the city’s flashiest restaurants and ritziest clubs. The architecture along roads like George Street helps give it a swank and formal feel: it’s a planned Georgian development of regal townhouses, geometric squares, and self-important statues. But it’s also a very wanderable neighbourhood, with a healthy bustle at almost any time of day and fine people-watching in places like St Andrew's Square which fills with picnickers around lunch. You’ll also find a series of cheerful basement bistros on Hanover Street, while dark Rose Street has something of the feel of an undiscovered back alley and is chock-full of characterful pubs and small independent shops.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Atholl at The Howard
The Atholl at The Howard
Cuisines: British, European, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Howard is a small and discreet hotel which occupies three Georgian houses. A classically elegant hotel both outside and in, it has just 18 luxury rooms and suites. Located by Waverley train station, situated just off Princes Street. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Howard

Address: 34 Great King Street, Edinburgh EH3 6QH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range: $195 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howard 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Howard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Hotel Edinburgh
Howard Edinburgh
The Howard Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Howard staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
6 months ago
over a year ago
Northumberland, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Howard staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The mews (cottage) in the back has 2 bedrooms and a full kitchen. Great choice for a family!”
 of 5 bubbles forsalebysandy, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“My room overlooked the front”
 of 5 bubbles lucybee03796, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Hanover was a spacious room on the ground floor. Lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles MuffinManMatty, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It is on a quiet street - in 3 old Georgian townhouses. Each room is unique.”
 of 5 bubbles Cate190, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Hanover, on the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles LaurieL50LJJ, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5