We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Howard

Save
Traveller (223)
Room & Suite (280)
Dining (69)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good15%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“butler service”(120 reviews)
“drawing room”(53 reviews)
“head butler”(12 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (823)
There are newer reviews for The Howard
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
775 results
Traveller rating
575
118
41
27
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
575
118
41
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler servicedrawing roomhead butlertrinity suiteterrace suitepersonal butlersmall hotelhuge bathroomtea and coffeestar serviceboutique hotellovely hotelupgraded to a suitebeautiful roombreakfast was deliciousstayed for nightsfull scottish breakfast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
291 - 295 of 775 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2015

My husband surprised me for my 30th birthday by taking me to Edinburgh for two nights. He booked The Howard as he thought it was full of character and after reading a lot of reviews felt it would be special. The Howard did not disappoint....More

Thank Caroline S
Response from EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The HowardResponded May 12, 2015

A super review for The Howard and I am grateful for the kind words on our unique Butler Service. Leon Kiteley General Manager

Reviewed May 5, 2015 via mobile

My husband and u are just back from a fab two night break at The Howard. We can't fault it at all. What a beautiful hotel. We were upgraded (thank you so very much) our room was gorgeous! The huge bathroom was a real treat!...More

Thank Barbara089
Response from EdinburghCollection, Manager at The HowardResponded July 18, 2015

Dear Guest Thank you for your great review. I was especially pleased to hear that you agrees that our breakfast service is second-to-none. We hope that our guests appreciate that we do not do buffet service but instead choose to offer our guests a full...More

Reviewed May 1, 2015

Visited this hotel in my home city of Edinburgh at Easter 2015. Stayed here just after it first opened and we both absolutely loved the overall quality and presentation which was in it's day second to none in Edinburgh. Move on a few years and...More

1  Thank GaryPippa
Response from EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The HowardResponded May 12, 2015

A disappointing review for The Howard although I am grateful to this guest for their honest appraisal of the hotel. Although there are no excuses for poor housekeeping standards and the room in question is being investigated as I type, the comments within the review...More

Reviewed April 30, 2015 via mobile

We highly recommend this hotel as nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they made our break a special one.. The freestanding cast iron bath was spot on.. Only had 2 nights there and wish we had a week.. Complimentary tea and coffee...More

Thank dazking
Response from EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The HowardResponded May 4, 2015

A disappointing review for The Howard although I am grateful to this guest for their honest appraisal of the hotel. Although there are no excuses for poor housekeeping standards and the room in question is being investigated as i type, the comments within the review...More

Reviewed April 28, 2015

We arrived for our trip to the scottish Highlands and Edinburgh, we were thrilled with the level of service, the warm welcome such as is expressed to returning regulars, nithing is too much trouble for the well trained staff. This is the best hotel small...More

Thank Jill_Powys
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Edinburgh
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$195 - US$325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$195 - US$325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#14 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (223)
Room & Suite (280)
Dining (69)
Nearby
New Town
Suits and shopping bags rule the streets of New Town,
until after dark when strappy dresses come out to
play. This is the city’s central business district
with its smaller offices, clothes boutiques, and many
of the city’s flashiest restaurants and ritziest
clubs. The architecture along roads like George Street
helps give it a swank and formal feel: it’s a planned
Georgian development of regal townhouses, geometric
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
417sandeeps
May 2, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from EdinburghCollection | Property representative |
According to google maps we are 15 minutes walk from Waverly Bridge. There is a good public transport link from the train station to the hotel. The local bus services 23 and 27 will get you here in under 10 minutes.
0
Votes
417sandeeps
May 2, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 681MB | Reviewed this property |
I am a fast walker and it took me about 15 minutes. It is up a slight hill as well. It would be a very short taxi ride. My wife and I walked it back from pubs around the castle which is further every night and enjoyed the... More
1
Vote
traveller12557
January 22, 2017|
Answer
Response from droppinout | Reviewed this property |
Yes, we had laundry done while we stayed there. There was an extra charge, I think but it was reasonable.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Don't get Street front lower level."
Read review
"We have a junior suite that is huge. Perfect sitting area for relaxing or working. Bathroom is beautifully..."
Read review
"Ask for a room with a view facing the back as it is likely to be quieter."
Read review
"Another room,somewhere else!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing