We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bonham

Show Prices
#61 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bonham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,212: English reviews
Start your review of The Bonham
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointed with the hotel, staff untidy, scruffy & bad attitude Hotel badly fitted stair carpet could be dangerous. Breakfast cold 3 out off 4 days, wrong twice Overcharged buy £140 Very Bar staff having to go to reception to take payment ect . I left to go to the toilet, when I came back the female bar staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank simon john w
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear simon john w, Thank you for your review of The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh. I am disheartened to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us. We do always try and deal with any guest issues during your time with us, so I am disappointed to hear that this was not able to be achieved on this...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great 2 day break and would recommend this for a romantic break. We had dinner in the hotel also and really enjoyed it . There was a really warm welcome from the staff. Our room was lovely and warm and comfortable with plenty of hot water etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r_findlay218
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear r_findlay218, Thank you for your wonderful review of The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh. We are delighted to read that you had a romantic break away from it all with us and we do hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Douglas Campbell General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Comfortable and stylish hotel. Lovely room at back of hotel with magnificent views. Great breakfast with friendly service. Convenient location. Had afternoon tea on the day of arrival which was a bit disappointing (service was comedic) but that's my only criticism.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsPacho
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear MrsPacho, Thank you for your 5 star review of The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, but concerned as to the comment regarding our Afternoon Tea service. If you would like to elaborate on this comment further, then please contact our restaurant manager and we will investigate this issue...

Tyne and Wear
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although this was a business trip. We were afforded time to take in the local delights of Edinburgh. The Bonham makes a great central point , within walking distance of the a Royal mile. Check-in was quick, efficient & welcoming , stairs or lift to the 3rd floor. Standard rooms are spacious & well maintained , clean & quiet. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whelan1966
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear whelan1966, Thank you for your wonderful review of The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh. We are absolutely delighted that you had such an enjoyable time with us and I have placed a copy of your review on our notice board for all the staff to read. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Douglas Campbell General Manager

Northern Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here in January with a group of friends, celebrating a birthday. The staff are welcoming and eager to serve. The rooms are nicely decorated and the beds are comfortable. There is everything you need in the room from a mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities to a hairdryer. The rooms are a good size as are the bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosybunny06
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear Rosybunny06, Thank you for your review of The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our location and rooms and the fantastic 'Boozy Snoozy' lunch offer of 3 courses and a half bottle of wine for £23.50 per person. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Douglas Campbell General Manager

Bishopton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Returned after visiting 2 years ago and delighted to say it remains as excellent as it was then. As I said previously, quality of staff, food, rooms cannot be faulted. That, coupled with the perfect location, why would you want to go anywhere else in Edinburgh. On this very short visit, we were on the 4th floor which gave us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katienairn
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear katienairn, Thank you for your review of The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh. I am delighted to read that you had another enjoyable stay with us, I will make sure that your comments will be passed onto all our teams. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kindest Regards Douglas Campbell General Manager

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this hotel last minute and didn't know what to expect but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We arrived at 11.00 expecting the room not to be ready until 3.00 but The room was ready for occupancy. The staff at reception were very friendly and efficient and we were processed In a matter of minutes. We were told we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer O
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer O, Thank you for your very kind review of The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you enjoyed the upgraded room. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Douglas Campbell General Manager

Glasgow,Scotland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel, large comfortable room on 2nd floor with great view. Friendly, helpful staff. Cosy bar and comfortable lounge; lovely wood panelling, high ceilings nice artwork on walls. Excellent breakfast. Would recommend and will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna2
Douglas C, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear Donna2, Thank you for your 5 star review of The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon! Kindest Regards Douglas Campbell General Manager

Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were given a gift voucher for afternoon tea from a family member. It should have been used by 31 Dec 16, however, after a phone call to the hotel, it was agreed we could extend for a month. 10/10 for customer service, other hotels haven't honoured it beyond the expiry date. The tea was slightly disappointing as the bread...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ef-jf
Douglas c, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear ef-jf, We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable Afternoon Tea with us. I have passed on your comments regarding the bread and tea to our Food & Beverage departments who will look into this further. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards Douglas Campbell General Manager

Leeds
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at The Bonham 6 years ago so wondered if things would still be as good. I'm pleased to say that the same high standards are evident. We had a lovely room on the 3rd floor with fantastic views across the city to Leith. Breakfast was exceptional- the buffet had so much variety, including fresh fruit salad, meats, cheese,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine018
Douglas c, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review

Dear Christine018, Thank you for your 5 star review of The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and I will ensure that your comments are passed on throughout the team. Maybe next time you can stay for two nights! Hope to see you soon. Kindest Regards Douglas Campbell General Manager

615 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (293)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (101)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Other (87)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (291)
Viewed
Junior Suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (124)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,175 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,237 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#64 of 150 in Edinburgh
961 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Restaurant at The Bonham
Restaurant at The Bonham
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bonham

Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $126 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bonham staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Bonham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back are quieter, and on the third floor, although perhaps smaller than some at the front, overlook the Firth of Forth”
 of 5 bubbles Otisgrandad, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Back facing rooms on higher floors have great views over the city.”
 of 5 bubbles Jackiee19, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the north east offer views over the Water of Leith and the Dean Bridge”
 of 5 bubbles daviddF6834NL, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one with a view towards the water”
 of 5 bubbles rodl312, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Window seat!!”
 of 5 bubbles jackiebrownx, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5