We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,773 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,709: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

After staying at three other Malmaison Hotels in different parts of the country I was expecting the same attention to detail and the same standards in room quality quality of food and quality of service. Unfortunately i was very disappointed the room was small and dark and not particularly clean add to this the outlook was straight out to a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 284james
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear 284james Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sad to read that you had a less than perfect stay with us and for that, please accept my sincere apologies. I am unable to locate your booking or any record of your experience and I ask that you contact me directly so I can fully...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Stayed in Leith for the first time as Edinburgh was very full due to the Fringe Festival and the fact it was a last minute booking for us. Room was beautiful, we didn't get the requested upgrade to the Leith Suite which was a shame. Rooms need more light! The mood lighting is lovely but you need to see to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vegas-Queen666
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Vegas-Queen666 Thank you taking the time to write this lovely review of Malmaison Edinburgh. I am pleased to read that you thought the hotel was beautiful and in such a great location. It is a shame that your request for The Port of Leith suite could not be fulfilled as the room had been booked by another guest. I'll...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

What should have been a special surprise celebration for me planed by my partner was ruined staff where unwelcoming and made us feel quite uncomfortable a lot of money was spent on our holiday and quite frankly I've had better treatment at a travel lodge not to mention the hygiene off our room we've always been impressed with this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank rebeccamiguel
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear rebeccamiguel Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Malmaison Edinburgh. I am sad to read that you did not have a perfect stay with us. your experience sounds far from the usual feedback we receive and I would like to investigate this matter further, but cannot see any booking matching your name. I ask that...

London
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Our latest Malmaison (just three more to go until we've visited the lot!) and we were there for one night at the start of the Fringe, before moving into a cheaper Air BnB flat located more centrally. And the Mal here certainly takes advantage of the festival month, when prices leap hugely despite being located some 45 minutes' walk from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JB1601
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear JB1601 Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Malmaison Edinburgh. It's great to read that you are big fans of Malmaison hotels and have nearly visited all our hotels - that's some feat. If and when you do complete all the hotels, please make us aware. I am certain that will deserve a huge thank...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel and it was terrible for the money. I booked a double room and was greeted with a view of containers at the back of the hotel after stating it was my anniversary with my Partner, the room had a hole in the carpet, it had a live wire opening at the heating panel and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sean N
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Sean N Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Malmaison Hotel. Thank you also for highlighting some issues in your room. These will be addressed as a matter of urgency to get this room back to our usual very high standards. Please accept my personal apologies that we have failed to meet your expectations on...

Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel. Room was lovely and big. Bed was HUGE and so comfy, was hard to leave it. Bathroom was very clean. Had everything to make the stay very comfy. Staff was pleasant on checking in. Lovely views and surrounding areas. Easy to get to Princes street/Castle area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaye B
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Jaye B Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Malmaison Edinburgh. I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your visit, in particular the comfy bed, great staff and our great location on The shore in Leith. Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon....

Midlands
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Stayed overnight following the tattoo. Staff excellent welcome. Rooms tired, expensive drinks in room. Hard bed and carpet in room very worn. Breakfast ok but table very sticky, plastic toast that comes out ages before breakfast so cold when breakfast arrives.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorraine765
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine765 Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Malmaison Edinburgh. I am pleased to read that you experienced such a lovely welcome by my reception team. Thank you also for highlighting the issues you experienced with your room and with breakfast. I truly welcome all feedback and pleased be assured it will be used constructively....

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

This would be a different review had I not got a good Sunday deal. Comfortable bed yes , but .... No air-conditioning and in high summer this was an issue. Drinks and snacks in room were expensive. Breakfast too expensive, went to a nearby cafe (of which there are plenty). If I'd paid a higher rate it would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UncleBulgaria15
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear UncleBulgaria15 Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Malmaison Edinburgh. I am pleased you found your stay with us to be great value. We do on occasion run these fantastic value offers if you book far enough in advance. I am sad to read however that you found our room snack and breakfast pricing too...

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

A bit far from city centre yet it was a nice hotel to stay, easy access to the centre by foot or bus and surrounded by a few good restaurants by the riverside. Ok of you want a quiet stay in Edinburgh. Rooms are good, clean and comfortable. Has a nice bar.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris_Soler
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Chris_Soler Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of Malmaison Edinburgh. I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay in particular our rooms, our great bar, and our fab location on The Shore in Leith. Our location really is our strength. Close enough to the city centre to quickly travel by bus,...

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

This hotel is located off the beaten track in Leith. It's an easy bus or cab ride into the centre of the city and the area has the advantage of some very good bars and restaurants. The hotel is fine. The rooms were big but as stated in other reviews some of the pieces of furniture were quite worn out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnny1066
Stewart C, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Johnny1066 Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review of Malmaison Edinburgh. I am pleased to read that you found my team friendly and also that you felt your stay was value for money. Thank you also for your comments about the furniture in your room. My maintenance team will get this room back to our...

883 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (585)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (126)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
0:55
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (286)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (295)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Dining (91)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (55)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,253 reviews
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#66 of 150 in Edinburgh
974 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It's the mother of all Malmaison's. The former house of ill-repute now has a reputation that's second to none, and it's also just a short taxi ride away from Waverley Station. Malmaison Edinburgh bides at Leith (as they say up here), just a stone's throw from the Royal Yacht Britannia, but offering far more funky luxury. Yes, when you want exciting hotels in Edinburgh, this is the King, not the castle. Our Edinburgh hotel puts you close to all of Edinburgh's cobbled splendours, incredible shopping and famous galleries. Then it's back to Mal for Scots dining with a twist, a fine selection of single malts and mojitos in the bar and then back to the slinkiest and most spectacular rooms in the Scots capital. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 Tower Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $139 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh Scotland
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#53 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Leeds, United Kingdom
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views are rooms at the front of building overlooking quayside.”
 of 5 bubbles noteasilypleased_9, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best to upgrade to waterfront views.”
 of 5 bubbles Bonzorino, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Overlooking the water are lovely large rooms with good views”
 of 5 bubbles Excaliburcars, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The more you pay the better the view.”
 of 5 bubbles staycheeky, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 118 had lovely views and you could access this from the stairs. It was also really quiet as it was at the end of the corridor.”
 of 5 bubbles AMY.BURNS, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5