We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ballantrae Albany Hotel

825 reviews
Save
Traveller (268)
Room & Suite (201)
Dining (21)
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good33%
  • Average21%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Free Parking
Pool
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Special Offer: Complimentary bottle of wine
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (825)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Ballantrae Albany Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
737 results
Traveller rating
184
221
156
85
91
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
184
221
156
85
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitecontinental breakfastquiet streethuge bathroomhigh ceilingsyork placedouble roomstaff at receptionprinces streetstayed for one nightbars and restaurantsenjoyable staylovely roomcentral locationwithin easy walking distancetea and coffeevisiting edinburgh
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
261 - 265 of 737 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

Very central hotel, lovely room 409 very spacious and tastefully decorated but still had some original features in the room. Very friendly and helpful staff. We parked in the ncp car park a 2 min walk from the hotel which was reasonable or you could...More

Thank debbie h
Response from Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany HotelResponded 4 August 2015

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are glad that you had a great weekend away, and we hope to welcome you back to the Albany again in the near future. Kind regards, The Albany Hotel Team

Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

I have to say enjoyed another delightful service from the front of house team at Ballantrae Albany, the Twin room was perfect and modern this weekend August 1st. The negative was that bathroom wash basin too close to the door, and that door needs a...More

Thank SHIHAB U A B
Response from Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany HotelResponded 4 August 2015

Many thanks for your Five Star review. We are glad that you enjoyed yet another "perfect" stay at the Albany. Next time you return, make sure to book directly through our website, where you will find our best possible rates and exclusive offers, and direct...More

Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

I stopped here 28th July for 1 night for mine and my boyfriends 1 year together and was not disappointed Edinburgh is an amazing city with so much to do and the hotel made our trip extra special walked into reception with a lovely welcome...More

Thank Demimc
Response from Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany HotelResponded 4 August 2015

We are glad to hear that you had an excellent First Year Anniversary with us at the Albany, and thank for your taking the time to write your review. We are glad that the hotel made you feel welcome, and we hope that you return...More

Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

My mum & I stayed for one night for her birthday treat whilst visiting the castle. The receptionist was lovely, knowledgeable and helpful (& pretty). The room was spacious, clean, warm & well equipped. The bathroom was spotless with freebies. The hotel is on a...More

Thank lcmcn
Response from Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany HotelResponded 30 July 2015

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Albany, would recommend the hotel and would stay again. Next time you book, make sure to use our website for best possible rates and exclusive deals. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Just had a one night stop at the Albany on Business. I can highly recommend this hotel. The staff are some of the most polite I have met, especially at reception. I had a complimentary room upgrade to a family room. I had a choice...More

Thank Steve D
Response from Management360, Manager at Ballantrae Albany HotelResponded 21 July 2015

Many thanks for your Five Star Review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with is, and that you received an upgrade on arrival. We do not offer a cooked breakfast at the Albany, but we often get compliments on the range of breakfast...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
15152535455148
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Details
Price range
US$78 - US$385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#62 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$78 - US$385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#62 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (268)
Room & Suite (201)
Dining (21)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to
malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton
have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a
mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village
found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything
but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street;
even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and
art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
CN1951
13 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from hil68 | Reviewed this property |
Just breakfast, but lots of restaurants a short walk away.
1
Vote
Anne F
14 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Management360 | Property representative |
Hi There. We are a 10-12 minute walk from Waverley (or about £5 in a taxi)
1
Vote
JohnrossCarg
3 October 2016|
Answer
Response from jade m |
lots of parking out on the street. couple of pounds for a few hours.however it's free after late afternoon until the morning.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"good stamina needed for the top floor rooms as no lifts and a huge spiral staircase!"
Read review
"No lift so best to have a ground floor room."
Read review
"Seriously , I wouldn't recommend it to anyone"
Read review
"I alway go for a high room, quieter, but not so good should the place go on fire!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing