We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Waverley Hotel

Hotels.comUS$119*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Waverley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,952 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,788: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Waverley Hotel
 Click to rate
Guelph, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel last week. We were on the third floor with the Princes Street View. We were both a little curious about what the room would be like as the cost was out of our usual price range and we were immediately impressed with the incredible view our room offered of both the Castle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

(1)No lift from street level to reception desk (2)No late checkout, the reason? cleaners time table(!!) even when I offered to pay (3)bedding sheets wasn't changed, room was not vacuumed amd mould fill the bath wall.. (4) the hotel's entrance door is made of glass, un-fixed to the wall well, so when u go through it slapped strongly and give...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Gourock, Scotland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've stayed at this hotel on 3 or 4 previous occasions and have not been disappointed until now. I had booked a Princes Street view room and on arrival was told we were being upgraded to a Castle view room. We had previously stayed in one of these rooms and decided that the ones on the lower floors were a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
Neath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A good value hotel in a great location for both the Old Town & New. It's not a modern 'boutique' hotel, but it does have very clean, comfy & quiet rooms & does a really good breakfast. It's just across Waverley bridge that leads to the Royal Mile & Castle etc & just behind it is 'The Dome' for all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience. We also offer our own delicious afternoon tea which you can enjoy with a view over Princes Street Gardens! We would love to welcome you back the next time you visit Edinburgh. Kind...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel has seen better days some parts are a little jaded with tired looking features. However it is quaint with some small quirky rooms and an optional view of the castle, which we had although didn't pay the supplement for. The staff were delightful, efficient, friendly and very helpful. The inclusive breakfast had a wide range of items to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerry h
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. We are sorry to hear that you found our hotel to feel tired and jaded. We constantly work on the upkeep of our hotel with frequent...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went here for a friends birthday lunch, the service was very good, the good was delicious, three of us had the chicken and one the ravioli, all so tasty and beautifully presented Our waiter was very friendly and helpful, for desert three of us had white chocolate fudge cake with chocolate ice cream, very nice, for me vanilla ice cream...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariermilne
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just had a week's stay at The Old Waverley Hotel. It is in a perfect location, in the city centre. We had a good room and the staff were lovely....But.....It is a very noisy location and we didn't get one decent night's sleep. Lots of traffic, you are located near four sets of traffic lights, very noisy manhole...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rod A
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay at Old Waverley Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had a good experience with us. We apologise for the noise you experienced during your stay. However, there is little we can do to remedy this issue. We are located on the most famous street...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here several times and always find the rooms pleasant and the staff very helpful. Nice comfortable beds and lovely views. Very convenient for a weekend shopping trip as you are close enough to most shopping areas to pop back and drop off purchases. We have recommended it to family who have had similar good experiences of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roseh161
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have even recommended our hotel to your family! We would love to welcome you back to the Old Waverley Hotel the next time you visit Edinburgh. (Remember to book directly on our website for the cheapest deals)...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is on Princes Street and ideally located for Waverley train station, shopping, restaurants and theatres. The hotel was very reasonably priced. Check in and out was fast, efficient and friendly. The bar has excellent views. Room was fine, little bit dated with no view, however bathroom was modern and fresh. Coffee, tea and biscuits were also supplied.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMG747
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay at Old Waverley Hotel. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you found the room to be dated, we hope this didn't detract from your experience. We hope to welcome you back the next...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The old waverley .staff very nice and friendly breakfast excellent ,our room was very small and no wardrobe it would not fit in anyway,window was a laugh tiny about18"by22" and curtains were filthy window would not open .I just love the view of a yard and fire escape not that you could get out the window anyway in emergency.The dungeon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank duck13
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review a regarding your recent stay at Old Waverley Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not find our hotel up to your standards on this occasion. We hope this experience will not discourage you from staying with us in future. Kind Regards, Leon Kiteley. General Manager.

692 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (345)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
View from Room (55)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
1:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (139)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (331)
Viewed
Castle View Room (79)
Viewed
Princes Street View Room (62)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,538 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
282 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,701 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Princes Street and Gardens

Neighbourhood Profile
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street is only half one, since buildings only line one side. But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views are from Princes Street as a result. From here you look onto expansive and decorative public gardens beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look the other way, as they’re concerned with chain store shopping or catching the tram or a train at main train station Waverley. But it’s not all utility here; the Scottish National Gallery rewards purposeless wandering, and December’s huge winter market in the gardens begins a season of revelry which ends with Hogmanay, Britain’s largest New Year’s street party.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Cranston's Restaurant
Cranston's Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modernized hotel in building dating from 1848; overlooking Princes Gardens and the Scott Monument; with views of Edinburgh Castle. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Waverley Hotel

Address: 43 Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Price Range: $156 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Waverley Hotel
Old Waverley Edinburgh
Edinburgh Hotel Waverley
Edinburgh Hotel Old Waverly
Waverley Hotel Edinburgh
The Old Waverley Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Waverley Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Waverley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a higher floor room as Princes Street is very busy and can bee noisy at the weekends.”
MikeMcDonough, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Princes street rooms are more expensive but some of the rooms on the Jenners side have great views of the castle”
roseh161, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Twin room on the side street gives a lovely view of the castle”
  • The Castle lit up at night from our room
Bluesue189, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not in the basement”
grange5, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Road noise on lower floors facing Princes St.”
lstacey2, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$119* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$149
Expedia.comUS$121
Booking.comUS$124
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates