The Bruntsfield

The Bruntsfield

Traveller (292)
Executive bedroom
Room & Suite (291)
Bisque Bar &  Brasserie at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield
Dining (134)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

C$247
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#46 of 161 hotels in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Bruntsfield Hotel is a townhouse hotel just a short walk from Edinburgh city centre, which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It’s perfectly located for both leisure breaks and business in the city and enjoys open views across Bruntsfield Links park and the Meadows park. Each spacious bedroom at the Bruntsfield is well equipped with a flat-screen TV with international satellite channels, a work desk, a seating area and a private bathroom. The hotel has limited parking, an electric vehicle charging point and super fast free Wi-Fi in all public areas and guest bedrooms. Edinburgh Castle, overlooking the city centre, can be reached with a 15-minute stroll. Just 5 minutes further away guests will be in Edinburgh’s main shopping area, Princes Street.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Patio
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Greek and 1 more

Location

69-74 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HH Scotland
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 85 out of 100
85
Turnhouse Airport
Dundee Airport
58.6 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,074 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Bruntsfield Hotel offers a unique charm that has delighted numerous guests, though opinions on its decor vary, with some finding it less than pleasing. The hotel's varied dining options and well-maintained amenities, including gardens, are often praised, as is the prime location near dining, shopping, and parks. While rooms generally receive commendation for their cleanliness, critiques about outdated fixtures and noise are not uncommon. Service quality is predominantly admired for staff friendliness, yet some guests recount less favorable interactions. Despite high marks for cleanliness, the hotel's value is occasionally questioned due to additional costs.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Eclectic
Rooms
Uncomfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
2,074Reviews45Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,220
  • 656
  • 133
  • 38
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Richard G wrote a review Jan 2020
Ipswich, United Kingdom46 contributions61 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very comfortable hotel in a quiet and elegant part of the city. Exec Room was large and comfortable, bed was excellent, very good shower. Restaurant food was excellent with very friendly staff and breakfast choice was massive. We thought it was good value for money. Not posh but very comfortable feel to it. Room was very warm so we had to turn the heater off and open the windows to make it more comfortable even in January as it was mild weather. No air con so might be hot in summer so they provide fans.
The location is 20 mins walk to the city so not too far and close to the The Meadows park. Bruntsfield Place itself has plenty of restaurants and bars and local shops which was a nice option in the evening. Within 10 mins walk there are bistros, Italian, European, Chinese, Indian restaurants walking away from the city centre.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms away from the restaurant avoid the noise from the extraction units.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from A_Bruce50, General Manager at The Bruntsfield
Responded Jan 8, 2020
Dear Richard G, Thank you very much for your review of the Bruntsfield Hotel. We are all delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate your feedback about the hotel, thank you. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel at some other point in the future. Yours sincerely Alistair Bruce General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Catherine C wrote a review Dec 2020
Marlborough, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I really like staying at the Bruntsfield Hotel in Edinburgh. This was my second stay and the few staff on duty worked tirelessly to ensure the rooms were safe, to provide excellent room service and deliver a tasty breakfast in the morning. Hat's off for doing everything you can. This hotel has a lovely, cosy feel to it. Not far from the popular Morningside and within walking distance of the city centre. My only (very small gripe) is that it is sometimes tricky to park, especially if the hotel is full and functions are taking place. This time, that wasn't a problem. I will definitely be looking to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alistair Bruce, General Manager at The Bruntsfield
Responded Dec 21, 2020
Dear Pusb13, Thank you very much for your review of the Bruntsfield Hotel. We are all delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay with us during these very unusual times. We really do appreciate your feedback about the hotel and my team, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours sincerely, Alistair Bruce General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
coco80 wrote a review Dec 2020
Exeter, United Kingdom326 contributions154 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
When I arrived the entrance smelt lovely and fresh and had a nice Christmasy feel.
The hotel has really reacted well to covid.
My room was clean and smelt really fresh and the bed was comfortable.
Haven’t really got any complaints..only very slight negatives was the water was temperamental as the shower took ages to warm up and then kept going hot and cold.
I ordered a sausage sandwich each morning for breakfast which I made clear that I wanted it just on white bread with butter and not toasted but each time I ended up with a toasted sandwich and without butter sometimes but these are just tiny little faults and wouldn’t stop me staying here again.
The staff were friendly.
I liked that the tv controller was in a bag, and so were tea and coffees showing that they were really taking on board covid.
Lovely touches with hot chocolate as I don’t drink tea or coffee.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone,I felt so safe here and it was nice to be in a lovely fresh and clean smelling hotel!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alistair Bruce, General Manager at The Bruntsfield
Responded Dec 8, 2020
Dear charlottepV7539PW, Thank you very much for your review of the Bruntsfield Hotel. We are all delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay with us during these very unusual times. We really do appreciate your feedback about the hotel and the team, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours sincerely, Alistair Bruce General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James P wrote a review Oct 2021
Exeter, United Kingdom4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival we were very lucky to get ourselves a parking space, and well priced at £10 a day compared to the price of up to £30 or more elsewhere in the city.
The receptionist at check in was helpful but not the fastest to check us in.

The room was a very good size and all appeared well.

That evening we visited the bar, and the gentleman at the bar was fantastic. Very welcoming and friendly. The food in the restaurant was also very good.

However we did encounter several issues.

Firstly we were not informed of building works happening in the hotel until we checked in. This was not advertised on the website when booking either. Although the receptionist thought it was, which was news to us. However after double checking there was no warning of this.
As early as 08:00am we were disturbed from banging and drilling near our room and were not impressed. We also had the fire alarm go off multiple times, the earliest at 08:40. This is not acceptable as we were sleeping in after our long days travelling.

Furthermore when our room was serviced, we discovered a short curly hair between our 2 teaspoons that had been replaced that day. At this point we had enough and went to reception to complain.

The lady at reception was very helpful and wrote down our issues. She told us she would refer these issues to the General Manager. However we did not hear anything back until we checked out.

Throughout our stay we found the room servicing to be well below par, not even cleaning the toilet. There was a dirty pint glass left with the dirty mugs each day that was never removed and we actually ran out of toilet roll! It seemed to us that all they did was make the bed and change the towels over our 4 night stay. I'm surprised at this considering we complained after 2 nights specifically about the room servicing.

On checkout there was no mention of our complaints until we re-mentioned it and then added more...
Apparently the duty manager was busy at breakfast and not available to speak to us, so we checked out, awaiting a phone call to find out more.

A couple of hours later we received a phone call from reception to say they had nocked the car parking off the bill. Honestly I don't think this was an acceptable amount of compensation given the amount of issues we had, and the lack of rectifying them or communicating with us after our first complaint.

On a good note the hotel is in a lovely location, around a 15 min walk into the centre and close to several local independent cafes and restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alistair Bruce, General Manager at The Bruntsfield
Responded Oct 28, 2021
Dear James, Thank you for your review of the Bruntsfield Hotel and for speaking with me on the phone earlier. As I explained I will send you a note regarding your comments separately and I'm so sorry that you had cause to contact us in the first place. I'm also sorry as I wasn't informed by my team that you were expecting a call from myself previously. The fire alarm occurrences were genuine activations and of course this system is in place for the safety and comfort of all guests and staff in the hotel. We shall also certainly focus on bedroom cleanliness, as this, in todays' climate, is extremely important. Regards Alistair Bruce General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
walkmanFife wrote a review Jan 2020
Cupar, United Kingdom403 contributions229 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here one night in January while working in Edinburgh.

I used to live in this part of Edinburgh as a student 40 odd years ago and there was a little snug bar at the side that was our local. It's long gone, but the hotel itself, which I'd never stayed in before, seems to have gone from strength to strength.

Nothing not to like about this stay for me. I was given a large room with period features at the front, with a big three part window looking over Bruntsfield Links. The would have been great but unfortunately it was dark all the time I was there. There was another room attached with bunk beds and a second TV, wardrobe and the dreaded trouser press and off it was the en-suite bathroom. This would obviously be great as a family room.

The room itself was great, plenty of space for a massive bed, desk and chair and couple of bucket seats and a coffee table. There was also everything you would need including a hairdryer and an ironing board and table in case you don't trust that trouser press... The double glazing and heavy curtains meant there was little traffic noise and I slept reasonably well.

Ate in the Bisque bar in the evening and found the service good and the food decent and reasonably priced. There's also plenty of different types of restaurant in the immediate area. Breakfast was also good with the usual buffet and the usual cooked options. No smoked haddock and poached egg which is my personal favourite, but plenty of other choices so can't complain.

Staff that I met were all great.

For anyone that doesn't know Edinburgh, Bruntsfield is a great area to stay in. It's trendy and elegant and has its own community feel, with great shops, restaurants and pubs and some great open space in the Links and nearby Meadows. It's also great for the city centre with plenty of good bus services, though you can walk to the city centre in maybe about 25 minutes and Haymarket station in about 20.

Overall, really enjoyed my short stay and would return without hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from A_Bruce50, General Manager at The Bruntsfield
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Dear walkmanFife, Thank you very much for your review of the Bruntsfield Hotel. We are all delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay with us, it must have been a pleasure returning to the area after 40 years. We really appreciate your feedback about the hotel, thank you. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel at some other point in the future. Yours sincerely Alistair Bruce General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FM100 wrote a review Oct 2020
Seascale, United Kingdom356 contributions166 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I just stayed here one night while visiting the city for a dental appointment.
It was my first overnight stay since the start of Covid so didn’t know what to expect.
From the moment I arrived I felt safe. I got a lovely warm welcome with Andrew. There were screens up at reception and hand gel.
In the room (number 6, really beautiful, room at the front of the hotel),lots of covid measures were taken. All sanitized items were sealed in bags and labelled (hand sets etc). Antibac wipes were provided too. The cups were throw away ones, rather than reusable.
I ate in the restaurant for my evening meal. Again, everything really well done. People very well spaced out. After guests left, all table/chair etc were thoroughly cleaned with disinfectant. Michael was running the restaurant, he was very friendly and welcoming.
The food was good. Obviously because of the situation, there was a limited menu, but the food was good. There was no alcohol served due to the government restrictions, but it didn’t matter.
Check out (didn’t get the lady who served me’s name) was lovely. They kept my case for a few hours while I did some shopping.

My advice to other travellers thinking of booking this hotel - book it! It is a safe and clean, and beautifully decorated hotel. The staff are wonderful, even though now times are exceptionally hard for hospitality. It is in a great part of city close to the centre.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alistair Bruce, General Manager at The Bruntsfield
Responded Oct 20, 2020
Dear FM100, Thank you very much for your review of the Bruntsfield Hotel. We are all delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay with us during these very unusual times. We really do appreciate your feedback about the hotel and my team during COVID, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours sincerely, Alistair Bruce General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Philip D wrote a review May 2022
Potters Bar, United Kingdom15 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the years, the staff on reception were great, we asked for a room facing the park and they fulfilled this request...thank you!

The room was a good size and the bed really comfortable, no fridge or aircon unfortunately, but they are in the process of refurbishment so maybe that will change in the future, we still had pencil marks on the headboard in our room (114) where the new furniture has been fitted.

The bar staff were very efficient and everyone there went out of their way to make us feel welcome and serve drinks and bar food quickly.

The bar food was tasty too and the Bar Manager very knowledgeable on the drinks menu and also the local area. Location is about a 15 min walk into the city or a really nice walk through The Links park opposite.

Breakfast tasted lovely, cooked to order and nice and hot with a good choice on the continental buffet.

Felt like we were a hindrance to the weekday staff in the restaurant to be honest. The weekend staff were great however and couldn't do enough for you.

Breakfast service now ends at 9.30am during the week, this wasn’t made very clear when we checked in, so there were people arriving after 9.30 and getting told off for it and barked at to order quickly as the kitchen was closing for hot food!

Toaster is promptly turned off just before this so we felt rushed.

Not a relaxing experience unfortunately, lots of crashing plates and dropping cutlery around us whilst we were trying to eat. The main lady on duty constantly shouting, so unsettling.

Such a shame! But as I said it was different on the weekend.

We had to request that our room was cleaned thoroughly, as when we requested for it to be serviced by putting a sign on our door they only seemed to change the towels and make the bed and not actually clean or hoover the room, after a request to reception this problem was fixed for one day but they didn’t bother afterwards so we ended up having to clean it ourselves.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alistair Bruce, General Manager at The Bruntsfield
Responded Jun 3, 2022
Dear 460philipd, Thank you for your review of the Bruntsfield Hotel and for your feedback which I have already discussed with my team. I'm sorry that this visit wasn't 100% perfect, hopefully we will see you again in the future, do please let me know in advance should you return as I would love to ensure you next visit is faultless with us. Regards Alistair Bruce General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JennyPenny93 wrote a review Aug 2021
Prestwick, United Kingdom77 contributions51 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel for a couples night away. On the positive side, location is good, can park on site (at an additional cost), and staff on the day we were leaving were very politely and helpful. After we raised our concerns with our stay (as detailed below) the staff on the second day gave us a discount which was good of them. On the negative side, room was not clean (dirt on windowsills and dust on most surfaces) and very tired in appearance (pealing wallpaper, holes in walls, holes in curtains), my fiancé ordered Prosecco for our room at an additional cost and the glasses had to be re-washed by ourselves, we were let in late to our room which pushed back our whole schedule and no explanation was given to explain the late room by the gentleman at reception, our room safe did not work, and the gentleman manning the reception on arrival showed everyone else to their room aside from ourselves (we feel that this may have been because we asked why our room was not ready on time). We were advised that the hotel will be refurbished in the coming months and so I would return here until it has had a complete face lift.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alistair Bruce, General Manager at The Bruntsfield
Responded Aug 16, 2021
Dear JennyPenny1993, Thank you for your review of the Bruntsfield Hotel. Please do accept my most sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced, this is most unusual and not what we normally experience. I have already discussed your feedback with my team and they also wish for their apologies be passed onto yourselves. As you know we are refurbishing the hotel at present and please can you contact me directly on gm@thebruntsfield.co.uk, I am keen to recognise your dissatisfaction. Regards Alistair Bruce General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bryan wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Having stayed here before we booked the hotel pre-covid to attend an event that was cancelled. We therefore paid top price. Our preference would have been to cancel the booking and reschedule for a longer stay at a later date but the hotel were within their rights not to agree . We therefore went for a short break. The executive room was adequate, and clean but the room was both warm and noisy in the early morning as refuse collection took place outside our window.

There was no room service due to Covid, which we accept but it would have been nice to have been informed of this at check in.

The hotel wi-fi did not work on the day of our arrival but worked satisfactorily on the subsequent two days

Breakfast was poor. We were given the choice of two times. 8 am or 9:30 neither of which would have have been our first choice. From the breakfast menu the fruit bowl and fruit salad turned out to be the same thing. A plastic wrapped dish of prepackaged tasteless essentially tinned fruit. The granola my wife ordered appeared to be crumbled granola bars and was very poor. she could not eat it. Bread / toast was of cheap supermarket quality. Coffee was not very hot. The cooked breakfast was better but my fried egg was over-cooked and the tomato was undercooked. For a hotel of this quality some fresh fruit would have been expected. I have eaten better breakfasts at motorway service stations.

For the record we were never asked whether we enjoyed our stay by the receptionist but I have filled in a subsequent marketing questionnaire by the hotel.

The hotel location is good but we are unlikely to choose to stay here or any Best Western hotel again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alistair Bruce, General Manager at The Bruntsfield
Responded Sep 3, 2020
Dear Bryanx123, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is very important to us and I have used feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I have replied, in detail, to your other feedback method earlier today but I can confirm that there were no reported issues with our wifi. At check in guests are informed about the online hotel directory which details changes to our operation for servicing rooms, room service, additional toiletries and breakfast times. We do not however insist that guests eat at 8am or 9.30am, this is the time that we are currently serving breakfast between. For your information I have amended the breakfast menu to offer a freshly made fruit salad and I will personally ensure that food and beverages are served as they should be. As you will see from pervious feedback our breakfast service is highly complimented and we do try our very best to fix any shortcomings when we are given the opportunity. Yours sincerely, Alistair Bruce General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John W wrote a review Sep 2021
Letchworth Garden City, United Kingdom12 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Would stay again but put off by the car parking charge especially as the car park is small and Ive had a car damaged in that car park. The staff were attentive and the room problem we had with our first room was sorted by moving us to a recently refurbished room which smelled fresher and was cooler and larger. Need to ensure you get the upgrade if you are a Best Western card holder. Very good breakfasts.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alistair Bruce, General Manager at The Bruntsfield
Responded Sep 20, 2021
Dear jbevwebb, Thank you very much for your review of the Bruntsfield Hotel. We are all delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay with us during these very unusual times. We really do appreciate your feedback about the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. As you know our bedroom, bar & restaurant refurbishment programme started recently, so perhaps next time you will be able to use all our new facilities. Regards Alistair Bruce General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from jaynebrad54
Cupar, United Kingdom112 contributions23 helpful votes
I don't know if they do laundry but if you go on the hotel's own website you can send them a message, asking.
Answer from Laura462230
Northallerton, United Kingdom601 contributions538 helpful votes
The car park is really small and it’s by chance of you get a place however the road the hotel sits on has parking all the way along so you can always park there if the car park is full
scottrydal asked a question Aug 2021
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom282 contributions18 helpful votes
How long and far towards to train Station
scottrydal asked a question Jul 2021
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom282 contributions18 helpful votes
Hi could you please tell me how much parking is for 3 days midweek
Answer from peter smith
Glasgow, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi, They charge £10 per day. Which I am sure is for a 24 hour period
Doreen J wrote a tip Apr 2024
Ayr, United Kingdom2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure your room is not near the kitchen fans. "
Read full review
jfbrook wrote a tip Apr 2024
Surrey, United Kingdom17 contributions27 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Didnt sleep a wink Superior room at front of hotel. Sole purpose of paying for a hotel room is to sleep. Room smelt stale/awful. NOT 4 *! "
Read full review
juliemarlenewallis wrote a tip Mar 2024
Lakewood, New Jersey33 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A quiet room is on the xxourtyard"
Read full review
max wrote a tip Mar 2024
United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"car parking available"
Read full review
Noreen B wrote a tip Mar 2024
7 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book breakfast when you arrive"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
C$270 - C$470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western plus bruntsfield hotel edinburgh, best western edinburgh, edinburgh best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburgh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Bruntsfield - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Bruntsfield
Which popular attractions are close to The Bruntsfield?
Nearby attractions include King's Theatre (0.5 km), Lupe Pinto's (0.4 km), and Opatrip.com Scotland (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bruntsfield?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at The Bruntsfield?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Bruntsfield?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bruntsfield?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bruntsfield?
Conveniently located restaurants include Quick & Plenty Cafe, Chaskaa Indian Restaurant Edinburgh, and LeftField.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Bruntsfield?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Bruntsfield offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Bruntsfield?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bruntsfield?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Real Mary King's Close (1.6 km), Palace of Holyroodhouse (2.7 km), and Gladstone's Land (1.5 km).
Does The Bruntsfield have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Edinburgh HotelsEdinburgh Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in EdinburghHotels near The Bruntsfield
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars