We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Apex Haymarket Hotel

Show Prices
#74 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Apex Haymarket Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

876 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 802: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Dont usually do reviews leave it up to people to decide for themselves but wasnt impressed at all with my visit! When we arrived i thought the reception was at bit of a strange layout! The receptionist's on duty were lovely & very helpful. Advised that breakfast would be £10 each if we booked that day or £13 each if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked directly with hotel and received £10 voucher for each room to spend in bar or restaurant. Receptionist was very pleasant and friendly. Arrived at hotel about 11.30 am and they phoned us about 1pm to tell us our rooms were ready. Rooms were comfortable and clean with everything you could need. Tea coffee biscuits etc and 2 Small bottles... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank _samuelandlynne
elgin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for two nights over the weekend. This is a nice and clean hotel and the room we had on the second floor was lovely, shame that the lift was out of order. Thankfully we were able to get a parking space as there are only 8 or 9 spaces . The buses run very regularly and stop at... More 

Helpful?
Thank voddy g
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed at the Apex Haymarket in Edinburgh for one night. Great location as it was handy for great restaurants, bars, train station and only a 15/20minute stroll away from Princes at and other attractions. The hotel room itself was very clean, modern although parking is limited to about 7 cars. Staff at reception were very welcoming and helpful as were... More 

Helpful?
Thank David M
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay. Was really pleased to read you had a great stay so thank you for the very positive feedback. As you say we having a new lift installed and this should be operational for Christmas if everything goes to plan. One again thanks for the review... More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good experience ,well furnished, clean with attentive staff. Ideal position for Princess Street, buses and tram network. Minutes from Haymarket Station. Approximately twenty minutes walk from Princess Street.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 100geoffreyh
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Geoffrey, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. Hopefully we will welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Alan Taylor General Manager More 

Arbroath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

The lift didn't work so we had to carry our heavy cases up and down the stairs.. The room was far too hot and stuffy. Flush on the toilet was difficult to operate and the cleanliness of the room wasn't good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janice G
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janice, Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We are currently having a new lift installed. I am sorry if this spoiled your stay in anyway. We are not a big hotel and offering all guests assistance with their luggage. I was surprised and disappointed to read your comments about cleanliness.... More 

scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

You were having a new lift installed was a bit noise at eight fifteen am , could you please tune in the television not very good in room 106. I would still stay in the hotel the next time I am in Edinburgh, it is the first time my wife and I have stayed in a Apex hotel and I... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kenneth_cross
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Cross, Thank you for leaving a review about your recent stay. I am sorry if you were disturbed by any noise from the contractors installing our new lift. I will speak to the contractor concerned as there should be no noise before 9.30am. I will also have our maintenance team check the the television in room 106. Thank... More 

sheffield, uk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice room. Compact but nice. Bed was rock hard though, and I sleep on a firm bed at home. The bedspread was badly stained which was really off putting. The ironing board was in the wardrobe and wouldn't fit back in when I hung up my clothes so it ended up in the shower overnight. Had a DB&B deal which... More 

Helpful?
Thank emmaSheffield_Uk
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emma, Thank you for the review. I am very sorry for the apparent problems that you experienced during your stay. The firmness of a a bed is a very personal thing and we do try to strike the balance so are our beds are somewhere in the middle. There is no excuse for the bed throw and that should... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently booked 6 rooms for an overnight stay to attend a charity dinner. My guests complimented the quality of rooms and the impecable service delivered from the team at check in/out, the bar and also the quality of breakfast. The dinner we attended finished late and we were accomodated with late drinks by the night service porter who was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mactommo
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mactommo, Thank you for your great feedback. Delighted you and your guests had such a great stay. I will ensure that your lovely comments are passed onto the team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you have a dinner in Edinburgh. Kind Regards Alan Taylor General Manager More 

Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beds are comfortable as I had a deep sleep. The location is near train station and city centre. The problem I had was that it was difficult to flush the toilet, and the housekeeper did not refill facial tissue and drinking water, which were the minor problem.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sammie979
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sammie, Thanks for the review. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay but also disappointed that as we made a couple of errors it wasn't perfect. I will ensure that I share your feedback so the next time your stay it will be perfect. Kind Regards Alan Taylor General Manager More 

192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,195 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#89 of 150 in Edinburgh
671 reviews
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#47 of 150 in Edinburgh
416 reviews
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small, friendly hotel situated at the west end of city center; minutes to the main shopping streets and entertainment district. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apex Haymarket Hotel

Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $77 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Apex Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apex Haymarket Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Apex Haymarket Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I've never had any significant issues with any room here.”
 of 5 bubbles mikeplonk, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We prefer a high floor. Less noise.”
 of 5 bubbles shirlppt, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Odd numbered rooms face Haymarket - even numbered rooms might be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles BitsBaby, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you're a light sleeper, avoid rooms near the lift as you can hear banging of the door leading to the lift. Room isn't sound proof.”
 of 5 bubbles Local_Traveller2012, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room at the back of the hotel for a more peaceful nights sleep”
 of 5 bubbles michaelgX7906LQ, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay