We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Apex Haymarket Hotel

Show Prices
#75 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

960 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 883: English reviews
Start your review of Apex Haymarket Hotel
 Click to rate
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed yesterday NEW

From beginnend to end, I found the staff to be both very friendly and efficient. The room was very clean and had everything needed for a comfortable stay. The breakfast was outstanding in terms of the variety, quality and quantitativer of food on offer. The Hotel is situated a short walk away from Haymarket railway Station and therefore has easy...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesdS1678IR
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staff are very nice, the breakfast is good and we had a very nice drink at the bar/restaurant before heading out to eat. Wish I could commend the girl at reception but cannot recall her name, she always had a smile for us and was very helpful and welcoming. I won't pretend the rooms are huge but for the price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very good value for money at the rate of £60 that I paid. Limited parking at hotel but plenty of space on adjacent road. Good sized room with modern bathroom.Excellent breakfast choice in the morning that was quickly prepared to order.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley P
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

great hotel excellent value enjoyed very much great stay great stay would highly recommend great location easy access to city by tram or train or 15min walk I would def stay again the hotel wa excellent the staff very very helpful and would book again and advise friends to if the visit edinburgh

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenneth_mains
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent value and ideal for Murrayfield. From our first impression at reception and throughout our stay the staff were very friendly and helpful. We are very much looking forward to our stay again this weekend. Thoroughly recommended!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie M
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ronnie, Thank for taking the time to leave a review. The team and I really appreciated your feedback. Thanks again and see you again this weekend Alan Taylor General Manager

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stay here on work trips to Edinburgh for the location. If you want hotel close enough to everything and on the tram line, stay here. The take away rubber duck is a nice touch. Be careful with rooms near the main doors on each floor if you are a light sleeper. It's clean, friendly and very handy. Reliable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen V
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen, Thanks for the review. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our excellent location. Thanks again Alan Taylor General Manager

Wales
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Not much to say that I haven't said previously - for £60-odd including breakfast, this hotel ticks all the boxes. Pleasant rooms, convenient location, comfy beds, nice breakfast (shame the haggis was dropped a while ago, but never mind) and the new lift is the icing on the cake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikeplonk
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike, Thanks for the review and returning to the hotel. As ever I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are all delighted with our new lift. The old one served us well but it was time the old girl retired. Thanks again and hopefully we will welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Alan Taylor General Manager

Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have visited Edinburgh on many occasions, and I was "assigned" a hotel by our company for a UK-wide conference. When I discovered where I was staying - at the APEX - I thought, where the heck is that! As you do, I did a quick online look, and thought it was OMG, this going to be a rubbish hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrettDukes
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Reception was very welcoming, rooms comfortable, excellent shower and free WIFi. We would have eaten breakfast but the cost was a little too expensive for us. Good location with tram stop into city centre, very close by.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank S9924BFalisonb
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thanks for the excellent feedback. Really pleased to read you had such a great stay. Thanks again Alan Taylor General Manager

Scotland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Friendly and helpful Receptionist on check-in. Reception area is a bit basic. We were allocated room 208, which was lovely and clean but very small. Toiletries and fluffy towels were supplied which were excellent. Shower was temperature controlled and could have done with being a bit hotter. Mattress and pillows were a bit too soft, like sleeping on marshmallows. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Biddie11
alantayl0r, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Biddie, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted you had a great stay. We always make sure our prices a re very competitive so I am sorry if you felt your stay was expensive. If you pre pay breakfast at check in we offer a 25% discount. Thank again for the review and...

262 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (151)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (65)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Standard Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,235 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,764 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#28 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small, friendly hotel situated at the west end of city center; minutes to the main shopping streets and entertainment district. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apex Haymarket Hotel

Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $89 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Booking.com so you can book your Apex Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Apex Haymarket Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Apex Haymarket Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't forget to take home your Rubber Duck”
 of 5 bubbles BrettDukes, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Can't say as we had a net curtain and sideboard in front of the window so could not really see out”
 of 5 bubbles Biddie11, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a fourth-floor room if you can. Less street noise and no-one above to annoy you.”
  • Use the FREEZING Edinburgh water of January to make your own fridge!
 of 5 bubbles Magpie1892, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room 305 was nice with a good view”
 of 5 bubbles tommy0121, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I've never had any significant issues with any room here.”
 of 5 bubbles mikeplonk, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5