We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Show Prices
#43 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,324: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I wanted to go somewhere special for our wedding anniversary and wasn't disappointed at Norton house. We ate in the Brasserie and had attentive service and a good choice for every course. The food was delicious although could have been a bit hotter for the main. Overall though would love to go back sometime.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillip F
Coatbridge, Scotland, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Having visited the Norton House Hotel several times for spa treatments and been impressed by the facilities we had no hesitation in booking in overnight when attending a friend's family celebration. To say we were impressed is an understatement. The event was excellent. Service, food and the setting were superb. While within easy travelling distance of Edinburgh and near to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IGA131
About Hotel's Favourite Review
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review following your recent visit. I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially your friend’s family celebration. It is great to read that you will return in the future and I look forward to welcoming you back to Norton House. Kind regards Chris Monks

East Lothian, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

A spontaneous birthday treat for my husband. Friendly, attentive and informative staff. Our room was lovely, an executive double room with views to the garden. Kids were impressed the luxury bathroom with television above bath. Bed was so comfortable with quality bed linen. We had dinner with champagne and canapés to start, lovely. The food that followed was delicious. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KelpiesPearl
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a glowing review following your recent stay. I am delighted the family enjoyed Norton House and it is great to read that the staff were friendly and attentive. Your desire to return is the best recommendation to future guests and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Kind regards, Chris...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff on arrival were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel itself is really nice. Room was large, very clean, comfortable and warm. The restaurant looked pricey so we avoided it. On hindsight we perhaps should have eaten there as the closest decent restaurant was just as expensive. The bar was, unfortunately, very very expensive. I would have loved to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I am very grateful to you for taking the time to post feedback following your stay in January. I am delighted you were impressed with the hotel and that you found the staff to be polite and helpful. Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on our pricing. I am disappointed that you felt this...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was a Christmas present from our son so can't comment on value. Reception staff were very friendly on check in. Room was 202 were really pleased with it very spacious with a huge bed and very comfortable. The wee cat on the bed was a lovely touch as we are cat lover. Once we settled we thought we would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaza38
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review following your recent break away. I am pleased you had a lovely night of relaxation and it is great to read you found the staff friendly and breakfast fabulous. I will thank Maxime personally for being mentioned in your feedback and I know she will be delighted to know her...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were 2 families which visited this for an afternoon tea for which I had bought vouchers from Groupon. With much difficulty we could find a reservation as this was during the Christmas rush, but were a bit disappointed to have been charged in full for the the 2 family despite presenting our coupons. We wrote to the hotel questioning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dashjd
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review following your visit for afternoon tea in December. Please accept my apologies that your bill was incorrect and you had the inconvenience of writing to let us know. I am pleased to read this has been rectified and that you thought it was well handled by the staff. I trust you enjoyed your afternoon...

Levenmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is, by far, the best Hotel we have ever stayed in! From the moment we checked in till we left, the staff were first class. Friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make our stay a top class weekend. The food was first class! The rooms were so comfortable, warm, well furnished and had many little extras....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EvieD63
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am delighted you had such an outstanding stay at Norton House Hotel & Spa and found all aspects of your stay to be so excellent. The team are focused upon providing attentive & friendly service and they will take great encouragement from your kind words. I do hope we have the pleasure...

fife
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We unfortunately had a eventful time after drains issues and various other encounters then stepped in lovely Carla Ingles can I say this lady is the best manager my husband and I have met. Calmly treating everyone with dignity and respect we will be back thanks to Carla xx can I also mention the lovely Denim in the spa. These...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raithfife
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies for the issues you encountered. I am delighted that Carla our Spa Manager was able to redeem your faith in Norton House. I will speak to Carla and Denim personally and thank them for being highlighted in your review. It is great to read that you will return and I...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this break as a treat for my husband on arrival we were allocated a room on floor 2 the smell in the room was terrible coming from toilet my first complaint why at the price you are charging are the rooms not checked !!!!! We phoned reception and were to.d someone would be therein 5 minutes when no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fifelollipop
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. All feedback is really important to us and whilst we naturally enjoy receiving positive reviews, we add just as much importance to comments letting us know where we did not do well. Please accept my apologies that certain aspects of your visit fell short of your expectations....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We picked this hotel due to proximity to the airport. It was our last night in Scotland and it was a rotten ending to an otherwise great trip. We booked a standard room...the room we were given was in the basement and smelled very musty (some mix of urine and mold). We politely requested a different room, the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ang2982
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review following your recent visit to Norton House Hotel & Spa. I was disappointed to read the issues you experienced and I apologise for this. We do not profess to get it right all of the time but when we do get it wrong I would fully expect my team to react in a friendly...

727 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (344)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (157)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (352)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
The Edinburgh Suite (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (150)
Viewed
The Kingdom Suite (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,526 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,624 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,052 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
507 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#89 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $192 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Executive rooms are first class!”
 of 5 bubbles EvieD63, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent but join the loyalty scheme”
 of 5 bubbles Rendatwo, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stayed on 3 occasions over the years. Original building rooms have high ceilings and features. The executive rooms separate bath and shower.”
 of 5 bubbles DaveF12345678, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“go executive,worth the extra,even for the tv above the bath in toilet”
 of 5 bubbles jon312, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for bath or shower.”
 of 5 bubbles johanneb554, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5