The Scotsman Hotel

The Scotsman Hotel

Traveller (1594)
Feature Double or Twin
Room & Suite (908)
Grand Cafe at the Scotsman
Dining (117)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
C$641
C$640
C$575
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#85 of 161 hotels in Edinburgh
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Set in a desirable location on North Bridge, The 4 star Scotsman Hotel is nestled between the hustle and bustle of the New Town and the historical Old Town, the hotel is perfectly located to explore Edinburgh. Just off the famous Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and Princess Street are within 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel. Tourist attractions, entertainment venues, restaurants, bars and shopping are all conveniently near-by, making The Scotsman Hotel the ideal base to explore the our great city. Many of the original features and layout remain intact from the former national newspaper of Scotland printing house, bringing historical character to this luxury boutique hotel. The Marble staircase, now the centre of the hotel, retains its imposing stained glass window and glows magnificently by candle light each evening. Within the heart of the historic and iconic building is our comfortable bar and lounge area which serves a wide variety of drinks to suit all tastes, a luxurious afternoon tea and a great range of bar snacks. A high quality Scottish breakfast with superb service is served daily in our dedicated breakfast restaurant. With discounted parking at local secure car park, complimentary Wi-Fi and all the little extras you would expect from a 4 star boutique hotel, we look forward to welcoming you soon to The Scotsman Hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English

Location

20 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1TR Scotland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Turnhouse Airport
10.8 km
See all flights
Dundee Airport
56.9 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles3,919 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled near the Royal Mile and Waverley Station, The Scotsman Hotel receives acclaim for its stellar location. Guests appreciate the luxurious amenities and thoughtful touches like complimentary Prosecco, although views on value and service vary, with some citing overpricing and inconsistent staff performance. Rooms are generally celebrated for their space, cleanliness, and modern decor, yet a few mention suboptimal lighting and heating. The hotel's atmosphere is often described as sophisticated with occasional critiques on ambiance, but the live music and elegant decor typically leave a lasting impression.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Sophisticated
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Lavish

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
3,919Reviews47Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,071
  • 906
  • 491
  • 250
  • 201
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mobile819987 wrote a review Mar 2020
55 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed four days this March, I can recomend it, we had a great room (free upgrade) plus we took the breakfast option, hot and cold buffet style,hot drinks served to you and the option of extras off the buffet eg steak, fish hot pancakes ect, danish pastries and the continental style meats.
The room was very good, nice bed and shower room, bottles of spring water, kettle and tea coffee making (fresh milk daily a nice touch and beats those plastic things) and two free small taster bottle of whiskey.
There is a great Cafe/resturant attached, with great staff, Thank You for finding my phone, I will try not to loose it again.
The Hotel also hosts a cinema night with evening meal, 47 seater theatre I believe, we did not go this time ( meeting family ) but hope to treat my other half next time.
The hotel staff genuinly friendly but professional, nothing was too much trouble, they make a good stay.
The location was perfect for the old town of Edinburgh,just off the Royal Mile, which had many attractions and eating places, so we saved money on transport to and from many places of interest, with it being close to Waverley Bridge it was good for transport should you wish to travel further and of course to and from airport/train station.
In a nut shell, yes we would go back again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stuart Edinburgh, Sales at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded Mar 18, 2020
Dear Mobile819987, Thank you for your wonderful 5* review. I am so happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and we all look forward to your next visit - hopefully you will be able to take in a film in our Picturehouse next time. Kind regards Lisa Anderson Deputy General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
beck_hoose wrote a review May 2021
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom168 contributions183 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for one night on the spur of the moment.
The location of the hotel is ideal for walking and exploring Edinburgh.
We used their recommended car parking at Waverley Station (New Street) which cost around £17 / 24 hrs (you have to get the parking ticket stamped by the hotel reception to get the discount)
Check in was easy and as we arrived early, reception pre-checked us in, took our bags were in the room waiting for us when we came back late afternoon.
The bed was really comfy with plenty of quality furnishings and toiletries. The free drams of whisky left in the room was also a nice touch and most appreciative.
The breakfast was really good, cooked really well, but the only downside was we had to wait a long time for our breakfast in the breakfast room. We came down around 09:30, which seemed the popular time with other residents, but our server seemed to prioritise residents ordering breakfast to their rooms over the telephone rather than come back and take our order. Its a small gripe over the whole positive experience of staying in the Scotsman.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manager Edinburgh, Sales at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded May 22, 2021
Dear beck_hoose, Thank you for your review for the Scotsman Hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay so much. I am sorry that you had to wait a little longer in breakfast, this has been fed back to our breakfast manager for review. We all very much hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. With warm wishes and kind regards Barry Makin General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Michael C wrote a review Feb 2020
LondonUK6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Scotsman has a great location and is an iconic building but we like it even more for its people which makes it feel like a much more genuinely nice place than many large hotels. This is our 5th visit for our traditional half term father and daughter trip (81/2 now) up on the sleeper from London, one night in The Scotsman and home by the day express on the following lunch time. We’ve loved The Scotsman from the first time we stayed. On our first trip never having been before we were fortunate enough to end up in room 606 which has really high ceilings and huge windows overlooking a courtyard. Suited us as at night the lovely curtains made it pitch black and it was so quiet you could hear a pin drop. Cue great nights sleep. We’ve asked for it every trip since apart from one trip when mum came too. Love the Tunnochs tea cakes and the fresh milk for a cuppa. Everyone is very kind and on this trip (last week 19 February) they even called us while we were walking around a wet and chilly Edinburgh to let us know our room was ready a bit early. Very welcome and we had a nice siesta before going out again to visit friends. The management are also very responsive when I contact them with our particular requests especially for our favourite room. Thank you The Scotsman.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stuart Edinburgh, Sales at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded Mar 7, 2020
Dear MwivL, Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so happy that we were able to arrange room 606 for you again for your father and daughter trip to Edinburgh. We all hope to see you both again next year! Kind regards Lisa Anderson Deputy General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nik01Aberdeen wrote a review Oct 2020
Inverurie, United Kingdom332 contributions55 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a deluxe room for our anniversary 2 night stay. Extremely disappointed with room 306, when we went into the room the shaving mirror had fallen and glass had shattered all over the bathroom floor, understand these things happen. Reception dealt with this quickly to send housekeeping to sweep it up and sent us a complimentary bottle of prosecco which was welcome. Next thing there was no hairdryer in the room again reception sent housekeeping very quickly to provide one.
The condition of room 306 was generally pretty poor with a massive stain in the carpet, only 3 of the 5 ceiling lights working and 1 bedside light not working. The sofa in the room was like sitting on a sack of potatoes. We didn’t want to complain again because it was getting ridiculous.
But it was very disappointing to pay £192.00 per night for this standard of room on what should have been a special occasion.
Breakfast was well run by the staff but the quality of food & cleanliness of the plates was very poor.
However Nijinsky the porter/Barman was very helpful throughout our stay & is a credit to the hotel.
On check out we didn’t get a copy of our bill and then requested that it be emailed to us - still waiting!
Nijinsky can have 5 stars but the hotel only deserves 2.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manager Edinburgh, Sales at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded Oct 2, 2020
Dear nik01Aberdeen, Thank you for your review of the Scotsman. I am sorry that you experienced the frustrations that you did during your stay with us, I would very much like the opportunity to discuss them with you further, if you would like to do so please email me n barrymakin@scotsmanhotel.co.uk and i will personally look into the matters you have mentioned. Your experience is certainly not one that we aspire to deliver and indeed do manage to deliver to the vast majority who visit. With kind regards Barry Makin General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Webb5 wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Scotsman for 10 nights to celebrate our engagement, we were incredibly excited about our stay. However, upon arrival the receptionist was not welcoming at all, in fact we felt she was rather rude and asked for payment straight away. There was no information imparted on services, the room or what to do in the area. The room we were given was grand and spacious but there was refurbishment work next-door, so there was constant banging and knocking throughout our stay. It transpired we had an old room that had not been refurbished. Breakfast was a buffet and we were not told that you could order porridge or different types of cooked eggs. The water baths that the hot breakfast items are kept in keep the food rather cool and soggy. Having worked in a hotel I found this rather strange and not congruent to a luxury hotel breakfast. Another issue, our room television broke down half way through our stay, this was never rectified despite reporting the issue to reception and talking to the hotel handyman. This was disappointing particularly with regard to the price you pay. However, there are staff who are brilliant and welcoming. The hotel itself is very beautiful and well kept. The house keeping team do a tremendous job. The Café Grande is wonderful and the food on offer for lunch and dinner is fantastic. In general, it was an ok experience with good highlights. This was supposed to be a once in life time holiday but for us the hiccups meant we had disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 64manager, Manager at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded Jan 26, 2020
Dear Morning25, Thank you for your review. I am very saddened to read that your stay left you disappointed. Unfortunately your usename does not allow for me to check which room you stayed in, if you could email me on lisaanderson@scotsmanhotel.co.uk I would appreciate the chance to restore your faith in The Scotsman Hotel. Kind regards Lisa Anderson Deputy General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VincefromUK wrote a review Nov 2020
Walsall, United Kingdom26 contributions67 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After Covid scuppered my initial plans for my wife's 'significant' birthday, I booked a trip up to Edinburgh on the Caledonian Sleeper train overnight from London Euston to Edinburgh. When we arrived in Edinburgh at 7.30am the weather was very windy and rainy. We have planned to drop our bags off at the Hotel as it's pretty much next door to the station, then spend a few hours before check in at Edinburgh Castle, for which we had booked tickets. However, prior to our arrival we were notified that due to the high winds, Edinburgh Castle was closed, leaving us facing several hours in a windy and rainy Edinburgh with no bars open and very few cafe's available, due to the Lockdown.
However, when we arrived in the hotel before 8am to drop off our bags, the gentleman on reception immediately decided to check whether our room was already prepared for us, which it was, thus we were able to get checked in straight away, giving us a very much appreciated chance to get warm and relaxed before going out to explore the city later.
The room itself spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished, and we also enjoyed a meal in the restaurant on the evening as well as breakfast the following morning. The food and service on both occasions was impeccable. I had also ordered some chocolates and a bottle of wine for my wife's birthday which were delivered to our room whilst we were out exploring.
In all, I cannot fault the hotel at all but what made our stay really special was the attentiveness, helpfulness and friendliness of all the staff we encountered. That is what makes the difference between a good hotel and a VERY GOOD hotel. I'd like to take this opportunity to thank all the staff on shift on 31/10 & 01/11 for helping to make my wife's birthday that extra bit special.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manager Edinburgh, Sales at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded Nov 21, 2020
Dear VincefromUK, Thank you for your kind review of the Scotsman hotel. I am delighted to see that we were able to help make your birthday celebrations trip for your wife and enjoyable and memorable one. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon. With warm wishes and kind regards Barry Makin General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ally B wrote a review May 2021
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom14 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked in for a birthday pamper night. The staff were just lovely from beginning to end - providing great info and a discount code pre booking. The public spaces in the hotel are beautiful. Everything seemed very covid safe - staff all wearing masks & supporting social distancing effectively in lobby/dining area.

We had a Director double room, booked direct with the hotel. I requested a room with a bath in advance of booking (only 4 rooms in the hotel have them, allocated on request).
We were provided with a bottle of Prosecco on ice in the room, along with two drams of single malt whisky. The bathroom was beautiful and spacious. A great bath & walk in rainfall shower. I don’t normally rate the provided toiletries in hotels but the Arran range in The Scotsman was surprisingly good (available to buy in Waverley Mall). The Bluetooth speakers in the room were relatively easy to use (others, less tech confident, may benefit from brief instructions being provided?) with a great sound quality. The flatscreen TV was a good quality (able to view hotel details, my booking/bill, YouTube, pay per view). The bed gave both of us the best night’s sleep I’ve had all year.

The breakfast (full Scottish) was delicious & great service, served in a lovely setting. My friend requested one with no meat and was given a vegetarian sausage without needing to ask.
We used the complimentary shoe shine service and the job done on our boots was great.

Overall a wonderful stay. I will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manager Edinburgh, Sales at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded May 11, 2021
Dear abitdoolally, Thank you for your review of the Scotsman Hotel. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay so much, that you loved your room and the team were able to look after you so well. I very much hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future. With warm wishes and kind regards, Barry Makin General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Duncan McDonald wrote a review Jan 2020
East Kilbride, United Kingdom137 contributions87 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is a magnificent old building in centre of Edinburgh, two minutes from Royal Mile and three minutes from Princes Street. Rooms have been modernised and are very comfortable and luxurious. Excellent shower and bathroom was well equipped but could do with having some conditioner provided. Bed was super and we had an excellent sleep. Grand Cafe on fourth floor serves as the restaurant and main bar for the hotel and has a good menu. While we were there the breakfast room (separate from the Grand Cafe) was being refurbished and we had breakfast in the Grand Cafe. As a result the normal menu was not available and there was a limited choice. I think guests should have been warned of this and offered a discount cost on breakfast as the choice was poor for a five star hotel. We also had dinner in the Grand Cafe and this was very good. The hotel also has a cinema on a lower floor which is a magnificent small cinema. Tickets have a large discount for guests and it is worth going just for the experience. Staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. There is no car park but across the road is the Waverley Station car park and hotel guests get a 20% discount in it which helps. I would stay in this hotel again but would hope they would improve the breakfast options.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We had a Directors room on 6th floor and it was spacious and had a great view of Edinburgh. Well...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 64manager, General Manager at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded Jan 16, 2020
Dear Duncan281, Thank you for your review of the Scotsman Hotel, i am very pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay. We have reviewed our breakfast offering with the team and made some adjustments following your feedback. We very much hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future. With warm wishes and kind regards Barry Makin General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stujo2020 wrote a review Mar 2020
Falkirk District, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can honestly say this was one of the best nights sleep I've had in a city and perhaps in my life! Could hear a pin drop in the room - there was no sound at all, never woke once which was remarkable given the location. Room service breakfast was delivered exactly at the time I requested, food was excellent quality and hot on arrival. I love this hotel and if the pool/spa opens again I might just move in! Was a real shame to find out this had closed since my last visit a few years ago - literally the only thing I didn't like! Room was fabulous, ensuite was exceptional, staff were great = book it!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 64manager, Manager at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded Mar 10, 2020
Dear stujo2020, Thank you for your glowing review! I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that the team were great throughout your stay. We all hope you will return again in the future. Kind regards Lisa Anderson Deputy General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claire W wrote a review Jul 2021
Darlington, United Kingdom362 contributions181 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at The Scotsman for one night on 30th June. We were arriving by train and the hotel is in a great location for the railway station, shops and restaurants. We were greeted warmly by reception staff and luckily our room was ready so we were able to check in straightaway. Our room (606) was on the sixth floor and was very spacious. The decor and furnishings are top quality with a neutral palette. Included within the room is a radio, iron and ironing board, mini bar with fresh milk, tea and coffee making facilities, safe and a large desk/dressing table. The bathroom had a walk in rainfall shower and complimentary toiletries. Also as it was my birthday, the hotel very kindly left us a ogle of Prosecco, handmade chocolates and a card in the room which was a very generous and thoughtful gift.

We had breakfast included in our room rate and were asked to pre-book a table due to the current pandemic situation. Restaurant staff greeted us warmly and we were shown to our table. We both ordered the full Scottish breakfast which was served piping hot and was delicious.

We had a fantastic stay at this hotel and will definitely return in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If arriving by train use the entrance on Market Street.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Manager Edinburgh, Sales at The Scotsman Hotel
Responded Jul 10, 2021
Dear ClaireR801, Thank you for your review of the Scotsman Hotel. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your birthday trip with us so much and hope to be able to welcome you back again for another enjoyable stay soon. With warm wishes and kind regards Barry Makin General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from TonyPaz
Ashford, United Kingdom138 contributions138 helpful votes
Hi Kay, not sure as all we had minibar fridge. I think the best thing to do would be to contact the hotel direct to be sure, Sorry I couldn't help further, thank you
Mark D asked a question May 2023
Hudson, Iowa9 contributions
When I arrive to check in, where do I unload my luggage?
Answer from Jo L
Ridgecrest, California132 contributions10 helpful votes
They’ll hold the luggage for you if you’re early
Answer from Jo L
Ridgecrest, California132 contributions10 helpful votes
I was on the bottom floor so I’m not sure about the other floors. I really didn’t see a lot of kids. I would just call them to ask your question. They speak English and are very accommodating
Answer from Forfarcouple
Forfar14 contributions5 helpful votes
Sorrry, I don’t know
Mark - Bobbi H wrote a tip May 19
Nashua, New Hampshire49 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try dinner at the hotel restaurant"
Read full review
186338John wrote a tip Apr 2024
London, United Kingdom19 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Eat elsewhere..."
Read full review
A S wrote a tip Apr 2024
New York City, New York64 contributions44 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make use of the concierge - excellent!"
Read full review
CatataD wrote a tip Mar 2024
Manchester, United Kingdom9 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a lift to the left of the stairs from the railway side entrance!"
Read full review
Corey wrote a tip Mar 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of public transport if you don’t want to walk everywhere as it is hilly."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
C$588 - C$877 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the scotsman hotel edinburgh, scotsman hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
82
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Scotsman Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Scotsman Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Scotsman Hotel?
Nearby attractions include National Museum of Scotland (0.4 km), The Real Mary King's Close (0.2 km), and Edinburgh Old Town (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Scotsman Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at The Scotsman Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Scotsman Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Scotsman Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Scotsman Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, Solti, and Howies Waterloo Place.
Is The Scotsman Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Scotsman Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Scotsman Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Real Mary King's Close (0.2 km), Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.0 km), and Gladstone's Land (0.4 km).
Is The Scotsman Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Edinburgh HotelsEdinburgh Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in EdinburghHotels near The Scotsman Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars