We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,003 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,693: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

Good stuff first: Great location and outlook, our room looked out onto Princes street. Nice friendly staff at check-in. Now the not so good: Bed comfy but pillows all hard & flat. Bathroom door knob came off in my hand when trying to exit (bit scary). Toilet seat loose and flushes long & noisily. Paint peeling around tub. Breakfast included... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn A
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will share your comments with our team, I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns... More 

Tynemouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Excellent location right in the heart of Edinburgh. No complaints with the hotel and service whatsoever. Breakfast was excellent for a hotel, best I've had. Only improvement would be to update the rooms as they are starting to show their age. Nothing wrong with them though.

Helpful?
Thank TynemouthSamandSam
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel and taking the time to review us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards, James Fraser General Manager More 

Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2016

The hotel was only 5 minutes walk from Edinburgh Waverly Station. The customer service on arrival was fantastic ; and i managed to get the room at an incredibly low rate. The Inclusive cooked breakfast was fabulous too. The hotel is right in the center and there are many bus routes that go from either outside the hotel or from... More 

Helpful?
Thank munro685
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you sincerely for this wonderful five star review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager More 

Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Having recieved a voucher from my friend as a birthday gift for a full-board overnight stay here, I was so looking forward to a night away. Due to Virgin Experience's poor marketing, it was not made clear on their voucher that there are in fact two hotels in Edinburgh bearing the 'Edinburgh City' name. Having first spent £15 on a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gillsa66
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will share your comments with our team, I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns... More 

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Don't book here whatever you do. Online the place looked great, just what we needed. However, they tried to overcharge us for the whole stay. As well that they tried to add on as many charges as possible to the room. The staff were also very very rude! I am too angry to go into much more detail as they... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte C
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I was very disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2016

My wife and I stayed two nights. The view from our room looking out at the old city and The hotel is convenient (walking distance) to shopping and good restaurants. The room was tiny. No place to open your bags except on the bed. Bar and restaurant in the hotel were very nice with vies of the city.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pops1948
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We really appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. We certainly hope to look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Edinburgh. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager More 

Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

The whole hotel is need of an upgrade with all public areas looking tired and dated. Our room was hot and noisy due to the fans on an adjoining building. The room was quite small and nothing like the ones on the website. It was also in need of a revamp. However, breakfast was good with a choice of fresh... More 

Helpful?
Thank GS157
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I was very disappointed to read that your room did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2016

was staying at the Edinburgh City Mercure Hotel, 53 Princes street for one night the 30/04. As I am french, I will try to be as clear as possible on my email. Please forgive me if not clear enough. Check in at 22.30 Room 452 This room is very small, can't even walk around the bed Not clean, carpet tired... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank LondonHi
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Whilst we accept that there was a mark on your bed linen we cannot agree with the assumption you have made, as this would mean that the bed linen had not been changed and the laundry would have seriously failed in their duty. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2016

I stayed here for just one night on business and chose the hotel for its location and the fact that the tram stop (to get to the office) was right outside. When I booked I didn't realise however that the view would be so good. I was given a castle view room on the 6th floor from which the view... More 

Helpful?
Thank cherylhinton
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a great review and we thank you for it. We are pleased that you enjoyed our fantastic location. We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager More 

Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night and appreciated the great location. However, I would not choose this hotel again as the rooms and some public areas were both shabby and very, very dated. It is in dire need of a refurb and I would rate it as a far lower standard of accommodation than the budget hotels like Travelodge etc. The restaurant... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank HCR16
James F, General Manager at Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I was very disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Kind regards, James Fraser General Manager More 

613 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (595)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
View from Room (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (140)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (233)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#100 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,820 reviews
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
416 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Royal British Hotel
Royal British Hotel
#120 of 150 in Edinburgh
873 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#37 of 150 in Edinburgh
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Princes Street and Gardens

Neighbourhood Profile
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street is only half one, since buildings only line one side. But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views are from Princes Street as a result. From here you look onto expansive and decorative public gardens beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look the other way, as they’re concerned with chain store shopping or catching the tram or a train at main train station Waverley. But it’s not all utility here; the Scottish National Gallery rewards purposeless wandering, and December’s huge winter market in the gardens begins a season of revelry which ends with Hogmanay, Britain’s largest New Year’s street party.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Downtown Hotel built above 2 well-known stores (Jenners & Marks & Spencer) in the heart of the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel

Address: Princes Street, Edinburgh EH2 2DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Price Range: $102 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Edinburgh
Ramada Hotel Mount Royal
Ramada Edinburgh
Edinburgh Ramada
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a refurbished room if available.”
 of 5 bubbles Mummyx297, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Castle view room”
 of 5 bubbles jillybabz1, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have less street noise. First-time visitors to Edinburgh, request a Princes St view.”
  • Christmas Market on Princes St Gardens
  • View over Christmas market with Edinburgh Castle in background
  • Scott Monument with
  • Ferris wheel by night
 of 5 bubbles clarew982, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at front of hotel have good views floor 6 have a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles heatherl513, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a castle view, may have to pay more but worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Beeper4, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay