We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Mile Backpackers

Save
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (3)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good40%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“sister hostel”(8 reviews)
“cozy hostel”(6 reviews)
“gotham city”(5 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Pool
Restaurant
Rooftop Bar
Fitness centre
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
55
51
15
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
55
51
15
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hostelcozy hostelgotham cityroyal milefemale bathroombudget hostelcommon roomgreat locationfree tea and coffeeclean bedlaundry servicebring earplugsedinburgh castlebunk bedsenjoyed my stayearly hourstrain station
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is the key word for this review. Conveniently located in the middle of the Royal Mile, just 10min walk from the castle and Waverly Train Station; there's also a public car park around the corner. Clean and tidy, with a functioning self-catering kitchen. Breakfast...More

Thank Dude_76125
Response from MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile BackpackersResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, thanks for the great review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry about that stairs - it's hard to avoid them anywhere in Edinburgh. We're kind of lucky only to be on the first floor and not any higher. We...More

Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile

This is one of the smaller hostels I have stayed at. The location is a bit confusing to find at first but trust Google maps and look for the sign that’s posted just outside. You walk up the stairs on the left and there you’ll...More

Thank Cat N
Response from Birgit N, Manager at Royal Mile BackpackersResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Cat, sorry for the late reply. Thanks you so much for the lovely review - we're glad you had a good time here with us at the Royal Mile Backpackers and hope to have you here again some time! Btw - we talked to...More

Reviewed April 16, 2018 via mobile

My first time in a hostel and it was really good! I paid £13 for 1 night and then £2 for a breakfast. Staff helpful and friendly. Definitely good value for money. I'm coming back in one week after my road trip 😊

Thank Delphine B
Response from Birgit N, Manager at Royal Mile BackpackersResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Delphine, so sorry for the late reply! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with. thanks for sahring and please come back some time.

Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

I really enjoy this hostel, it’s located in the royal mile so is near everything! The kitchen has everything to cook and the rooms were ok. The bathrooms are clean properly - definitely I would stay again or in any of the other two from...More

Thank Florcita88
Response from Birgit N, Manager at Royal Mile BackpackersResponded March 26, 2018

Hi there, thanks so much for the lovely review and great rating. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you here again some day!

Reviewed February 28, 2018

Stayed there for 2 nights. Very friendly staff, the room was big and spacious. The bathrooms clean. The location is perfect, right on the royal mile, with the castle in 10 min walk, shops and pubs close by. The music from the tavern is noticeable,...More

Thank Mary K
Response from MacBackpackers, Manager at Royal Mile BackpackersResponded March 8, 2018

Hi there, great to hear you enjoyed your time with us - thanks for the fantastic review! Hope to see you here again some time!

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Edinburgh
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Details
Price range
US$13 - US$72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
US$13 - US$72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (3)
Nearby
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
...More
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Royal Mile Backpackers staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"If you enjoy sleeping in a quiet room, ask for one which is not on the street. The windows are old and High..."
Read review
"There is no lift so be prepared to take the stairs. If that is a concern consider requesting a lower floor."
Read review
"No nos dejaron elegir habitacion"
Read review
"excellent location, tidy, clean, power points, lockers, safe"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing