We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Merith House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Merith House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Merith House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 210: English reviews
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Although the Merith House Hotel is a simple hotel it offers just what you need. With a few improvements needed, mainly on the showering facilities the Hotel Manager was more then helpful. He was constantly working and was always there to help the needs of residents. Breakfast was simple but free so no complaints there at all. There's a bus...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GeorgiaStack123
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

There wasn't much, but that's hardly the hotel's fault! Stayed here over the past weekend as I was visiting the Edinburgh Fringe for the first ever time. I really don't understand some of the reviews on here. A very clean, comfy budget hotel situated within minutes of bus stops and Leith Town Centre. Staff were all incredibly friendly. Continental Style...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Barry W
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Booked here as it was the cheapest option. Room was clean and warm. On a main bus route. Staff were friendly and answered our queries, the older lady doing breakfast was nice she found us hot chocolate and marmite. Room was a little bit small for a double but as stated it was clean. Charges for cards even debit cards...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank frankieboy1988
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

My wife, step daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights while in Edinburgh, we where given the ensuite family room on the top floor, comprising of a double bed, 2 singles and a bunk bed, this was a nice big room, with a kettle and plenty of tea and coffee, and a small tv. The continental breakfast was OK....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WHRBERT
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016

My self and my boy friend are a gay couple from aberdeen we went down to edinburgh and stayed in the merith house hotel well what can we say oh yes never again we were in the annex building the room was so small you could not swing a cat around the room was cold damp no tea spoons for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris Ross C
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Our Heating is on a timer system and some staff member can not over ride this. The heating goes off at 10pm so the heating was on ....maybe your radiator was on a low setting? The Shared Bathrooms are cleaned Daily and also checked 3 times a day, if you felt they were in need...

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

My parents and I stayed at this hotel for the first leg of our holiday in Scotland. The first thing we noticed was how unfriendly the staff were. It was as if it was a burden that we were there. The breakfast menu was very basic also. The next day after returning to the hotel we discovered that none of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you felt the Staff were unfriendly when you arrived, the staff are approachable if you wish to chat or need information. The housekeepers are in every day and if the rooms need serviced they are serviced with clean towels ect. Did you have the Do Not Disturb up on the door hence why the room was not serviced?...

Reviewed 22 July 2016

room was in basement annex tho booked 3 months in advance. windows sealed shut with view under stairs. forced one open to discover it had bars . room small but adequate ,bed comfortable ,linen clean . bathroom shared but ok . clean enough . there were two young men in a cell which they had booked three months previously ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 128jant
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Arrived with small child & large, heavy bags. Payment demanded immediately, plus 5% charge for card. Was then told my room wasn't available so would be put in another room for 1st night before being moved. Complained about inconvenience of this, but was treated rudely before being shown to room that had originally been booked. Bed was broken. No bedside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djanegotch
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you check i9n didn't go to plan Yes the room you booked was not ready ...so we offered you a FREE UPGRADE. ( due to the painting you mention, the room door was still wet ) You refused the upgrade as you wanted the room you booked. You booked a Double Room Only with a Shared Bathroom...No Breakfast...

Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewed 19 July 2016

The Merith House Hotel is in Leith, a bit away from the city center. The room was basic, and the staff had been friendly to me; I arrived too early to check in so I just left my suitcase with them, grabbed the key and returned late at night. Everything worked out well. I didn't have breakfast, because I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank revrazna
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

OK it was cheap. I don't mean the price. Staff were irritated as we'd dragged them away from TV we did of course apologize I was surprised by how uneven the floor was and that building control allows doors to open directly onto stairs yes really. Yes so it was like furniture and bedding a charity shop wouldn't want ,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alan a
Abbottabad, Manager at Merith House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Our staff are available until 9pm then it is their free time but are always on hand to answer questions. I'm a bit confused as to why you was in the Staff quarters??? The staffs quarters are more than suitable for them, they have no complaints. As for a staff member say about Backpackers no...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Twenty
#146 of 150 in Edinburgh
504 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#141 of 150 in Edinburgh
248 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
733 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Merith House Hotel is a family run centrally located guest house in the City of Edinburgh. Centrally located on a main bus route, No. 25, the Merith is within easy access of all Edinburgh's main attractions and is approx a 10 min bus ride to/from the city centre (1.5km). The Merith Hotel has 14 en-suite rooms, all with LCD TV offering over 50 channels, tea/coffee making facilities, free WI-FI and rooms are maintained daily. Front facing rooms have lovely views of the Leith Links Park famous for being the location of where the first rules of golf were drawn up, playing the game over 5 holes. Free on street parking and complimentary sit down continental breakfast. A Full Scottish Breakfast is Available upon request for an extra charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Merith House Hotel

Address: 2-3 Hermitage Place, Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $60 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merith House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Merith House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merith Hotel Edinburgh
Merith House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Merith House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front has view over a Park but not noisey”
 of 5 bubbles Jonotter, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book a different hotel.”
  • The 'Harry Potter' experience.
 of 5 bubbles H6580SErichardh, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Two floors only accessible by stairs, so something to consider if you have mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles barryw908, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“D o not book a room in the annex building.”
 of 5 bubbles chrisrossc, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles djanegotch, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5