We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Balmoral Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Balmoral Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,398 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Balmoral Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,121: English reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 16 May 2015

Excellent location if travelling via train, as the hotel is right next to it. Checking was just ok, we were not shown to our room. Not really a complaint, but for a 5 star hotel it seems that should be the norm. Getting to rooms can a bit trick as the signage isn't that great. Had the double classic room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arkom
BalmoralEdinburgh, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at The Balmoral. I am delighted to read that you found our central location convenient as well as finding my colleagues at conceirge both friendly and helpful. However, I am very sorry to read that you left feeling slightly underwhelmed with certain aspects of you stay. I...

Reviewed 15 May 2015 via mobile

I was there in may 2015. It is a rather expensive hotel, so your expectations are high. There is not much I liked. 1. there was a confusion on their website because after having booked the room they ask you whether you want to pay immediately (cheaper option) or not. I asked to pay immediately, but it never registered. At...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank geoblis
BalmoralEdinburgh, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Balmoral. I am very sorry and concerned to read that you left feeling underwhelmed and disappointed with your experience. I would be pleased to discuss your experience further and can be contacted at your earliest convenience on the number below. Yours Sincerely Karen Baxter Rooms Division Manager...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 14 May 2015

My boyfriend lives in Dundee so I came ti visit him for a week. We decided to take a quick get-away trip to Edinburgh for our 2 year anniversary. After reading the reviews on here for this hotel we quickly made our decision to stay here, and we were not disappointed. It was so easy to get to, just around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Casey C
BalmoralEdinburgh, General Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit celebratory to The Balmoral. I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable anniversary stay and were able to enjoy the lovely views of Edinburgh from your room. Your feedback regarding the friendly service you received from my colleagues is much appreciated. We hope to have...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2015

Always stay in Edinburgh on business Easter time. Third visit to a Michelin Star Restaurant. It looked lovely and we wanted a cocktail before the meal in the bar. The bar manager really wanted us to sit at our dining table instead of in the bar but we perseverd. The menue was brought to us in double quick time and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DinahS206
BalmoralEdinburgh, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review following your visit to Number One. I am delighted to read that you found the food to be excellent however I am very sorry and concerned to read that you left feeling underwhelmed with the evening. I would be most grateful if you could contact me on the number below at your earliest...

Greenock, Scotland
Reviewed 13 May 2015

I recently attended a wedding reception in the Balmoral and stayed there overnight. The welcome at the front desk was friendly and efficient. My room was large, bright, well furnished and comfortable; the bathroom was well designed and well stocked with good toiletries. The wedding meal was excellent and well served, leaving guests satisfied and impressed; bar staff coped well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MonsDenis
Saltburn-by-the-sea
Reviewed 12 May 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
BalmoralEdinburgh, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Yukon, Oklahoma
Reviewed 12 May 2015

An amazing hotel perfect location to visit Edinburgh, its next to the train station and NO you don’t hear the trains at all from the Hotel. Its breakfast was so awesome it’s hard for me to put in words. WOW

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CurtDye
Reviewed 12 May 2015

We spent one night at the Balmoral recently and strongly recommend it. We were travelling with our 3 year old and 10 week old and were really impressed at how easy the hotel staff made it for us. The kids 'passport' stamps, surprise balmoral teddy bears, baby bath and steriliser (without me asking for them), etc. - they have really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2015

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rd20159
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 10 May 2015

I have always wanted to stay in this hotel, and did have high expectations of my stay. From the moment I reached the hotel with my car the concierge team were on hand and throughout our stay assisted with all our needs, excellent team. I was slightly disappointed when we checked in at around 5:30pm and the room was still...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CATRINANNEHUGHES
BalmoralEdinburgh, Manager at The Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your impressions following your recent stay at The Balmoral. I am pleased to read that you were impressed with your welcome from our conceirge team as well as the attentive service you received from my colleague in Hadrian’s Brasserie. I am very sorry to read about the negative aspects of your stay. We appreciate...

1,561 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (961)
Viewed
View from Room (75)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (187)
Viewed
Room/Suite (207)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (363)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (561)
Viewed
Amenities (53)
Viewed
Braemar Grand Suite (72)
Viewed
Pool (30)
Viewed
Dining (148)
Viewed
Spey Deluxe Suite (80)
Viewed
Superior Deluxe Room (62)
Viewed
The Hotel (116)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,709 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
641 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
733 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,536 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Princes Street and Gardens

Neighbourhood Profile
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street is only half one, since buildings only line one side. But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views are from Princes Street as a result. From here you look onto expansive and decorative public gardens beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look the other way, as they’re concerned with chain store shopping or catching the tram or a train at main train station Waverley. But it’s not all utility here; the Scottish National Gallery rewards purposeless wandering, and December’s huge winter market in the gardens begins a season of revelry which ends with Hogmanay, Britain’s largest New Year’s street party.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Number One at The Balmoral
Number One at The Balmoral
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
Palm Court at The Balmoral
Palm Court at The Balmoral
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
The Balmoral Bar
The Balmoral Bar
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Price Range: $274 - $851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Balmoral Hotel staff and other travellers.
35 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (35)

Questions? Get answers from The Balmoral Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take own towels theirs are thread bare”
 of 5 bubbles Ourmaude, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms on the west side have a great view of Edinburgh Castle”
 of 5 bubbles DaViking2014, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Such a choice of rooms - small to large all with interesting views of the City”
 of 5 bubbles jeffers223, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pay more and get an upgrade for a better view of Princes St”
 of 5 bubbles md2020, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are better value and better appointed hotels in Edinburgh. Go to them.”
 of 5 bubbles Hilary74, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay