We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Halcyon Hotel

Booking.comUS$95*
View Deal
#126 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$106*
US$95*
US$106*
US$106*
US$95*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Halcyon Hotel
Halcyon Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 177: English reviews
Start your review of Halcyon Hotel
 Click to rate
Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 1 week ago

Edinburgh was a real wonder from start to finish. Halcyon house was absoulely part of the charm. To get there took a simple tram ride that awed us with views of the city. The hotel is located at the base of Carlton hill, wich is one the city's hot spots, very worth the climb for the views and the monuments...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luz M
Management response:

Thanks for a lovely review Luz... Glad we served all your needs and you had a great visit to Edinburgh. with kind regards Patricia and Matthew

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I chose this hotel due to its proximity to the train station and the Playhouse as I was only in Edinburgh overnight, It's quite expensive at £119 a night and there isn't even a hairdryer in the room (although they did provide one on asking) but there is no reception as such, you have to look around for a member...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynnhurley
Management response:

Hi Lynn Glad you loved the building - its very old and Georgian. Great location and breakfast. Edinburgh is expensive at the weekends - however many charge for extras whilst our big breakfast is included in the price. I have noted everything you mentioned and I am going to take a look at the room now to double check everything....

Scotland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lots of positives and we will definitely use again. Very central to Princess Street, St James' Centre and as claimed only five minutes from Playhouse Theatre. The hotel does not claim to be modern and decor is a little tired but very clean. Our room was fine with a very small bathroom. There is not a lift and the stairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GerryMotherwell
Management response:

Thanks for your great review Gerry. We aim to please ! With kind regards Patricia and Matthew

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed four nights in room 8 on the second floor ( without elevator). We rather enjoyed the simple style although the beds were a bit too hard. We got good service and nice English breakfast served between 8-9 am, which was a good excuse for us to get our teenager sons out of bed. We had one tiny double...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susanne G
Management response:

Thank Susanne for your lovely review. Glad you had a great stay and we look forward to seeing you all back soon. with kind regards Patricia and Matthew

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Just come back from a lovely few days in Edinburgh , the Halcyon was in a perfect location , greeted with a lovely warm welcome , even after arriving later than expected. The breakfast was amazing and plentiful. Will definitely come back again, made my birthday even more enjoyable. We stayed in room 7. Please all see for yourselves and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliemartyn2016
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Girlie get together for a show at the Playhouse! Couldn't ask for a better location! Unfortunately we didn't make breakfast, but as I have before I know it is plentiful, hot and hosts are very attentive! We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank libbyp76
Management response:

Thanks Libby for your nice review. Glad you had fun and sorry you missed breakfast! Haste ye back Patricia and Matthew

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Lovely street, lovely building,loveky staff but my room was not nice at all. Very claustrophobic as it had no proper window just a very high skylight velux. No TV or hairdryer in room and I couldn't find anyone to request latter at around 8.00 pm. Breakfast was good and varied but I wouldn't return or recommend to friends. My room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abzquine_13
Management response:

Hi Abzquine Thanks for your response. Sorry about that particular room, its the only one with a velux window. We will have a look a the website and try and upload better images. With kind regards Patricia and Matthew

Airdrie, Scotland
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at The Halcyon last night. It was close to The Playhouse Theatre where we were seeing a show. It was fine for a one night stay. We were in room one which is a family room. My mum is disabled and this room was on the ground floor. Nice view onto back garden. The room was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
Management response:

Thanks for your review - glad you had a great time with Patricia and Matthew

Neuchatel, Switzerland
Reviewed 23 November 2016

the hotel is ok for a few nights, but not for people who normally go to normal hotels. this one is a mix of B&B and hotel. it is quite old with dirty carpet, water from shower is not existing - impossible to wash long hairs :-). The service is not there, they would ask you if you want the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yasmina R
Cartersville, Georgia
Reviewed 17 October 2016

we were booked for one night only by our travel agent, just needed a place to sleep before traveling on. We arrived late and another guest let us in the front door. However at that point there was no reception desk or phone and the doors were closed. We puzzled over this for a while and when another family came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cd m

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Other (25)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (106)
Viewed
Family Room (8)
Viewed
Five Person Family Room (12)
Viewed
Four Person Family Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Single Room (6)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)
Viewed
Three Person Family Room (10)
Viewed
Triple Room (12)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#124 of 147 in Edinburgh
219 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#130 of 147 in Edinburgh
263 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#72 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 147 in Edinburgh
944 reviews
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#109 of 147 in Edinburgh
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Halcyon Hotel

Address: 8 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: $144 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Halcyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Halcyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Halcyon Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
Preston, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Shanghai Region, China

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Halcyon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The place has narrow stairs and no elevators. So if you're not traveling light make sure you get a room in the lower levels.”
632luzm, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Say no to room 14.”
Abzquine_13, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the single room on the ground floor if you like private facilities”
Mactavish58, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No elevator, so if you are not into climbing stairs, stay on the first or second level.”
P1313, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Back facing rooms are quiet”
GillyPNorthEastCoast, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$95* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$106
TripAdvisorUS$95
Expedia.comUS$106
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates