We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

B+B Edinburgh

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
B+B Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

591 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 480: English reviews
Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just came back from a 4 days trip to Edinburgh. I was looking for an authentic and comfortable place to stay to discover the city, and I don't regret my choice of booking this hotel. Location: It is located on a quiet street right next to the centre, so everything is pretty much walking distance, and yet you feel like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frederica84
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a former townhouse that has been converted into a boutique hotel.The building has been modernised without spoiling the fantastic original features of which it has many. It is in a perfect part of town and is in within a short 10 minute walk to the city centre and train station. The staff could not have been more pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie M
Charlotte
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely boutique hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Quaint old mansion. Our room was european small but our bathroom was quite spacious. Breakfasts were yummy. Location was great, only about a 15 minute walk to New/Old Town. We would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberli Z
Barbara S, Duty Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your very kind and positive review, I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience here with us in Edinburgh. Looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon. Kind regards, Daniel

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just back from a lovely weekend away in Edinburgh which 4 of us stayed in this b+b, we arrived at 2pm which was early but we were allowed into our rooms. Rooms were great size & very modern which we all loved . Staff very friendly & helpful also a great service given Def 10 out 10 for this b+b,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 934michelle1974
Barbara S, Duty Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, We're delighted to read that you had a great experience with us and your review is very much appreciated. I will take great pleasure in sharing your generous comments with the team. I hope you enjoyed Mamma Mia and hopefully we will welcome you back to stay again sometime soon. Kind regards, Daniel

London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Liked this very much, great decor and ambience, they have done a good conversion of the building. Nice part of town with good pubs and restaurants nearby and not far to centre. My one complaint was that having ordered the cooked vegetarian breakfast it featured haggis! (not rocket science to presume that this would be an unwelcome addition to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank silvershorts
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here on the 30th December 2016 and as this is a popular time I appreciate prices would be raised a little. We ended up paying £140 for a double room. Since checking it is now around £70. Despite this price the standard was very poor. The bathroom was not clean with pink mould in the bath, the fittings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Sarah R, First of all I would like to sincerely apologise for the unsatisfactory experience you felt you had when staying with us, on the 30th December 2016. I confirm that I was not there on your check out day, and I am sorry that no further action was taken at the time, apart from apologising. The colleague who...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately we could only stay one of our two nights booked due to my partner being ill. We also had an issue with a drainage smell in our room but we were moved to another room and I could see they were working on the issue all of the next day so that was good. However, just a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
Barbara S, Duty Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Matthew, Thank you for your very kind and positive review, I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience here with us in Edinburgh. Yes the parking in this area isn't the best, but as you found there are a few long stay parking options 10-15 minutes by foot. I will definitely contact our web developer to...

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly this was my first visit to Edinburgh and what a fabulous city it is, really enjoyed my time there. The hotel is will situated a 10 minute from Princes Street in a beautiful Grade 2 listed building. Parking is at a premium and with a cost of £3 per hour not cheap to say the least, and with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary H
Barbara S, Duty Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Gary, Thank you for your kind and positive review, I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience here with us in Edinburgh. We are lucky to be in such a central but quiet part of town, making it easy for exploring everything that Edinburgh has to offer. Yes the parking in this area isn't the best,...

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've stayed in one of the family rooms in the B+B Edinburg. The room had a breathtaking view from the huge glass windows and the atmosphere of the place totally transported us to another era! The building is located in a really good area, 20 minute walk from the fun streets like George street and we really enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nurbanu A
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Nurbanu, Thank you for your very kind and positive review, I am delighted to read that you had a enjoyable experience here with us in Edinburgh. We are very lucky to have some amazing views that look out over the Dean Village to the rear of the building and views of the Castle and the city skyline from the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and the staff were so helpful and accommodating. On the day we arrived and the day we left, the staff kindly looked after our luggage for us while we were not checked into our room. Breakfast was delicious and there was so much food! We were upgraded to the huge family accessible room which was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicks18
Barbara S, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are delighted to read that you had a great experience with us and your review is very much appreciated. I will take great pleasure in sharing your generous comments with the team. Looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again sometime soon. Kind regards, Barbara

491 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (283)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (117)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (192)
Viewed
Accessible Room (18)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Family Room (12)
Viewed
Family Suite (17)
Viewed
Petite Double Room (10)
Viewed
Petite Room (18)
Viewed
Petite Room with City View (12)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Standard Attic Room (9)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (13)
Viewed
Standard Room (11)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,728 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
772 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,469 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
951 reviews
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Stockbridge & Dean Village

Neighbourhood Profile
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Just downhill of New Town and attractively straddling a river near the elegant Royal Botanic Garden, it’s small wonder that Stockbridge became one of the city’s first hip neighbourhoods. It’s now one of Edinburgh’s most desirable, though many bohemian touches have fallen away as its residents have matured and the area has gentrified. Some second-hand shops cling on, but mostly residents display refined tastes in basement bistros, gastropubs, coffee and antique shops, boutiques and delis and at the Sunday farmers' market. A pleasant ten-minute walk away, along a leafy riverside path beside the gurgling Water of Leith, lies Dean Village. This sleepy neighborhood of medieval half-timbered houses still retains much of the village feel it had when watermills plied their trade here. Beyond, the wooded riverside path feels even more remote as it climbs to the sculpture gardens of the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Price Range: $104 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from B+B Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
6 months ago
Joplin, Missouri
7 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from B+B Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think the 3rd floor bedrooms are bigger!”
 of 5 bubbles Frederica84, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“As it is a quiet location all rooms are excellent .”
 of 5 bubbles ronniem140, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors for better light”
 of 5 bubbles 173matthewm, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were in Room 10 on the 3rd floor, views were amazing”
 of 5 bubbles louised418, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“18 people in our party so saw lots of rooms and no one had complaints. Go higher floor for best view of Edinburgh castle on the hill.”
 of 5 bubbles hjj892, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay