We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (308)
Room & Suite (249)
Dining (88)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located close to the Playhouse Theatre and the city’s fashionable shopping district, The Place is perfect for a relaxing city break in Edinburgh, a romantic weekend or an escape from the stresses of corporate life.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
163Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
80Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Neighbourhood
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
1,192Reviews
566Photos
20Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 413
  • 421
  • 223
  • 91
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed here in 2017 and enjoyed it so much we returned for a second stay. Fantastic location, easy to access markets, shops and George street. Not far to walk from Waverley train station. Friendly staff and great value rooms although small exactly what we want for a quick break
Read more
Response from Daniel S, Front Office Manager at The Place
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Georgina, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review of our property. I'm pleased to hear you decided to stay with us again after last years visit and hope you had an enjoyable time in Edinburgh. I'm sorry to hear about the noise in your room and about the issue with your wine. Please contact me on frontoffice@placehotels.co.uk if you are staying with us again and we would be happy to offer a bottle of wine with your stay as way of an apology. We hope to have you stay with us again soon. Kind Regards, Daniel
Read more
Perfect location right in the centre of Edinburgh. Very friendly staff. Nice breakfast. Did not have a good night sleep, room was noisy and neighbours made a lot of racket through the night. Room a bit small with no view.
Read more
Response from Daniel S, Front Office Manager at The Place
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Christian, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's great to receive this feedback on your stay and I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, staff and breakfast. I'm disappointed to read that you didn't have a good nights sleep due to the noise of some other guests. We have a range of room types and most of our double, superior and suites have beautiful views across fife. Thank you gain for leaving this feedback, we hope to have you stay again soon! Kind regards, Daniel
Read more
We stayed there last weekend for three nights. It was booked in February. We were attending a family wedding. The price of the suites seemed reasonable but there is not much information on the website. I spent ages deciding which one to choose. It was overlooking the forth. When
Read more
Response from Daniel S, Front Office Manager at The Place
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Linda, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I hope you had an nice time in Edinburgh and enjoyed the family wedding. I'm sorry to hear that you were not given the room you expected on arrival, however, although we take requests when booking our suites these are subject to availability and we did not receive any requests with this reservation. Please accept my apologies that this was not better explained to you at the time and that this left you feeling angry. It's disappointing to read you were not fully satisfied with your dining experience. Our restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and we have one menu for each service period. We aim to provide a wide range of fresh breakfast options to cater for the majority of people and after recent guest feedback we now serve bacon and pork sausages. We hope to have you return to stay with us again and if you contact me directly on frontoffice@placehotels.co.uk I would be happy to oversee your reservation to ensure you have an enjoyable stay with us! Kindest Regards, Daniel
Read more
My husband and I stayed in this hotel last weekend, it was a birthday gift from our daughter. First impressions were good the hotel was clean and attractive decor the desk staff were courteous and efficient. We were assigned a room on the top floor and the second last room at
Read more
Response from Daniel S, Front Office Manager at The Place
Responded Dec. 16, 2018
Dear solsticedublin, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I hope that you had a wonderful time in Edinburgh to celebrate your birthday. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to be clean and attractive. I am dissapointed to hear of the issues with the heating and sorry that the room move was not handled better. As you correctly state we don't have a lift at the property and we appreciate this can be an issue for some people so staff should always be assisting guest with luggage where necessary, I am sorry this does not appear to have happened during your stay. I would like to assure you we did not know of any heating issues prior to checking you in did our utmost to resolve this as quick as possible. Thank you again for leaving this feedback to aid us in improving our guests experience. Kindest Regards, Daniel
Read more
Stayed here for 2 nights. Loved that it was so much nicer than a premier inn. Room was small but clean and well equipped. Nice bathroom and tv. Only improvement would be the bed was a bit hard and you can hear the noise from the corridor. I ate and drank in the bar, good
Read more
Response from Daniel S, Front Office Manager at The Place
Responded Dec. 16, 2018
Dear KJ0700, Thanks for taking the time to leave this review, it's great to hear about your stay with us. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your room and found it to be clean and well equipped. Thank you for letting us know know about the bed, we generally receive positive feedback on our beds but will look into this issue. We hope to have you stay with us again soon! Kindest Regards, Daniel
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Place
The Grand & Spacious Queen Room at The Place
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Place
The Grand & Spacious Queen Room at The Place
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Place
The Standard Double Room at The Place
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe Place
The Grand & Spacious Queen Room at The Place
The roof window.
PreviousNext
12345650
How far to the Royal Mile?
Hi there, The royal mile is roughly a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Kind Regards, Daniel
0 votes
Show all answers
I would say 10 minutes maximum even if you are a slow walker
0 votes
Hi. The tram goes directly from the airport to right outside the hotel. York place is the final stop so you can't miss the stop.
2 votes
Show all answers
What time is breakfast served till??
Hi Julie B, Breakfast is served from 7.30 to 10.30 from Monday to Friday and between 8.00-11.00 Saturday and Sunday. Kind Regards, Will Harrington Front of House Manager
1 vote
Show all answers
hi do the rooms have hairdryers in them
Hi Amanda M, Yes all rooms come with hairdryers. Kind regards, Will Harrington Front of House Manager
0 votes
PreviousNext
1234
"Make sure you get a room at the back for the views and lack of noise."
"As near to the bottom as possible but bear in mind that there are a couple of filghts of stairs to the downstairs bedrooms as well."
"Ground floor if you don’t like a lot of stairs"
"Anything but the third floor."
"try to avoid the underground level rooms."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$61 - US$222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghBroughton & Calton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
47
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing