Holyrood Aparthotel

Holyrood Aparthotel

Traveller (493)
Room & Suite (483)
Holyrood Aparthotel
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#88 of 162 hotels in Edinburgh
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Experience the essence of Edinburgh at the Holyrood Aparthotel, nestled in the city's heart. Our spacious, modern serviced apartments cater to both short and extended stays, perfect for business and leisure travellers. From cosy studios to accommodating double twin apartments for up to five guests, we ensure comfort for all. Designed with contemporary flair, our apartments feature light-filled, uncluttered living spaces, setting the stage for your stay. Whether it's a business trip or a weekend getaway, our fully equipped kitchens, inviting dining areas, and comprehensive amenities promise a seamless experience. Conveniently located in Edinburgh's Old Town, just steps from the Royal Mile, Holyrood Aparthotel offers easy access to Waverley Train Station and iconic attractions like Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace. Explore the city's charm, from the historic landmarks to the vibrant Royal Mile with its array of shops, cafes, restaurants, and bars.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Highchairs available
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to VisitScotland standards.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:Enjoy a 20% Discount When You Book Direct

Location

1 Nether Bakehouse Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE Scotland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Turnhouse Airport
11.4 km
See all flights
Dundee Airport
56.8 km
See all flights
1,371Review33Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 635
  • 512
  • 131
  • 42
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
jeannieWidnes wrote a review Sep 2023
widnes2 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Such a lovely comfy Apartment everything you need is there for you as well as tea coffee and milk for a well deserved cuppa after our long journey. It’s central for all the attractions and the the town centre. We will definitely book again x
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Holyrood Aparthotel
Responded Oct 4, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always value our guests’ feedback, as we are continually looking to improve the experiences we can provide. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emj12 wrote a review Feb 2020
Somerset, United Kingdom146 contributions87 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 3 nights. We were in room 104 which was comfortable but seemed to have a waste pipe behind the wall so heard lots of flushing. Our heating unit was quite squeaky at times too.

Otherwise it was well equipped - iron, ironing board, hair dryer, toiletries.

It had basic catering equipment, but everything you need for a short break. Could maybe benefit from a large saucepan and colander for those who might want to self cater more of stay longer. A pint of milk, tea, coffee and sugar is provided which is a bonus. As is washing up liquid and some washing powder for the washing machine and tablets for the dishwasher. Rubbish was emptied daily but not sure if any bottles, cans etc are recycled?

The room was clean and the bed comfortable.

Thd location is great, just off the Royal Mile. There's a Tesco Express nearby for supplies.

I'd certainly stay here again if visiting.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Edinburgh Collection, General Manager at Holyrood Aparthotel
Responded Feb 28, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon. I was shocked to learn that we do not, in fact, recycle any rubbish from our bedrooms. I have therefore taken this on board, and ordered recycling bins for each room across our Edinburgh hotels. Kind Regards, Daniel Kiteley
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
10sman2017 wrote a review Jun 2021
London, United Kingdom105 contributions54 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We've stayed at the Holyrood ApartHotel before and were happy with its location and facilities. This time round, I wanted somewhere I could leave the car and we would have enough space and self catering options to meet our requirements. The staff were extremely helpful and efficient during our booking process, which put my mind at ease considering I had so many questions prior to arriving.

The apartment we were allocated was on the first floor, overlooking the car park. It was well equipped and clean, on arrival, with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. One of the bedrooms smelt faintly of vomit, and the odour came and went and returned mysteriously. Other strange smells seemed to waft in from time to time too, so it might have been due to our position quite low down in the building. I think I'd ask to be higher up in future.

The kitchen is well equipped with a washer/dryer and dishwasher, which was a bonus for us during our stay. The bath and shower were great and the heated towel rails meant that there weren't soggy towels hanging around for days. Toiletries are also supplied. The hot water was plentiful and the bath was a good size.

The reason I won't give 5 stars on this occasion is that the breakfast hampers we'd paid for to be included were a bit of a let down and quite honestly pretty random (12 pots of jam one day and nothing to put it on) .I totally understand that Covid restrictions might have affected the supply and handling of food. However, what we were provided with was nothing like the breakfast goods from our previous stay a couple of years ago. Had I known that we'd be getting such poor substitutes for what we were anticipating, I probably wouldn't have paid for the breakfast option in my booking. Tesco is only a minute away, so we topped up our own supplies with bread, butter, fresh milk and fruit.

For anyone visiting Edinburgh for the first time, this accommodation is convenient and flexible for families who need space and home from home facilities. I'd advise booking parking and maybe enquire about position of the room , but I'm sure the staff will be really helpful during this process as they were with us.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Maybe ask for rooms above floor 2.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Edinburgh Collection, General Manager at Holyrood Aparthotel
Responded Sep 30, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We do appreciate your kind comments about our staff, location and facilities. We are incredibly sorry to hear about your disliking towards the breakfast. As you said, it is due to the pandemic that we are unable to provide our regular breakfast hampers and are glad that you could understand this. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant time with us, in spite of this, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amanda K wrote a review Jun 2022
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My mom and I stayed here for 5 nights after our original travel plans to go home were disrupted. We stayed in a twin room, which had comfortable beds, a large bathroom (located in a separate hallway within the suite) and a small kitchen equipped with basic cooking utensils, microwave, mini fridge, electric stove top, dishwasher and best of all - a washer/drier combo!! The hotel is tucked away in the Bakehouse Close, so there was practically no street noise. There is a Tesco Express around the corner, which provided essentials for catering in, which we really liked that we had the option of doing because unfortunately there are not a lot of places available for dinner in the Canongate/Holyrood area. The hotel staff was very courteous and helpful, and the hotel common areas were very tidy!

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and will likely book here again on a return trip. I would recommend this place for couples or small families traveling that might need to do laundry during their travels or are budget conscious and like to cook meals at home.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Edinburgh Collection, General Manager at Holyrood Aparthotel
Responded Jul 6, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We do appreciate your incredibly kind comments about our location and facilities. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AzPotts wrote a review Sep 2022
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom128 contributions80 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an apartment with a shared kitchen and living areas, but with separate bedrooms and bathrooms. As two couples, this gave us the chance to get ready to go out without a large queue and to eat together.
The kitchen was well stocked, microwave, stove, fridge, dishwasher etc, all of which came in handy during our stay. Breakfast was provided in the form of a loaf of bread, biscuits and cereals in small boxes. There's a Tesco Express about 2 mins round the corner to stock up. We found the facilities clean and well appointed; there's one living room with a sofa, TV, two smaller chairs and dining table and chairs. As the weather was lovely, we opened quite a few of the many windows.
Bathrooms were fine, the shower in one was a bit temperamental, but ok. The other had a bath with a shower above it.
Bedrooms were fine, one was smaller than the other (we were in room 501), the noise of gulls at 5am woke us up though.
The apartment is about 1 minute from the bottom of the Royal Mile, (a little alley spits you out at the Tollbooth Tavern)
Overall, an enjoyable and trouble free stay. Parking was £15 a night, which we thought was a bit steep; but it was secure, gated and put you in the centre of Edinburgh.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Edinburgh Collection, General Manager at Holyrood Aparthotel
Responded Sep 28, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and always look to improve our guests’ experiences. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hazel6160 wrote a review Jul 2021
Belfast6 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The pro was that the parking is on-site and is handy altho had to be pre-reserved.

We stayed in room 603 and it was a really bad experience.
The carpets were grubby. There was water damage stains on the ceilings. Television had terrible signal reception which made it unwatchable. The bathroom sink had been previously cracked and it had been repaired with silicone. The shower door was broken. The toaster did not work. Beds hard and uncomfortable. We witnessed a woman on the 1st floor open her apartment window and something metal fell off the window onto the ground, thankfully no-one walking below. She genuinely just opened the window, this is obviously a health and safety hazard.

The rules state that on the day of departure that you vacate your room by 11 am. We had gone down the street and returned at 10.35 am to remove the last of our belongings only to discover that a housekeeper was in our apartment and had started the cleaning process. I have since contacted the manager who said that they will review training on when a guest has departed their room.

Seriously do yourself a favour and look elsewhere, this accommodation was expensive considering I’ve stayed in better students halls.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Edinburgh Collection, General Manager at Holyrood Aparthotel
Responded Sep 30, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative time with us. We do strive to offer our guests a personable and memorable experience and we are sorry if we were unable to offer you this on this particular occasion.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PRH wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here as a family for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Location is fantastic, right in the heart of Edinburgh. Arthur's Seat, Holyrood and the Royal Mile right on the doorstep. For a city centre location it was quiet, we could only hear slight traffic noise and seagulls at night.

The place was absolutely spotless when we arrived and the staff were up within minutes if we needed anything. They were fantastic. The flat was well kitted out and had everything we needed.

The apartment we were in could have done with a lick of paint, but nothing major at all. It also wasn't clear if and how guests could recycle their rubbish.

Only other point is that if booking through booking.com, it isn't obvious that you have to reserve and pay for parking.

Overall, would thoroughly recommend this place and would come back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Edinburgh Collection, General Manager at Holyrood Aparthotel
Responded Aug 26, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about our location, cleanliness and facilities. I am currently ordering recycling bins for every room, in order to help save the planet. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kayleigh2106 wrote a review Aug 2020
Uckfield, United Kingdom11 contributions18 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one night on a family trip to Edinburgh. Well equipped kitchen- dishwasher, washing machine, kettle etc. Breakfast things left for us- small selection of cereal, small loaf of bread, butter, jam, marmalade and milk. Tea, coffee and sugar also provided. Everywhere was clean and toiletries in bathroom were nice. Sofa bed was fairly comfy and beds were good. Was a bit noisy- every time you turned a tap on or flushed the chain it started a very loud water pump and you could hear that from the other apartments too and there was a bit of outside noise. The pictures of the website definitely make these apartments look better than they are but they are okay however not sure they are worth £103 a night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Edinburgh Collection, General Manager at Holyrood Aparthotel
Responded Aug 28, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your feedback and always look to improve our guests’ experiences. We understand that it can be noisy at times as the hotel is located in Edinburgh's prime commercial thoroughfare. We are currently planning refurbishments that we hope to start in the not distant future. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
taehypno wrote a review Aug 2020
Bebington, United Kingdom131 contributions80 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived at the location, easy to park outside the hotel to empty luggage out of the car, if you forget to book the hotel parking there is a car park at Dynamic earth nearby for £20 a night.
Easy check with very friendly staff, the room (603) was very clean and tidy included all tea and coffee, washing facilities and extras.
This was in a quiet spot, if you walk up the stairs at the back of the entrance you will be on the main street with plenty of shops.
If you want the hop on hop off service, this service stops at the dynamic earth entrance less than a few minutes walk away.
Self catering apartments with a store less than a few minutes walk away for all your needs.
Will definitely visit agian.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Edinburgh Collection, General Manager at Holyrood Aparthotel
Responded Aug 27, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We do appreciate your kind comments about our staff, location and facilities. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JimboG84 wrote a review Aug 2022
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom210 contributions105 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed as a young family in a two bedroom apartment for two nights.
As other reviews have stated, there is no early check in but they will let you use the former gym to store bags; this room is not locked and so it is used with all the normal risks associated with such a system.

The apartment was large with two good sized bedrooms and a kitchen/living room. There is no air conditioning so it was very warm on an evening. The location is good, at the bottom of the Royal Mile and is about a 15 minute walk from some of the big tourist attractions of the city.

The apartment did feel rather neglected and forlorn and certainly not in the condition that matched with the price we paid. The flooring was poorly fitted and door bars were missing; the showers in both the en-suite and the main bathroom had mould, missing grouting, missing buttons and leaks; the bed/mattress in the main bedroom was clearly broken and sagged massively making for a very uncomfortable and disturbed sleep.

We mentioned the bed and shower issues to reception at the first night and they assured us that housekeeping and maintenance would have a look. Given that our room was not serviced, they clearly didn't pass this message on or the teams ignored it. Again, we mentioned these issues at checkout and we are waiting on an email from the hotel manager.

I am sure there are better value apartments in the city.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Edinburgh Collection, General Manager at Holyrood Aparthotel
Responded Sep 28, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative time with us. We do strive to offer our guests a personable and memorable experience and we are sorry if we were unable to offer you this on this particular occasion.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dennie45 wrote a tip May 2024
Veldhoven, The Netherlands74 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a high floor room. We had room 209 (2 person appartement) , adjacent to the gate to parking. This gate makes an awful loud squeaking noise."
Read full review
Sharon R wrote a tip Mar 2024
Sheffield, United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"dont bother unless your ok with feeling cold and are hard of hearing"
Read full review
Kim P wrote a tip Dec 2023
4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location clean and had everything you needed for your trip. "
Read full review
Karyn C wrote a tip Oct 2023
15 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is available if you book at £20 a night."
Read full review
Romex-Romex wrote a tip Sep 2023
Atlanta, Georgia195 contributions58 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bait and switch. Not worth the price, better stay at a 2-star hotel (because this is exactly what it is, for double the price, though)"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
C$338 - C$539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holyrood aparthotel edinburgh, holyrood aparthotel hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
59
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Holyrood Aparthotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Holyrood Aparthotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holyrood Aparthotel?
Nearby attractions include Palace of Holyroodhouse (0.4 km), The Chocolatarium (0.4 km), and Mackenzie Leather Edinburgh (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holyrood Aparthotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a fitness centre, laundry service, and internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Holyrood Aparthotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holyrood Aparthotel?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Holyrood Aparthotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holyrood Aparthotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Pakora Bar, The Haggis Box, and PIGGS.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holyrood Aparthotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Holyrood Aparthotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holyrood Aparthotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Holyrood Aparthotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Real Mary King's Close (0.8 km), Palace of Holyroodhouse (0.4 km), and Gladstone's Land (1.0 km).
Is Holyrood Aparthotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Edinburgh HotelsEdinburgh Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in EdinburghHotels near Holyrood Aparthotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars