We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Argyle Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Argyle Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 122: English reviews
Start your review of Argyle Backpackers
 Click to rate
Dortmund, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful and cosy hostel. Not as close to the old town and bars as other hostels but well within walking distance. Very helpful (but not always extremely knowledgeable) staff. Supermarket around the corner and 2 kitchens with a lot of cooking stuff. So everything would be great if it wasn't for the beds. They were just horrible. I have slept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank therespite
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Arrived early and was allowed to check in before the 2pm set time. Thought that was great. Wasn't shown about the place, just given keys and smiled at. So didn't know where my room was, where the kitchen was, toilets, living room etc. None of it explained. Rules are set to be quiet after 10pm and before 8am. The morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 25 September 2016

When I first arrived at the hostel the room the staff member put me in didn't have any clean beds. After cleaning a bed for me, she came back and said she'd put me in the wrong room and moved me to another. I don't really blame the staff member though, she was clearly trained very poorly. Security was terrible....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kgrote
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

As others have said this hostel is 2 period houses joined together which makes it homely and means you have 2 of everything. The staff were helpful and easy going. It was really nice to have a proper shower room, as if you were in a house, and I never had to queue even though I was there during the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmumma
ArgyleBP, Manager at Argyle Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, I apologise in taking the time to respond to you. I am so glad that you had a great time in Edinburgh. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor, we really appreciate that guests take the time to tell us about their stay and the things that they liked about our hostel or the...

Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

This was a great find. The hostel is very well situated just the other side of the meadows and was both clean and good value. We had a private room so wouldn't be able to comment on the dorms, but would definitely book in again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
ArgyleBP, Front Office Manager at Argyle Backpackers, responded to this review

Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. :)

Aldermaston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Fantastic hostel which helped me and a friend with a very last minute booking. We couldn't find any accommodation in Edinburgh but the Argyle managed to squeeze us in. Jackie, the lady I spoke to on the phone was incredibly helpful! Great asset to the hostel. The hostel is clean and very friendly! The bed was comfortable and the bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasonowen1983
ArgyleBP, Manager at Argyle Backpackers, responded to this review

Jason, We were happy to help! I'm so glad you two were able to enjoy the rest of your time in Edinburgh. If you're ever back this way, we'd love to have you over again! Jackie

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed in a 3- bed private room over a weekend. All bathrooms are shared, super clean and I never had to queue. Staff was amazing, very helpful and friendly. Argyles used to be two houses that were connected into a hostel, so you have two kitchens fully equipped, nice garden and conservatory (great place for breakfast). Also there is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Petra K
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Primarily the location is almost perfect. Next to the picturesque meadows park and close enough in walking distance into the centre. There are also good bus routes too. The downside may well be the parking as I had to park 25 minutes walking distance away. The kitchens look homely and the bedroom and facilities were more than satisfactory given the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rodleeuk
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Argyll we had a double room and the bath was just across the hall so very convenient. The staff were helpful and the atmosphere low-key and relaxed. Enjoyed waking early and having coffee and some breakfast on the sun area off the kitchen. The bed was more comfortable than I thought but a bit short...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sharon M
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

This was the first time in Edinburgh the member of staff was not very friendly or informative. If you pay by card they take the card out the back which shouldn't be the case. We also had to ask for a receipt as this wasn't supplied. The room was on the top floor small but adequate. Shower temp was warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven A
ali405, Manager at Argyle Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Steven, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry to read your stay with us wasn't entirely pleasurable. Our card machine wasn't working when your checked in, so to pay by card we would have had use our online payment system. I understand that this isn't ideal and I apologies for any inconvenience....

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#21 of 213 in Edinburgh
391 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#12 of 213 in Edinburgh
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 213 in Edinburgh
1,367 reviews
New Town
Code Hostel
Code Hostel
#2 of 213 in Edinburgh
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our quiet, friendly, clean, 4 star hostel offers a wide range of facilities and services including free wi-fi with additional access to our sunny garden. We are located beside Edinburgh's Meadows Park where most attractions are only a short distances walk. We offer several rooms that can accommodate 4 to 6 people as well as various private rooms that include: doubles, singles, twins and triples beds. We are student friendly! For students it is only a short distance to travel to Edinburgh University Campus and Napier University's central campus. Additionally you will find by staying with us that everything you need is close by. The area offers various organic food stores, locally owned shops, supermarkets, cafes and pubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Argyle Backpackers

Address: 14 Argyle Place, Edinburgh EH9 1JL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $55 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Argyle Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Argyle Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyle Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Argyle Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Argyle Backpackers staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Argyle Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 6-bed dorms don't have locking front doors.”
 of 5 bubbles kgrote, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“6 bedroom female dorm was great.”
 of 5 bubbles 405taryng, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Laundry service not free, cost£4 per load of washing”
 of 5 bubbles antonio72015, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Great location and money”
 of 5 bubbles Kumar_IND0, 11 May 2015 | Read review
“When booking a twin room, you will either be allocated a bunk bed or two beds, state which you prefer at time of booking”
 of 5 bubbles xraymike85, 7 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5