We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Budget Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
Budget Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

727 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 534: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here 3 times in 2016 and its brillaint. Cheap beds awesome staff nice food at the bar clean showers and bathroom with hair dryers Only 2 sterling for a key deposit You would be crazy to stay anywhere else in Edinburgh

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin A
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey thanks for the awesome review . Its always a good sign when our guests come back time and again. We really appreciate big time you taking the time to review us and giving such cool feedback. See you back soon KA Crew :)

Bangalore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Its a happening place to be. Clean and well maintained. Situated in the center of the city and easy to commute elsewhere. The rooms were clean but you need to share the restroom. I would highly recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shwetabhsrijan
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback. We are so happy here at KickAss Hostel to see such positive comments and that you have highly recommended us to our future guests. Thanks again and hopefully we will see you back again soon KA Crew :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

They have good facilities such as a common kitchen, and a chill-out room. There is a pool table where you could play for free as well as a cafe downstairs if you fancy some food but don't want to leave the hostel. The showers are clean although the stalls could be a bit small. They're also divided up into male...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley F
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Ashley. Thank you for the great feedback and the awesome 5 star rating. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have taken the time to review us. We really appreciate the great comments and we hope that you will stay with us again when you next visit our cool city. BB Crew...

Gambellara, Italy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great Hostel to stay, close to the downtown and royal mile also got something for the entertainment like snooker and an amazing bar. Bedroom not bad with your personal drawer where you can put your stuff. Really recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neary90
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have taken the time to write such a cool review. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to our great city. BB Crew :)

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

This hostel is very well located in Edinburgh near Grass Market and Cowgate. I travelled with two friends for one night and this hostel was comfortable, clean, sociable - all of the things we were looking for in a place to stay. The staff were great, and the facilities were nice. I would recommend staying here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZachDitcher
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words . We are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay with and we appreciate your recommendation to our future guests. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh and that you had a safe onward journey after your departure. BB Crew :)

Reviewed 19 November 2016

4 friends and 1 stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The first night we informed the heater in the room wasn't working properly. A lady at the reception promised to get it fixed the next day. Unfortunately the next day it wasn't fixed so we spoke to two members of staff and they said they couldn't fix it due...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there . thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry that you experienced heating problem in your room. We did check and the heating was on but unfortunately it was not sufficient for your room due to the cold snap that we had. We did provide a further heater for your room and this did...

Reviewed 7 November 2016

This place works perfectly, clean room, plenty of toilets and showers, a stylish bar and 24h reception. Excellent location near the city center! Just is a shame, that in rooms isn´t wifi, but in downstairs works good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bettyx H
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great comment. We are pleased you liked our graet location and found our rooms clean. We do have wifi in all our rooms but it has been a bit slow recently as we have been very busy with lots of guests using it at the same time but the good news is we are about to up...

Letchworth Garden City
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

We had a great time here (3 nights). Really nice atmosphere (better than some YHA'S we have stayed at), welcomed by lovely staff who made the booking in and check out very easy. Twin private room was very clean and a good size, with a double bed and a single above in bunk style. Two lockers, sink and desk additionally....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A R
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Thanks for the awesome feedback. Its so good to hear you enjoyed your 3 days with us and appreciated our Comfort Cleanliness and Location. Thanks for taking the time to reviews and hopefully we will see you back soon. BB Crew :)

Thessaloníki, Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I spent two weeks there while looking for a flat. Very clean, the staff are friendly and willing to help, lots of people to meet from all around the world. Right in the center of the city, close to basically every tourist attraction. Not expensive at all considering what you get. The only thing to keep in mind is that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theoklis G
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us . Thanks for all the great comments and we hope you managed to find a flat ok. BB Crew :)

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Shared accommodation with friends and was pleased with the set-up. Straightforward and simple, which is all we needed. Prices were really good for accommodation, food and drink. Proved a good place to start off the night before moving on. Atmosphere in hostel is friendly and welcoming. Location is ideal to get to city locations and is pleasantly situated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks a million for the awesome 5 star rating. We really appreciate it. We hope you had a great time visiting the sites in our great city and that you had a safe onward journey after you left us. BB Crew...

363 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
1:32
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (210)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Four-Person Dorm (18)
Viewed
Private Double Twin Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
772 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,348 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,939 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 210 in Edinburgh
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With over 250 beds, and located in the heart of beautiful Old Town, Budget Backpackers is one of the best places to stay in Edinburgh! All of the amenities you need including free linen, free hot showers, a self catering kitchen, and a bar/cafe! Budget Backpackers is one of the best located hostels in the city, being only a 10 minute walk from Waverly Train Station, a 2 minute walk from the Royal Mile, and the breathtaking Edinburgh Castle practically on our doorstep! There is also always something happening within the hostel, with weekly Wii and Pool Competitions, Quiz and Movie Nights, Free Walking Tours 11am daily Monday to Saturday, Whether you want to see the sights, make friends, party it up, or just relax, Budget Backpackers has everything you need to make your stay in Edinburgh memorable! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Budget Backpackers

Address: 37-39 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Price Range: $17 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Budget Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Budget Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Budget Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Budget Backpackers staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Budget Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a lower floor if you have problem with stairs; also for better wifi.”
  • view of castle from front of hostel
  • private rm with shower, shared bathroom
  • night view of castle from front door of hostel
 of 5 bubbles eccartwright, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms facing the street can be noisy (especially during festival season), pack earplugs.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahgI8590TZ, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“do not take one of the 6 bed rooms”
 of 5 bubbles MusaIocosa, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The 30-bed room is cool and cheap. Don't hesitate about it.”
 of 5 bubbles 451firasa, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try to get the first floor there's no lift”
 of 5 bubbles johnmP4535LA, 4 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay