We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Murrayfield Hotel and House

Show Prices
#39 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Murrayfield Hotel and House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,674 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Murrayfield Hotel and House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,538: English reviews
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. A good choice of food available and every drink you could possibly want. Ideal location, just about a mile from the zoo and the same into the centre of Edinburgh. Plenty of buses pass the hotel if you want one. The room we had was good, in need of a lick of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janwJ9106OJ
64manager, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Hello janwJ9106OJ, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay here! It's great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and that you were able to take advantage of our fantastic location. I am also delighted to hear that you found the reception staff to be so helpful and friendly, and I...

Reviewed 31 August 2016

Shortly after we arrived, we noticed that the toilet was leaking dirty toilet water all over the floor in the bathroom. I went to call the front desk and found the room didn't have instructions for calling the front desk and typical options didn't work. I went downstairs and told the front desk clerk who said they would address it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ariddel
64manager, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Dear Ariddel, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us; all feedback is greatly appreciated. I am sorry to hear of the maintenance issue that affected your stay, and that you were let down by the customer service that you received. Due to circumstances outwith our control, and despite a plumber attending...

Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Haven't been here for a few years but went again with family from Edinburgh. The food is lovely with a good selection and very reasonably priced too. Won't leave it so long next time. I had the pumpkin lasagne- amazing and a good portion. The place has been renovated since I was there the last time and it's nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angmac88
64manager, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Hello Angmac88, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit with us; we really appreciate it! It is always our pleasure to welcome back guests, and it's great to hear that you enjoyed your family meal with us. Hopefully we will see you soon - don't stay away too long! Best Wishes, Linda &...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the Murrayfield Hotel very much. The staff was always helpful friendly and curtious. The morning breakfast was wonderful. My husband and I especially enjoyed Andy who served the breakfast each morning he was so friendly and happy and gave us good tips about navigating the buses. The food at the hotel is great and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marybG6080IQ
64manager, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good Morning marybG6080IQ, Thankl you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your stay with us! I am so happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay, and the particular mention of Andy. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to him. Please do let us know directly when you are...

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the house, which is two doors down from the main hotel. Enormous room with very characterful decor and some lovely touches. Spacious bathroom, gorgeous towels. Bed and pillows very comfortable, and the lovely crisp linen felt so luxurious. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff members and Eggs Benedict for breakfast was the best ever....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
64manager, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Hello Claire T, Thank you for such a great review - we really appreciate it! It's great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay, and enjoyed our Deluxe rooms - they really are something special! It's also wonderful to hear that you found the staff to be so friendly and helpful and I will be sure to pass...

Langelsheim, Germany
Reviewed 27 August 2016

The Murrayfield Hotel and House was nearly an excellent accommodation for our travel. Room 305 had been exciting whilst the stay in Edinburgh. The busstop was nearby the hotel. The Service arround breakfast and dinner we liked very much. We hope other guests like this too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rreips_728273
64manager, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good Morning rreips_728273, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay - we really appreciate it! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our deluxe rooms, and that enjoyed your time in Edinburgh. I will pass on your comments to our Bar and Waiting team as...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Really enjoyed this old house - rooms were luxurious at a great price - location to Edinburgh was close - only a 10 pound cab fare. Restaurant served great food and plenty of wine list pretty good. Staff helped organise all sorts of things with no problem. Parking no problem and WIFI good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leah R
64manager, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good Morning Leah R, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your stay with us; we really are flattered! It's great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay, and to hear that you found the staff to be so helpful. It also sounds like you were able to enjoy our wonderful location...

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Stayed here for valentines day. Very modern and nicely decorated. There is a cheap and easy bus which goes past the hotel which can take you into the centre of Edinburgh which only takes 5-10 minutes. The staff were friendly and generally helpful. However we'd paid for the larger upgraded room, and found that it was still pretty small. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess G
64manager, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Hello Jess G, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us; we really do appreciate it! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to be so helpful whilst here. Our room sizes do vary throughout the hotel so I am disappointed to hear...

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

All rounder and we will be returning, everything was on hand in the room such as slippers, dressing gowns, hair dryer, GHD straighteners. The bathroom was also immaculate and the shower room was first class.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allanbentley3
64manager, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good Morning allanbentley3, Thank you for leaving a top 5 star review of your stay with us! We are all so happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us in one of our deluxe rooms - they really are something special! It's also a huge compliment to the whole team that you will return to stay...

Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Went here for a three day visit during the Fringe Festival. The hotel is very nice, the staff are friendly, the rooms are comforable and the location is ideal, 10 minutes into the city centre and 5 minutes from Murrayfield Stadium. The hotel restaurant was very nice too. I'd recommend the city bus tour as a way to see the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
64manager, Manager at Murrayfield Hotel and House, responded to this review

Good Morning Richard K, Thank you for such a fantastic five star review of your recent stay with us; we really do appreciate it! We are all so happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and that you were able to take advantage of our location during the Fringe Festival. Please remember to contact us directly when...

798 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (384)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (108)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (183)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (355)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Classic Double (66)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Twin Room (88)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#36 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,087 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,200 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#47 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,894 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#32 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Murrayfield Hotel is located in Edinburgh City Centre with ample complimentary parking and free Wifi. The hotel is the perfect destination for business, leisure or family occasions. The Murrayfield Hotel combines fantastic hospitality, outstanding value for money and second to none homemade food, served in the traditional, friendly pub kitchen. Serving as a perfect base from which to explore the historical Edinburgh City Centre, the Murrayfield Hotel is just a couple of minutes away from Edinburgh Zoo (and its giant pandas), the national Murrayfield Stadium which frequently plays host to major live sporting events as well as music concerts, and Haymarket Train Station.With fine home cooked food, complimentary car parking, traditional pub, restaurant, sun trap beer garden and unparalleled Scottish hospitality, we create a true home away from home for all our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Murrayfield Hotel and House

Address: 18 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6HN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Price Range: $78 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murrayfield Hotel and House 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Murrayfield Hotel and House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayfield Hotel And Lodge
Murrayfield Hotel Edinburgh
Murrayfield Hotel And House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Murrayfield Hotel and House staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
PA
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Murrayfield Hotel and House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get one at the front of the hotel immediately above reception.”
 of 5 bubbles clarej542, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Single room. Very stylish & comfortable. ”
 of 5 bubbles 363lynr, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on first floor in main hotel. Next time we might try the annexe”
 of 5 bubbles robsheEllon, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Had everything you would need.”
 of 5 bubbles mrsfionat, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a proper room ”
 of 5 bubbles mhill999, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay