We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Show Prices
#76 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,888: English reviews
Start your review of Novotel Edinburgh Centre
 Click to rate
Kirkby in Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

On arrival the reception staff (Sabrine)were very polite and friendly. Checkin was very fast then armed with a map of Edinburgh and directions from reception on how too get there we headed to our room. The room itself was very modern and spotlessly clean and very comfortable. A great breakfast the following morning completed a very nice stay. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teamudd
Harrogate, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I came here with my daughter for her 13th birthday, first impressions were excellent, the staff were very accommodating, we got an early check in (12pm instead of 2pm) and also a late checkout the following day of 3pm. They gave us a map of the City to help us find various places we were looking for and marked the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wackygirl74
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and compliments – We strive to make each guests' experience special and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Matt Brett General Manager

Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We visited for two nights, had a lovely time, the best part were the staff who were all friendly and helpful, and not the usual chain hotel employees. The lady managing the breakfast on the first day (24th Feb) was particularly nice. My daughter is 4, she got a little gift on arrival and also something at the breakfast mentioned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
Bridgend, Uk
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel was conveniently located, clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and efficient. Well worth considering for a stay in Edinburgh. Good well provisoned bathrooms and clean towels changed daily. We'll stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Edinburgh. It is in a good location, within walking distance to the main attractions, such as the castle. Hotel rooms are basic but ideal for a base. Breakfast was very good And it's worth paying for it beforehand. Don't forget your swimming things as they pool and jacuzzi's are free to use!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hollyamber95
Orinda, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I booked into this Novotel property from a selection of lodging offerings on a British Airways Holiday Package. This was our first stay at a Novotel. During the booking process, I chose to “upgrade” from the hotel’s “Superior” room to one of their “Executive” rooms. When my wife and I arrived late in the afternoon of our first day in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoeAndBillie
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Dear JoeAndBillie, I do hope you received my detailed email response to the below. Should you require anything further please do send me an email or give me a call 0131 656 3500. I remain at your service. Kind regards, Matt General Manager

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just returned from a faultless three night stay at this hotel. We upgraded to an Executive Room at a cost of an extra £10 per night - worth every penny! The room, on the fifth floor, had a fabulous view of the castle and surrounding skyline and also boasted a Nespresso machine, Bluetooth Bose system (which we loved), nice comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShazandLisa L
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, I am delighted to hear you had such a great experience and that we succeeded in making your wife's birthday memorable. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. Kind regards, Matt Brett General Manager

sao paulo
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

As expected the Novotel Edinburg is well located, near all main attractions with clean and comfortable rooms , we were in 2 adults and one 13 years old boy. Good hotel for families, with the traditional very good breakfast offered on the chain. The hotel also offer a good fitness facility with a pool and modern equipment's. Overall it was...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexj0seg
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to welcome your lovely family at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I am delighted to hear that you took advantage of our facilities and prime location in the city. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Matt Brett General Manager

Darlington
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here (2 adults and 2 young girls) in February for a 2 night break. Location wise this hotel is about a 15 minute walk from Princes Street and 5 minute or so walk from Grassmarket. The red open top bus stops just over the road from our hotel. We walked from Edinburgh Waverley and found the best route...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darlo672
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear you appreciated the service of our employees as well as our facilities. I am sorry however that you had issues with your room. If you would like to discuss it further, please call me directly at 0131 656 3500. Kind regards, Matt Brett General Manager

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We visited just after new year and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. It was clean and modern. It is undergoing refurbishment, however it wasn't in obvious need of this. The only complaint I have is the room temperature is excessively hot. The air conditioning unit isn't fit for purpose.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annonymous1234567
Matt B, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay, however I will investigate further the trouble you had with the heating and air conditioning. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Matt Brett General Manager

314 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (255)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,001 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,111 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#28 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,188 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $122 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Edinburgh Centre staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Edinburgh Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get a room with a view of the castle”
 of 5 bubbles L4273CCjohnw, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do Not get 349!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles JoeAndBillie, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Queen one is super spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles D7775MGalexanderr, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We asked for a quiet room and were placed on the top floor at the rear. It was good.”
 of 5 bubbles 2Wabisabi, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Brilliant ”
 of 5 bubbles sanjeer2017, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5