We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Show Prices
#75 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Novotel Edinburgh Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,917: English reviews
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2015

We stayed here between 16th and 18th March for my partner's 25th birthday (when we got back to the room later after checking in there was a card and a cake waiting, what a lovely gesture) and we had an executive room, this was beautiful and the view was great too. All the staff were so helpful, especially Rebecca on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth0904
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Especially Rebecca who I have just informed of your compliments, she is delighted. I look forward to welcoming you back again in September!. Remember to let us know if it's...

Reviewed 19 March 2015

nice warm hotel, handy for march!. very good on the breakfast and lots to choose from. rooms where very good and very clean. nice big towels to get dry from the shower or bath. staff very friendly. Would certainlt stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike G
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. I am pleased you liked our towels! Also glad you had an enjoyable stay. Craig Munro.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 19 March 2015

Just back from a 3 day stay at Novotel and we were very impressed with the hotel. The staff are friendly, the hotel is spotless and the rooms are spacious. We asked for a quiet room and not only did we get this but we also had a lovely view of the castle. The hotel is just a short walk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ali K
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,Craig Munro.

uk
Reviewed 19 March 2015

stayed here for my husbands 50th birthday - and we had all i had asked for in the special requests - top floor room etc , even got hand written birthday cards and cakes from the staff twice . Couldnt fault this place helpful people, clean , comfortable , quiet . probably could do with some bigger changing rooms for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank miaowuk
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased your husband had an enjoyable birthday break. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Craig Munro.

Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Reviewed 18 March 2015

We stayed recently to undertake some interviews at the hotel and found the experince very comfortable: 1. Business facilities were great; easy to use, clean, accessbile and had good facilities; they were better than other hotels in which we had stayed (and for which we had paid more money) in other parts of the UK. 2. The rooms were clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully on your next trip to the UK we can welcome you back to the Novotel Edinburgh Centre. Kind regards,Craig Munro.

Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2015

I stayed here for 2 weeks with work colleagues. The rooms are spacious and modern with all the usual features tv, iron, hairdryer, free Wifi. The rooms are cleaned are cleaned and restocked everyday. There is a variety on offer for breakfast inc. continental, traditional cooked, cereals, fruits, pancakes. No complaints there. Downstairs they have small gym and pool which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise R
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I will pass on your comments to the Chef. We do apologise for the level of noise from the roadworks outside the hotel. They continued working longer into the night than what we were informed of. I do hope that we will...

West Jordan, Utah, United States
Reviewed 18 March 2015

What is lacks in "old world and the B&B charm" it more than makes up for it modern feel. We stayed here for two nights. It's a great hotel(we used a discount site and got a great rate - recommended because of the regular premier price.) Very nice, nice amenities: The gym was good, could use more equipment; mostly just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. And enjoyed your trip to Edinburgh. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, Craig Munro.

Manchester, England
Reviewed 17 March 2015

I stayed at the Novotel Edinburgh Centre for one night for a work meeting, for which we used the conference facilities. The meeting room and associated facilities (teas, coffees, snacks) were good and I would use them again. The only gripe is that the nearest toilet is downstairs in the health club, which isn't great if you need to keep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank littlesausage
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Novotel Edinburgh Centre, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2015

This hotel was lovely, It was very fresh and airy. There were games and activities to entertain children in the lobby, easy to use touch screen information screen and computers for the adults. The breakfast was good, with nice food and again the restaurant was light and airy. The rooms themselves are very modern, with everything you would expect. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dawnie2014
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, Craig Munro.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Stayed here with my boyfriend from the 13th-15th March 2015. We had a lovely time and thought the hotel was great. Very modern and nicely decorated. Room was lovely and clean. We was on the top floor and had quite a nice view on the top floor overlooking part of edinburgh. Chose this hotel as it was one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1HanC2015
Craig M, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad to hear your stay was enjoyable. Craig Munro.

322 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (263)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,037 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,162 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#26 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,203 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $135 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Edinburgh Centre staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Edinburgh Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“castle view is nice”
 of 5 bubbles LisaJSkinner, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose an executive room, well worth the extra”
 of 5 bubbles Gibfamily, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You can opt for a Castle view, which is stunning!”
  • View
 of 5 bubbles SuperShopperSami, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 5th floor and no problems”
 of 5 bubbles carters220556, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a room with a view of the castle”
 of 5 bubbles L4273CCjohnw, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5