We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Booking.comUS$117*
View Deal
#47 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Panoramas (24)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,696 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,534: English reviews
Santa Fe, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

There were too many things that weren't comfortable or convenient, that have me rating this hotel average at best. The room was very small, especially the bathroom. There was no room to place any of my items near the sink, and I had to close the bathroom door to be able to sit comfortably on the toilet. The walk-in shower...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Global_Identity
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Global_Identity, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel after your business trip to Edinburgh. I am disappointed to read that your stay was a mediocre one due to the bathroom size and layout along with the complimentary internet. Although the internet is for basic browsing and emails with a high speed option available, this should have...

Santa Monica, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was wondering which hotel to stay in when I went to Edinburgh. Had looked at quite a few places on the internet. Came across this hotel and was thoroughly impressed with the value and the location and most importantly the quality of service.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tvbuyer
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear tvbuyer, Thank you for choosing the hotel after searching through which to stay. I am delighted you loved it and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Ronald Little General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Upon arrival we were given complimentary cookies at reception which we thought was a nice touch. We were also given a room at the front of the hotel with a view of Edinburgh Castle. The hotel was perfectly located for what we wanted which was the Murcat ghost tours and the castle. Rooms are very spacious, clean and well decorated....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kimberley M
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Kimberley M, Thank you for choosing the hotel and for sharing your experience. I am happy to read that the warm chocolate chip cookie on arrival was appreciated as a nice touch and that your room with Castle View was spacious and well decorated. I am also glad to read that you had a wonderful breakfast to set you...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Located approx 10 minutes walk from the Royal Mile and Princes St this hotel is perfectly located near to the sights but not right in the middle of everything. Plenty of restaurants within a few minutes walk on Lothian Rd. No parking at hotel but discounted rate of £12 at NCP approx 5 minutes walk away. Nice, spacious, clean room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stalig
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear stalig, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh and for sharing your experience. I am happy to read that the hotel's location, service and great view were all part of making your stay an enjoyable one. I am also glad to read that the car park arrangements met with your needs. I...

Tipperary, Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was on a short holiday trip to Edinburgh recently and stayed here (8th-11th Apr. 2017) with my two sisters. After a lot of research on different hotels around Edinburgh, we wanted to pick somewhere within close proximity to the city centre, modern and good value for money. I have to say that this hotel met all our expectations and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EmmaKenneally
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear EmmaKenneally, Thank you for choosing the hotel for your long weekend with your sisters. I am happy to read that your allowed the hotel to make necessary changes within the room to ensure your long weekend was a comfortable one. It is great to read that you had a great time with the team standing out as permitting the...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great Price, Clean, Great and Friendly Staff. Should definitely be a choice when finding a place to stay in Edinburgh. Good size bed (for Europe) and nice sized room. Looked like lots of families staying for an extended time.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debranoble21
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear debranoble21, Thank you for choosing the hotel for your Edinburgh visit. I am happy to read that you had a great time and for your recommendation. Until next time. Kind regards Ronald Little General Manager

Trapper Creek, Alaska
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staying here now and I'll edit this review if things change 😃. Stayed on a combination of points and $ for 4 nights. Breakfast Buffet is very nice with a good selection. Waitress are friendly and are fast to bring over pot of tea every morning. Room service has a limited selection but the food arrived fast, hot and tasted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leah99567
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Leah99567, Thank you for choosing the hotel for your 4 night stay in Edinburgh. I am happy to read "so far so good" with service throughout along with breakfast all doing well and I hope that this continues throughout your stay. Enjoy the city and the hospitality and please ask if there is anything more the team can do...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here to wrap up our Scotland/ Edinburgh vacation. From check in Melise was very helpful, and made sure our bags were delivered promptly. Claudia recommended a great little Italian place, Bar Italiana ( I'll review them separately) to Lorenzo, the bar manager in Monboddo, who couldn't be more warm and personable.. actually adorable. The room had a beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chocobabe627
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Chocobabe627, Thank you for choosing the hotel as your last stop in your vacation. I am so happy to read that you had a great time at the hotel with Melise, Claudia and Lorenzo all making a great impact along with the fabulous view from your room of Edinburgh Castle. I appreciate your feedback and hope that you got...

Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My daughter and Mother joined me for a day trip to Edinburgh. We went to the castle and enjoyed the day shopping the Royal mile. The hotel was in a great location and we could walk to the attractions. The room was huge and very well appointed. Truly spectacular!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Teresa B
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Teresa B, Thank you for choosing the hotel for your day trip to Edinburgh. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful time with us with the service received throughout along with the spectacular view all delivering an exceptional stay. I hope that you have already started planning your next visit. Thank you Ronald Little General Manager

West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved our stay in Edinburgh, the view of the Castle from our room was stupendous. The staff was sincere and helpful. The only item which was not quite wonderful was the dinners. The menu was somewhat limited and the food quality not as good as other places we stayed in Scotland. Although the breadfast was quite good, the dinners...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mcfinn25
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear mcfinn25, Thank you for choosing the hotel and for sharing your experience. Although I am happy to read that you had a great stay, I am sorry to read that you felt the choice available within the restaurant was limited off poor quality. I will feed this back to the chef as although we have a vast array of...

696 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (329)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
2:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (140)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (299)
Viewed
Amenities (70)
Viewed
Guest Room (50)
Viewed
Junior Suite (74)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (18)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
499 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,710 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh enjoying beautiful views of the city and castle, the iconic listed hotel boasts 138 modern guest rooms, Bread Street Brasserie, Monboddo Bar, roof top terrace and conference centre with 3 meeting and event rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Address: 34 Bread Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: $206 - $674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre Scotland
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre staff and other travellers.
41 questions
Ask a question
Wisconsin
Dublin, Ireland
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (41)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the front of the hotel with a castle view”
stalig, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to ask for a room with a view of the castle!”
mikesI1810RX, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors, facing the Castle. Don't stay on the 2nd floor facing the back!”
AlexSmith1969, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Negotiate room size.”
petermacloughlin, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The old part of the hotel that we were in was nice”
HiggerTor, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$117* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$117
HotelQuicklyUS$142
Orbitz.comUS$117
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates