We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Show Prices
#14 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Panoramas (22)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

915 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 809: English reviews
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We chose this hotel because of the reviews on TripAdvisor and the competitive price. We were not disappointed. The room was very comfortable with a huge bed and a spotless bathroom and excellent shower. Breakfast was not speedy but I couldn't have cooked it better myself (I'm proud to be a good cook) poached eggs were always perfect. I'd rather...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane P
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review

Dear Revieweee Many Moons of thanks for a Fabby Review, all our Rooms are different shapes and sizes but we hope that they all have the same standard of cleanliness and usefulness. Our Location is an continuing immoveable talking point for our Guests but we are after all just 3 mins from the Main Bus route into Town, lots of...

Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We cannot recommend this hotel too highly. We received a very warm welcome, a lot of friendly advice and a 10% discount card for a visit to Royal Yacht Britannia. As I had mentioned my dodgy knees, we were given the ground floor room for a disabled person. It is large and well appointed with en suite shower etc Beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review

Dear Revieweee Many Moons of thanks for a lovely Review, we have two Ground floor rooms in the front lobby which are great for anyone with walking difficulties, one of the rooms is furnished with all the necessary kit needed for Ambulant People. Delighted that the Trip to Britannia was a high point for you both, remember if you come...

Somerset, England
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I had a very pleasant night here. I cycled and the friendly woman at reception locked my bike in the office without a quibble. I ate at the nearby Salisbury Arms, which was great. My room was nice and although the bathroom was cramped it had a really excellent shower with good products. The wifi was fast, reliable and easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DearSir
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review

Dear Reviewee Thanks for a terrific review of The Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, the Salisbury Arms has been open now for two years past and serves great Pub food and A La Carte, it is only 4 mins walk away, this and a few other Restaurants and Gastro Pubs that have opened near our Hotel over the last 5 years is one...

Bruges, Belgium
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed for a week and was satisfied with the service. From a budget hotel like this you could not expect more but this one was beyond my expectations. Easy access by bus or even walk will do- centrally located in Edinburgh. Check in was a bit slow but manageable. Max and Annette were the best host ever- friendly and hospitable....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank michael_aiden2013
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review

Dear Revieweee Many Moons of thanks for a Magic review, Beyond Expectations, Wowee, that’s Great, Hmmm I think I feel a Book coming on ha ha ha, and yes check in can be slow at times depending on many variables, also the TV has five main channels but also has Freeview with app 80 other channels, faffing about with some...

North West England
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I spent 2 nights at the C-D hotel in Edinburgh. My single room was cosy/small but perfectly formed and very clean and in good condition. The bed itself was comfy although I found the duvet way too thick and hot for me personally. The bathroom was very clean with plenty of shower gel/shampoo etc.. how they got everything into that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank the_crafty_traveller
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review

Thanks for a splendid review, well glad that you like our roomy toilets, tee hee he, we do have other lighter duvets available should you return. Aha the breakfast Room!?, Black and Red! well my design Idea was Scottish, there a surprise, the structures and colours were dreamed up as follows, in the Glassed over Roof we have a Boat...

Newtown, Connecticut
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I enjoyed three nights at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia and it felt like a home away from home for two main reasons. First, the hotel is actually a very nice home in a quiet neighborhood on the outskirts of the city. More importantly, the owners, Annette and Maxx, made us feel that we were part of the family -...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tmcct
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review

Dear Revieweee Many Moons of thanks for a Sparkling Review, and for saying that you felt like you were in a Home away from Home, Wins it for us every time, we are not luxurious and we hope not pretentious but we are Happy running our Family Hotel in Edinburgh, and having a Business in Edinburgh is part of that,...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This friendly b&b is located a bit outside the city, but easily accessible by bus or on foot. Service was warm, welcoming, and very helpful. The furnishing is not luxurious, but good quality and comfortable. The mattress was firm and comfy, with nice sheets. The bathroom was small, but had absolutely amazing shower pressure. Thhotel also has a small bar...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank M N
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review

Dear Revieweee Many Moons of thanks for a glorious review, I see you though that our Good Value helped us get another notch, thanks. Hotel costs now though are not as simple as they were before On Line Travel Agency came on the scene, previously Hotels etc could set their price and come and go a wee bity but with...

York
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Well what can we say about this place .... absolutely nothing negative. The room we had was lovely and cozy, warm and most of all had a comfy bed for a good nights sleep that everyone needs after a busy day in Edinburgh. There is a lovely walk into town or back if you fancy following the walk past Salisbury...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cathrine b
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review

Dear Revieweee Many Moons of thanks for a great review, cozy, warm and comfortable is exactly the kind of Stay at The Hotel Ceilidh-Donia we hope our Guests enjoy when in Edinburgh with us. Thanks for pointing out our great location and the Bus service into Town, and delighted our Cooked Breakfast set you up for the Day and hope...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A charming B&B-style hotel set in a residential street, about a 20 minute walk from central Edinburgh (or a 5 minute taxi/10 minute bus ride if you're feeling lazy!). The rooms are very warm and are quaintly decorated - some people might find the decor a bit old-fashioned, but I think the appeal here is that it feels homely rather...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MrsT28
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review

Dear Reviewee Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, all our rooms have different décor and we try to upgrade all rooms every four to five years, so hopefully when you come back the room you will get is our Victoria Beckham Gold Room, ha ha ha, sorry for that just my sense of humour, I don't...

Walnut Creek, California
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Like a bid house. Friendly staff. Good breakfast selection. Cozy room. Loved the powerful shower. No bath tub. Steep stairs. No elevator. Bus stop just around the corner get familiar with that. It's grand. Taxi can get expensive. Bus top tours was the way to go on a two day adventure. I don't recommend the boat tour. What stood out...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Moeontheloose
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review

Dear Reviewee Many Moons of thanks for this Gold Dust review, we certainly hope that we are good value for money and after all we are classed as a Three Star Metro Hotel but we do try to match the little things that some Five Star Hotels provide in their rooms and other areas but at the end of the...

348 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (156)
Viewed
Double Room (13)
Viewed
Double Room with Bay Window (21)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Single Room (11)
Viewed
Small Double Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)
Viewed
Triple Room (21)
Viewed
Twin Room (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,756 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,809 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm Scottish welcome awaits at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia, Edinburgh. Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh offers great value three star accommodation when visiting Edinburgh, the historic capital city of Scotland. Max and Annette Preston, together with their children Hayley and Struan, invite you to enjoy your holiday, City break or business trip in Edinburgh at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia with full facility accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Address: 14 - 16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $99 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ceilidh-Donia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Ceilidh-Donia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Donia Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Ceilidh-Donia staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Ceilidh-Donia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All were great”
 of 5 bubbles 672maryellenw, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 18 was very nice”
 of 5 bubbles Lionheart22, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“has ground floor rooms if stairs are a problem”
 of 5 bubbles L2531NDpaulf, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask about access as the stairs are steep”
 of 5 bubbles HalfyB, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we were in room 15 looking out to the front, nice and peaceful! A double room and a very good size.”
 of 5 bubbles bevvyg, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5