Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront hotel

Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront hotel

Traveller (374)
Panorama at the Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
360
Panoramas (6)
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront hotel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#120 of 161 hotels in Edinburgh
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Slumber by the sea at the Premier Inn Hotel Edinburgh Leith Waterfront. In a prime harbour location, you're still within easy reach of all the attractions of the historic city centre. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like the Scottish Parliament, too. Get regal with a visit to Royal Yacht Britannia or Holyrood Palace. Head for the city and storm the walls at Edinburgh Castle. Then indulge in some world-class retail therapy on Princes Street, or enjoy a relaxing stroll around the Royal Botanic Gardens. After a busy day, kick back and relax in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Restaurant
Highchairs available
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

51-53 Newhaven Place Leith, Edinburgh EH6 4TX Scotland
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 61 out of 100
61
Turnhouse Airport
Dundee Airport
53.6 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles3,014 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled near the charming Newhaven Harbour, the Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront hotel offers scenic waterfront views and convenient access to public transport, as recognized by many guests. However, some visitors have expressed disappointment with the less-than-ideal location. While the hotel is commended for its cleanliness and comfortable beds, the rooms and amenities are often seen as basic and in need of modernization, particularly due to the absence of air conditioning. Guests have called out the free parking as a plus, but have also noted noise disturbances and a service team that struggles with responsiveness and organization. Despite these drawbacks, some travelers find the hotel to offer reasonable value, particularly during festival times.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Outdated
Rooms
Dated
Value
Inconsistent
Cleanliness
Mixed
Noise level
Noisy
Service
Disorganized
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
3,014Reviews43Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,466
  • 979
  • 317
  • 128
  • 124
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
alison b wrote a review Feb 2020
Blackpool, United Kingdom1,170 contribution215 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We pre booked a family room for 2 nights at half term a couple of months ago, and so glad we chose this hotel. It has free parking, and a bus stop across the road which takes you onto Princess Street (number 10 bus). Be aware if getting the bus with kids, they have to have the correct money (90p) no change given and you cannot pay for them on debit/credit card. It's one tap per person and you cannot tap twice.
The staff at this Premier Inn cannot do enough for you. They are all really friendly and helpful and were always asking if everything was ok. In the restaurant the staff were also very friendly and helpful. This morning, breakfast was very very busy and the staff were being kept very busy, but still nothing was too much trouble. There is also a play area in the pub next door. Our room was a ground floor room and was spacious and clean. The bed was really comfy. The only tiny quibble I would have and it isn't just this Hotel, it tends to be most is that I think there should be a hand rail on the wall where the bath is. It is obviously very slippy when using the shower and I used the sink to stop me from slipping and I told my son to do the same. There is chippy next door to the Hotel called 'The Fish Market' which is listed as one of the best Chippys in Scotland. It sells lots of different fish and no deep fried mars bars lol.
The Hotel is a 10 minute walk from the Royal Yacht Brittania or a 3 minute drive with free parking in the shopping centre where you buy your tickets from (access the yacht from the 2nd floor).
Asda is also 5 minutes walk, so very handy for buying snacks and drinks rather than paying a fortune in the city centre.
This Premier inn is in a great location in my opinion and has great staff who will make your stay comfortable.
The weather wasn't kind to us, so we will return to Edinburgh to do stuff in better weather.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joanne m wrote a review Sep 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom201 contributions77 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our 4th time stopping here and all previous visits have been fantastic but unfortunately a few things let it down . We were staying 4 nights and although I dont ever expect a room with a view as such we had a very dark room facing a wall if you looked out at a angle you could see the light of day but was dark , which wasnt ideal yes we could have gone down and asked to change rooms maybe but because of the covid restrictions we didnt want to be a bother as they would have had to deep clean the room again , I wouldn't put people in this room that was staying more than 1 night it's nice to get some light , if we stayed again I'd specifically ask for a room with a water view . Also usually you cant hear other rooms around you in premier inns but this one had squeaky floorboards and you could hear the room above you in a morning .
We hadnt realised that due to the covid restrictions the usual change of towels , extra pillows , bed making and refilling of tea facilities doesn't happen and although I understand why this isnt happening it was all missed you have to ask for towels ect and leave your old ones out in bags as nodbody can enter your room , sorry premier inn I just missed all the things that usually happen although that's just the way it is due to covid.
Location for the hotel is great on leith waterfront , theres a brewers fayre attached to the hotel but we choose to eat elsewhere so didnt use it for food only drinks .The starbeck inn was great value and nice food/service and we got takeaway from the fish market which is pricey at 10.00 for fish and chips but worth it , theres regular buses into edinburgh @ 4 50 for a day ticket so we tended to go in through the day then come bk get showered and changed and head bk in for evening meal into edinburgh , try mother india for indian style tapas in the old town .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
spaggy45 wrote a review Mar 2020
Havant, United Kingdom30 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Leith Waterfront hotel for 5 nights in the middle of February. This place is great as it is just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Edinburgh but close enough to visit all the sights. The hotel is really quiet and just across the road is a bus stop that takes you into Edinburgh taking approx 20 minutes. We had a meal deal so used the attached restaurant for breakfast and evening meal and really enjoyed the wide range of choice at breakfast. The evening meals were brilliant as apart from 2 items you could have anything on the menu (so no limited choice). Had something different every evening and could not fault the food at all. This place is absolutely ideal for sightseeing in Edinburgh.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
geoffnewcastle_11 wrote a review Jun 2021
Newcastle, United Kingdom42 contributions89 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent two nights here and found everything to be Covit safe, The staff were all very helpful if you required anything. I rang up two days before arrival and requested a top floor room overlooking the water and that is what we got, for years we have been coming here on a regular basis and never had a problem with anything.
Its in an ideal spot park your car up (free) and leave it there the bus stop is on the other side of the road the number10 which is a regular service takes you to Princess St for £1.80.
We will be back again in four weeks time for another short break
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AmreenK109 wrote a review Jun 2022
Rossendale, United Kingdom59 contributions65 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here whilst on a short weekend break to Edinburgh. The hotel is situated in a fantastic location (Newhaven Harbour) and looked great when we arrived on a late summer’s evening after a 5 hour drive.

Car parking was easy and check-in was quick and efficient. The room itself was decent; there was a large bed, a decent sized bathroom, and all fixtures and fittings were in good condition. There were a couple or downsides; there was no air conditioning which, when combined with the restricted window opening, made the room very stuffy and led to somewhat of a sleepless night. Also the fixed showerhead, combined with the low-ish water pressure meant that the shower wasn’t great.

Breakfast the following morning was average and standard for a budget hotel. There was enough food to fill you up but it was fairly bland and choice was a little limited for vegetarians. A couple of irritations; the drinks glasses for the juice machine were very small, meaning repeated visits back for refills. Also the hot beverage machines were broken meaning that tea and coffee had to be made using teabags or instant coffee powder and there was only one place to make them, leading to long queues. In hindsight I would suggest saving the £9.50 per head and instead going to one of the many cafes nearby . the staff were very friendly and approachable.

As mentioned before the location was stunning and we went for a walk around the harbour. Edinburgh centre is about half an hour away by bus. We paid £95 for 2 people for one night which was good value
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lanzaLaunc wrote a review Sep 2020
Launceston, United Kingdom24 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here before and we were slightly dubious this visit due to Covid restrictions. We felt safe and secure, the hotel and rooms were extremely clean, hand sanitiser in Reception, all staff wearing masks. At breakfast the same measures were taken, and table service. ALL the staff in Reception, cleaning staff and in the restaurant were very friendly, polite and efficient. Well done, your hard work is paying off. We will visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Sea view rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy M wrote a review Feb 2020
Wakefield, United Kingdom414 contributions181 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had requested this room to be made into a family room, that wasn't done when we got there. They hadn't even put us in a disabled room as they had agreed to do, so had to wait for them to make a bed up for our granddaughter. They then accused us of not paying. Then when my husband ran the bath for me, he heloed me in only for me to find the water was cold. Having spoken to the receptionist we were promised this would be dealt with and if they couldn't fix it they would put us in another room as having twice daily baths is important to my medical needs.

This was not completed as promised. We then informed the receptionist cars were parked in the disabled bays without dospalying a blue badge. A Euro White Van dumped his van on the pathway to the doorway. One receptionist totally ingored our concerns and walked away.

The pillows were sloppy and gave me a stiff neck. When I asked for a full refund I was told it was up to me to contact the Premier Inn and if my problems were the same as what the staff had wrote down then I may get a refund. So beware the 'Not a good nights sleep, we'll refund your money' may not happen!!
In all we had two nights of sheer hell, where our basic human rights had not been met.

I wouldn't waste your oney in this Premier Inn, find one where there word is their honor, not just false words.
I have put a complaint in and are waiting for them to get back in contact with me as \i have requested, but I don't hold out for much progress from them.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WhitbreadHotels, Guest Relations at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront hotel
Responded Feb 24, 2020
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I'm really sorry to hear of the problems you had with your stay on this occasion. Your comments around the issues with your room request, the lack of hot water and the service from the team are certainly concerning to hear and this is not the experience we'd want for any of our guests. If you have already contacted our Guest Relations Team then I am sure you will receive a reply soon and I hope they can address your complaint to your satisfaction. However, please be assured, your feedback is very important to us and this will be taken on board, so that we can continue to make improvements to our hotels and to offer the best possible service to our guests. Our apologies again for your experience this time around and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for a more enjoyable stay. Thanks again for your review. Keiran
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lin S wrote a review Sep 2021
March, United Kingdom293 contributions115 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This Premier Inn is a little way out of the City centre, but is in a peaceful location on the waterfront. A 20 min bus ride costing £1-80 takes you to the Scot Monument in the centre, with free parking at the hotel makes this a very good option. The bus stop is right next to the hotel.

The Staff on reception were very friendly and helpful, and checking in on the machine was easy.

Our room had a view of the river which was really nice, and the room clean, however it was starting to look a bit tired and had curtains of different lengths hanging at the window. It was so quiet we were able to leave the window open at night, only being woken the next morning by a Gym class at the leisure centre.

I would definitely consider this hotel should I be in Edinburgh again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megg J wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this hotel for my girlfriend’s birthday (we come from Birmingham) and I thought a hotel on the waterfront would be perfect. When we arrived we were really happy, e.g. really nice view, room was lovely and clean, all COVID-19 regulations were being followed.
Unfortunately, after the first night the problems started. At all times of the days it was really noisy, especially the staff cleaning rooms and moving around the hotel. They would be banging about with their trollies and vacuums early morning and it’s a bit unfair if you’re still trying to sleep. Also, the reception is rarely manned. We wait nearly two hours for extra pillows and on the morning of departure we asked for clean coffee cups and they never turned up. When the reception was manned, I couldn’t say the receptionists were particularly friendly.
Lovely area to stay in Edinburgh but I wouldn’t stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront hotel
Responded Nov 20, 2020
Hello, Thanks for your review. We're really sorry to hear you were disappointed with the noise from other guests. We can appreciate this would have been frustrating and do apologise for the upset caused. Please be assured we'll pick this up with the team and do our best to prevent this from happening going forward. We would advise speaking with the team at the time so they can do their best to resolve this for you at the time. Again, we're really sorry for your experience and do hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Mo Guest Relations Advisor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Family is important wrote a review Feb 2020
6 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a quarter of the price per night to stay than the premier inn in the city. there is a bus stop outside that takes you into the city and is available till midnight. It can drop you off at the Theatre, in the town or near the castle. You pay with your debit card on the bus and has a maximum charge for the day. The hotel is everything a Premier inn is. the breakfast is at the Brewers Fayre next door asnd was good. The area is nice great views at the waterfront and lighthouse. We visited the nearby restaurant Bails's which was lovely. There is also restaurants very near the hotel if you are a fish/seafood lover. Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frances J asked a question Dec 2022
Anglesey, United Kingdom181 contributions119 helpful votes
Do the rooms have central heating?
Answer from JMC6071
Dumfries, United Kingdom90 contributions113 helpful votes
Yes - very warm, comfortable rooms.
Claire S asked a question Aug 2022
2 contributions
Is this hotel close to we’re Xmas markets will be?
Answer from Christine M
Dunoon, United Kingdom154 contributions41 helpful votes
As Lesley D says, it’s easy to get a bus from close by to where Christmas things happen! We stay there at Christmas.
TravellingLight43 asked a question Oct 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom45 contributions102 helpful votes
Is breakfast included in price
Answer from Peter G
5 contributions2 helpful votes
No 8.99 pal but worth it
Yorkietravelmeister asked a question Sep 2019
York, United Kingdom8 contributions5 helpful votes
On check in day I arrive in Edinburgh in the morning. Can I make use of the car park?
Answer from Karen A
Ilkley, United Kingdom4 contributions14 helpful votes
Yes. I don't think anyone would care or notice. Parking is not an issue there.
lds592017 wrote a tip Today
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom129 contributions187 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Big car park but very good public transport nearby"
Read full review
JM wrote a tip May 10
Glasgow, United Kingdom170 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book restaurant ahead. Arrive early."
Read full review
Julianne C wrote a tip Apr 2024
Edzell, United Kingdom37 contributions42 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away! Shocking hotel "
Read full review
shopping884 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Yate, United Kingdom303 contributions74 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want a room with sea view - call ahead to reserve."
Read full review
saus017 wrote a tip Mar 2024
south yorks england39 contributions90 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try the Harbour pub and fish restaurant nearby "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
C$175 - C$317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn edinburgh (leith) hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburgh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
138
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront hotel?
Nearby attractions include Alien Rock (0.3 km), Newhaven Harbour (0.2 km), and INK on MESH (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Newhaven Harbour Bistro, Edinburgh, Rishi's Indian Aroma, and Porto & Fi.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Real Mary King's Close (3.7 km), Palace of Holyroodhouse (3.6 km), and Gladstone's Land (3.7 km).
Does Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Edinburgh HotelsEdinburgh Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in EdinburghHotels near Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars