We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Arden Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Arden Guest House
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Arden Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 101: English reviews
Standish, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2016

We were greeted from our car by the friendly, helpful owner. The standard of this guest house was excellent. Scrupulously clean and a high standard of decor. The breakfast buffet was very tasty with ample food and quick efficient service. The guest house is very close to the hospital which we were visiting, and only ten minutes from the Marchmont...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EMBLiz
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2016

We stayed here one night (couple with a well behaved dog) and were impressed with the value and comfort the Arden Guest House delivers. The main positives were the free parking, no additional charge for taking the dog, a fully enclosed garden we were welcome to use, park land opposite for walking the dog, shampoo/conditioner/soaps provided in the bathroom, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Izbat
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

I felt warmly welcomed by Linda, she is lovely and her hospitality is great. The place was nice heated, specially coming back from street party of new years. Breakfast is well served and delicious. Bathroom is ok and shower needs improvements. Bed soooo comfy! This guest house is 15min away from the city center by bus but very easy to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sunara K
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2015 via mobile

This guest house is set in lovely surroundings. The accommodation is extremely well appointed and very clean. The breakfast was exceptional, made from local produce. Above all, the service was first class, and this made it a memorable stay. We will definitely return. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarkVivs
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights. It suited us as it's easy to find, on a bus route into the city and next door to a nice country park ( for the dog). Initial contact via email with Laurence was helpful and when we arrived he continued to be helpful - even offered to look after the dog which was brave of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkLZ2134PV
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2015 via mobile

Recently stayed at this guest house on our way back from the Isle of Skye to Yorkshire via Pitlochry. A lovely find on the outskirts of the city of Edinburgh. Clean, friendly and welcoming (to us and my dog!). Would have no hesitation in recommending this if you are looking for simple, no frills guest house with an excellent inclusive...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deeliteful
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Husband and I stayed in a room downstairs. Spacious room, made-to-order breakfast, clean, friendly and accommodating staff. Short bus ride (around 10 minutes) into the city of Edinburgh.Would be interested to stay again next trip!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victoria13181
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Dirty and dingy when you enter the premises hallway. Staircase to upper floors appears to have short treads and they slope downwards. Very poor soft beds and en-suite not fit for purpose being far too small and narrow. Generally quite dingy inside and could do with a severe makeover. Dining area is a built on conservatory which gets scorching hot...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Peter M
Arden_Management, Manager at Arden Guest House, responded to this review

Whilst I am sorry this guest did not enjoy his stay with us, I do think this review is peevish and destructive. Internal corridor and hallway do not have natural light, so will appear dull if you do not put on the light. There is plenty of artificial lighting The areas are certainly not dirty. The breakfast room is indeed...

Droitwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Needing to find accommodation for one night in Edinburgh the Arden was an excellent choice.We were made welcome on arrival and nothing could be too much trouble. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast the next morning in the conservatory was ample. For those not wishing to drive into the city there was a frequent bus service from nearby....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian T
Arden_Management, Manager at Arden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is heartening to know that we provided the service you needed, and it was nice to meet your well-behaved dogs. Thank you.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Arden Guest House is a nice cozy place to stay near Edinburgh. Location is average as it's out of the city and there's nothing nearby (except for a very mediocre pub that's 15-20min walk away). However the bus stop into the city is close by and if you have a car you should have no troubles. The state of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
Arden_Management, Manager at Arden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I presume when you say there is "nothing nearby" you meant places to eat. You may recall my warning comment about the pub, and there are several places to eat within a relatively short distance away, but admittedly not within easy walking distance. When matters arise, such...

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
11.6 km away
Ascot Garden
Ascot Garden
#87 of 445 in Edinburgh
66 reviews
5.2 km away
Mackenzie Guest House
Mackenzie Guest House
#123 of 445 in Edinburgh
74 reviews
1.8 km away
Clarin Guest House
Clarin Guest House
#127 of 445 in Edinburgh
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Allison House Hotel
Allison House Hotel
#113 of 445 in Edinburgh
177 reviews
0.3 km away
Aaron Lodge
Aaron Lodge
#45 of 445 in Edinburgh
793 reviews
2.1 km away
Emerald Guest House
Emerald Guest House
#200 of 445 in Edinburgh
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Arden Guest House

Address: 126 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $108 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Arden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Arden Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Maybe, if not too busy, ask for a room not facing the street”
 of 5 bubbles 543debbiez, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were at the back of the house and slept really well as there was no road noise from that side.”
 of 5 bubbles Izbat, 25 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs room was spacious”
  • Bedroom
 of 5 bubbles Victoria13181, 3 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Dont go there, very poor value.”
 of 5 bubbles petermP3804UG, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“If possible, get a room NOT facing the main road”
 of 5 bubbles nicholasaishk, 13 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5