We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Safestay Edinburgh

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Safestay Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 960: English reviews
Start your review of Safestay Edinburgh
 Click to rate
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed today NEW

I stayed in this hostel just one night. I arrived quit early in morning and I knew that check in was at 3 o'clock. The girl at the reception with dark hair and a piercing on the lips was a bit unfriendly telling me that that "I should know that check in was at 3 o'clock", well I was aware...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariarosaria P
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I am very happy with my stay in this hostel. Service was really really nice and helped me a lot, even at night and the day I was leaving. The facilities are fantastic, each bed has a small light and a plug, and also a locker. The room is dark at night so I slept really good. I liked having...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank R M
SafestayEdinburgh, Manager at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hostel is well located and staff were really friendly. Our room was clean and well ventilated. Breakfast buffet was good and the bar has good prices. Rooms facing the patio deal with some noise from the bar buy if you don't mind they are good too. People should bring their own locks as lockers don't have them. Overall it...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ivanoxba
SafestayEdinburgh, Manager at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Yonkers
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel is clean and fairly quiet. The rooms have standard amenities. The breakfast was not great, but there are so many good options in Edinburgh, it didn't really matter. The staff was very friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank eled524
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Where to begin. When I arrived to check in at three, there were quite a few people also waiting. But only one staff member to check us all in. The check in process is incredibly tedious, as they take your details, and then you have to write them all out again. It isn't streamlined st all. Took me about 35...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter R
SafestayEdinburgh, Manager at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor and Hostel World. Firstly please let me apologies for the delay you experiences at check in. On your day of arrival we had a large group check in and unfortunately it appears that you were behind them. We have two member of staff at reception to...

Stirling
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here while attending a show on a Saturday night. Great location, nice clean room with good shower, friendly staff. Considering the low price we paid It was more the value was more than expected. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Archie F
Province of Milan, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was not used to sleep in a multiple room but it was ok. The price could allow you to stay longer in Edimburgh downtown and visit a wonderful city. It could be useful if they could offer towels. Spero di tornarci

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcocB5051AA
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Day shift staff have very poor people skills, disgusting manners and very rude. Made us feel uncomfortable. Room was very spacious, we had to ask if anyone was sharing our room as more beds were in and this was not clear in check in as we did not wish to share. Ideal for us for a night out, night shift...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shann0n94
SafestayEdinburgh, Manager at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am very disappointed to read your comments on the staff and apologies if they did anything that you considered to be rude. We pride ourselves on how many lovely compliments we get about our staff. I hope that we will have an opportunity in the future to change your view on this. Thank you

Dublin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From when we checked in everything was perfect. We arrived at 11:30 and the room was not supposed to be ready until 3 however the nice lad at the check in asked the housekeeping team and we were able to check in straight away. Everything was perfect after that.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rian208
SafestayEdinburgh, Manager at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon!

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can recommend this hostel, the rooms and all the facilities were very clean and the staff was friendly. In the ground floor, there is a nice bar to get a drink - however, the bar is quite noisy, you cannot bring your own alcohol and most importantly, there is no other common area. No place for quiet working but...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank viktoriem2017

356 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (209)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Double Twin Room (24)
Viewed
Eight Person Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
841 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,388 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just off the Royal Mile in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, Safestay Hostel, Edinburgh, redefines the hostel experience. Safestay Hostel is an award winning stylish five-star hostel with great facilities that make it the ideal choice for value accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh. Safestay Hostel's rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious and all have en-suite facilities. The hostel can provide private rooms as well as larger dorm style living so there really is something for everyone. Safestay hostel really is the ultimate urban retreat with Bar 50, a fully licensed restaurant and bar, with free Wi-Fi, Sky Sports, pool table, and a great atmosphere. There is also a 24 hour reception, no curfew, and all of Edinburgh's lively night scene and famed attractions on your doorstep. Safestay also offers fantastic City break deals, family and friend packages, group offers and stag and hen specials as well as seasonal offers. So what are you waiting for? Come and see for yourself why Safestay Hostel is the smart choice for your journey to Scotland's vibrant and historic Capital city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Safestay Edinburgh

Address: 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh EH1 1NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $32 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Safestay Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Safestay Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Safestay Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Safestay Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Noisy on the lower floors due to the proximity to the street and the in-house bar”
 of 5 bubbles kiwifamily007, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I had room 506 and was very happy with it. It was close to the elevators and easy to find. It was spacious and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles SuzanS_8_2016, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room, not on the hotel bar side.”
 of 5 bubbles 125am_liec, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near the bar are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 592lianl, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near outdoor sitting area are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles cassandras646, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5