We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aynetree Guest House

Agoda.comUS$82*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$88*
US$82*
Great Deal
US$88*
US$88*
US$82*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Aynetree Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aynetree Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
northern ireland
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Travelling by car from Northern Ireland my wife,I,and two teenage sons decided on the Ayntree for two main reasons : The reasonably priced family room which would contain all of us ( double bed and two bunks) and the parking facility on site. We had a three night stay during July and were made to feel very welcome and special...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosolino8792
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Martin, thank you for the great review. But mostly, thank you so much for the free entertainment in the front garden. It was great listening to Alan and listening to you and Gillian chat about your lives in the music industry. It is such a pity that we did not have a piano and I could have wheeled it...

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Anne and Brian are very friendly hosts and we spent a great evening with them under the sky in front of some beers chatting after a long day visiting Edinburgh. Thanks Brian for giving helpful advices on our next transfer from Endinburgh to Inverness through a wonderful scenic route.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cristiano_Milan
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Cristiano, the pleasure was all ours. You were great company. The beer was good too!

Hamilton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

My Fiance and I stayed here for 1 night while we went to Mussleburgh Racecourse. This is a beautiful guest house, Our room was small, however very comfortable with everything you could ask for and more for 2 people sharing so we were very pleased! The bed was very comfortable, and we slept very well, usually in hotels we wake...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivia R
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Hi \Olivia and kevin, thank you for an amazing review! It made us very happy and Brian almost did a highland fling on his crutches. That was a sight to see, I can assure you! Anne.

London
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We had a really great stay here for two nights, comfortable bed and well equipped and serviced room. The breakfasts were really good with a good variety of cereals, porridge and traditional Scottish breakfast and the best haggis so far. You will need to get a bus into Edinburgh but they stop just down the road and only a fifteen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Enjoyingthesun2
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Hello there. Thank you for the great review. So glad that you enjoyed our breakfast. They set you up for the day. enjoyingtherain.

Lompoc, California
Reviewed 26 May 2016

The couple who run this Guesthouse were super! Accommodations neat, perfectly maintained. Breakfasts were superior, and the owners very helpful with advice. Love having the bus stop right out front, so we could get around easily. Definitely would recommend the Aynetree Guesthouse.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ingkaping
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

What a fantastic review. Reviews like this want me to try even harder. Negative reviews want me to sell up and walk away. This lovely review is very important to me and I read it just before retiring. So, a good sleep tonight knowing that I made a guest enjoy the Edinburgh experience and our hospitality.

Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

I recently visited Edinburgh with my two friends and we stayed at this wonderful guest house. The rooms were adorable with ensuite bathrooms. The showers had great pressure and plenty of hot water. The beds were comfortable and cozy with plenty of pillows provided. The breakfast in the morning is fantastic! They serve porridge with fixings or cereal with coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicky R
enquiries661, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Nicky, What an amazing review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much.I have been called many things.....but never gracious. But I shall accept the compliment!!

Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

I booked for a king size bed room and pay less as it was clearly sold as a special offer in Agoda. Instead a few days later I was asked to pay 12 pounds more stating he mistook the price or alternatively to accept a smaller room or even to cancel the already paid reservation! I answered that I wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gius71
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

This man was very rude but his friend was not so. Perhaps his friend could teach him some manners. He was rude to me from the minute that he walked in. He booked for a TWIN ROOM (I have the evidence) for £49 which included breakfast, car park, WiFi and en suite. .and this was for a Saturday only when...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2015

This was our first time visiting Edinburgh and wanted somewhere just outside of the city. This was perfect for us as there is a bus stop outside that takes you straight into Edinburgh (Prince's Street). The room/s were just what we wanted and the breakfast left us full all day. Brian can arrange tours for you at no extra charge,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duddysdad
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Hi David, Thank you both for the great review. Sorry for the late response. Thank you again for moving rooms in the emergency that we encountered with our other guests. It was very kind of you both stay in room 4 for the first night. Yes, it is great that we have plenty of space for the guests in the...

Bologna, Italy
Reviewed 2 November 2015

We had a pleassant overnight stay in this very nice Victorian House in Portobello, very well served by several bus lines. On the arrival we were given excellent information about busses, services and all we needed. We slept in a warm and cosy room at the ground floor with all amenities. At breakfast we could choose among a good selection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaoloF0276
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Sarah and Paolo, thank you so much for your kind words. They are very much appreciated. I am so glad that you enjoyed the ambiance of our place and that you both come back again one day. Can I correct you on one point though. Our address is not Portobello. We live in Duddingston which is an area of Edinburgh...

Guisborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

We have just returned today from the Aynetree Guest House. The price is good but the room requires a little work, it's clean ish (nothing major, just a couple of tweaks), the bed is noisy, really uncomfortable and need looking at. My partner could usually sleep on a bed of nails but did not sleep much, I on the other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trev T
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

. Brian here. I spoke to the lady who was running my establishment whilst I joined my wife at the hospital (she became very ill during the night and was rushed to the infirmary). The lady is called Linda and she runs the guest house quite a bit when we want time off, go on holiday and unfortunately, become ill....

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
5.2 km away
Caravel Guest House
Caravel Guest House
#153 of 389 in Edinburgh
87 reviews
3.9 km away
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#200 of 389 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
4.3 km away
Culane House Hotel
Culane House Hotel
#131 of 389 in Edinburgh
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Milton House
Milton House
#136 of 389 in Edinburgh
24 reviews
4.7 km away
16 Pilrig Guest House
16 Pilrig Guest House
#150 of 389 in Edinburgh
30 reviews
6.4 km away
Heriott Park Guest House
Heriott Park Guest House
#169 of 389 in Edinburgh
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family run Victorian detached guest house, with private parking for 6 cars, situated near the city centre. 5 fully equipped en-suite bedrooms except one which has a private large bathroom all modernized and refurbished in June 2006 to a high standard. The dining room has a coal fire which is used during chilly nights. Although central to all attractions including Arthur's Seat and the Palace of Holyrood; the house is peaceful, quiet and relaxing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aynetree Guest House

Address: 12 Duddingston Crescent | Milton Road, Edinburgh EH15 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: $121 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aynetree Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Aynetree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aynetree Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aynetree Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you get the room with a private bathroom, I recommend taking a robe”
sarahharper85, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ground floor front facing room with ensuite facilities was excellent and quiet”
ellab684, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
“The room we stayed in had a private bathroom down the hallway with a separate private key entrance. Very clean and quaint with no shower.”
GottaLoveTrips, 23 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Our room had a main bed and a set of bunk beds for our two children.”
Deployedbrian, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Don't have breakfast”
mollie1312, 16 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$82* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$88
TripAdvisorUS$82
Expedia.comUS$88
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates