We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Show Prices
#26 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,651 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,493: English reviews
Southport, CT
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Right in old town, about a 10 minute walk to Edinburgh castle, 15 minute walk to Hollyrood Palace and Parliament building, 5 minute walk to Scottish National Museum. Rooms are clean and efficient. Amenities are fine and reception is very helpful. Megan checked me in efficiently and pointed me to where I wanted to go. Free wi fi throughout. You...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elaine3Southport
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Great to receive your review and read your comments. Indeed our location is ideal for getting out and about exploring Edinburgh, we hope you had a great time. Megan and the other team members will be best pleased to have been given your personal recognition. Thanks also for commenting upon our cleanliness, breakfast and the prompt personal service...

york
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Just returned back for a 2 night stay at this lovely hotel with my boyfriend. We choose this hotel just because of the amazing deal we received via superbreak. We stayed 2 nights bed and breakfast and first night evening meal. On arrival we were pleasantly treated by a lovely young lady on reception who spoke every time we past...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3lg--ox
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you very much for your great comments and "full marks" score. We also appreciate your feedback upon the the team, dining and bedroom. The whole team will be most pleased to have had your recognition for their customer care and service. Our breakfast offers excellent value being priced at £12.75 per person with an outstanding choice of...

Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Found this as a deal which was the main reason for booking - so pleased we did. Used the hotel purely for sleeping, and couldn't fault the room - unbelievably clean and very comfortable. Down a side street so very quiet. Our room overlooked the street, heard some boozy lads staggering home at around 2:00am but that was because had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4gomadinIstanbul
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for sharing your great comments and in particular mentioning our cleanliness, comfort and location. The team will be highly pleased to read your review. Hope to see you again soon. Chris & Team.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Booked as part of partners christmas pressent and coincided with burns night weekend. Easy to find and with in 10 minutes walk to city center. Room was really nice although did have a couple of what looked like make up stains on towel. Breakfast was good but think £12 per head was a bit much. Friendly staff. Parking could be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spoon75
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your great feedback. Our location does make an excellent base for getting out and about exploring the city. I will indeed share your other comment with the housekeeping team. I do feel that our breakfast is keenly priced at £12.75 with a great choice of over 40 items, cereals, juices, freshly sliced fruits, cold cuts,...

Warwickshire
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Friendly, quite stylish, clean. Big room, good bathroom, iron, ironing board, tea, coffee etc all the things you would expect. Great selection of fruit alongside cooked breakfast choice. Really liked it and would stay again. Only issue was heating, room very cold when I arrived in late evening, took along time to heat up and maybe because I had a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank WarwickshireMog
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments and feedback, really great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again very soon. Chris & Team.

Aberdeen
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

This is the third time in 5 years i've stayed at this hotel. The staff are always friendly. The rooms were spotlessly clean with modern decor. Location wise is excellent. Probably a huge plus point for the hotel is that there is hardly any noise outside when trying to get to sleep as the hotel is situated well off the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abertraveller1
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thanks ever so much for your great review and complimentary comments. Hoping to see you at our hotel again sometime soon. Chris & Team.

Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Modern hotel but no character! Arrived early but our room was still not ready so we were offered an upgrade (at a price increase!) or to store our luggage in the store room. Breakfast wasn't included in our price unfortunately but we did pay to have it (£12.50 each) which was nice, good coffee, eggs cooked how you would like,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Han and Mart M
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I will be sure to share you feedback with the team. Generally it appears that you have enjoyed your stay. Chris & Team.

Kilcreggan Argyll and Bute
Reviewed 18 January 2014

we recently stayed at the hotel for 4 nights; ideal location; clean comfortable room; quiet; very professional but very friendly staff. We only used the restaurant one night for dinner; it was excellent; highly recommend the venison ; hoping to get back to Edinburgh in a few months; 10 Hill place will be our first choice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eastonmackiefamily
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thanks ever so much for your "full marks" review and commenting upon the staff professionalism, hotel cleanliness and comfort. The head chef and his brigade are most happy to have read your review. It is highly pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay. You say you are returning to Edinburgh within the next few months and we...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 16 January 2014

First of all, this hotel appealed to me because it did not appear to be just another one of a large hotel chain. I like the idea that the hotel is owned by the Royal College of Surgeons and is located adjacent to their museum. It is on a quiet side street and is perfectly located to be within easy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DrJohnDublin
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you very much for sharing your great comments. We are all highly delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Ten Hill Place is owned by The Royal College of Surgeon's, Edinburgh whose history dates back to 1505. The museum of surgical pathology is definitely worth a visit too. All profits generated by...

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed in a "junior suite" on the top floor. As suites go, it was really not much bigger than standard rooms in other hotels we have stayed in. That said, the price point was very competitive for the location - which can't be faulted. We didn't use the hotel bar or restaurant, preferring to explore restaurants and bars in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boycie76
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Great to read that you enjoyed your stay. Our Skyline rooms on the top floor are very popular and very well appointed, room 503 does indeed have a spectacular view of Arthur's Seat and the Forth estuary. Thanks for commenting upon our excellent value and brilliant location. I unsure whether you are commenting upon our previous the breakfast...

537 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (305)
Viewed
Room/Suite (116)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Other (80)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
Skyline Room Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Staying in Southside & Holyrood

Neighbourhood Profile
Southside & Holyrood
Many of Edinburgh’s student hangouts gather around university buildings in Southside, the sort of neighbourhood that supports a long string of second-hand shops and eateries serving ethnic food for just a few pounds. In August the student population is replaced by vast numbers of boisterous visitors here for the Fringe, Edinburgh’s world-class comedy and arts festival which headquarters itself here. Flanking Southside are two great parks. The Meadows is a vast flat and sporty space where football, rugby, tennis, cricket, croquet, and golf often all take place side by side. Kids in its big playgrounds add to the joyful noise. Far bigger and much wilder, Holyrood Park extends to the east and provides a real hike up Arthur’s Seat, but the district is best known as the site of Scotland’s Parliament and its premier Royal Palace—and their steady stream of sightseers.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
No.Ten Restaurant
No.Ten Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ten Hill Place Hotel in Edinburgh - one of the capital's premier city centre hotels. Voted as 'conference hotel of the year 2015' Scottish Hotel Awards. Set in a quiet Georgian square with airy public places to each of our 77 smart bedrooms, the mood of Ten Hill Place Hotel is one of quiet sophistication, and one we believe sets us apart from other Edinburgh hotels. So if you are looking for an Edinburgh city centre hotel, be sure to make Ten Hill Place your first destination and an address we hope you will come back to again and again. During your stay why not visit our Number 'Ten Restaurant' recently awarded 1 AA Rosette for our current menu or '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & Barrow, with live Piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings both are located on the ground floor and are the perfect places to enjoy a meal or drink with friends or family. 'Number Ten Restaurant' our Rosette award winning restaurant, enjoy friendly service whilst being tempted by our locally sourced a la carte seasonal menu served from 5pm to 9.30Pm. '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & barrow. The wine bar menu available during from 12pm till 9.30Pm offers a wide range of teas, coffees, snacks, sandwiches, lights meals and traditional dishes to enjoy. The bar displays a large range of specially selected wines by Corney & Barrow, draught and local bottle beers, malt whiskies, Gins, vodkas and spirits for you to sit back and relax with. Ten Hill Place cares about the environment and has a Gold Award for Green Tourism from VisitScotland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Address: 10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland (Formerly Ten Hill Place, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Price Range: $173 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Edinburgh
Hotel Ten Hill Place
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't put couples in the end of the hall rooms - floor space is limited.”
Pepperdog-Mom, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I was in room 420 & it was excellent, you can see the beautiful scenery beyond, Never heard any other person going about”
  • Room View
Deefan54, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The suite rooms on the 5th are definitely worth it for the view”
  • Beautiful view from a suite on the 5th floor
Malaganki, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pleasant centrally located hotel that I would return to”
72sheenam, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 202 was a very quiet room overlooking a grass area and buildings. Hotel situated in side street so most rooms would be quiet”
danzo2, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5