We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Show Prices
#25 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,627 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,469: English reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We had booked for one night stay as the location was handy for Meadows Marathon the following day. After looking at reviews and website and liked the fact it was owned by the Royal College of Surgeons and was a social enterprise. When we arrived at reception never have we met reception staff that treated customers with so much disdain....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank T8trav
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your stay. We are indeed owned by the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh, and we are proud that the profits generated from our hotel go to help fund the important work the College does. Being only a relatively young hotel, at 7 years old, we do have all the benefits of a...

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stayed here whilst on business the hotel was lovely very modern and very clean. Room were very well equipped as was the bathroom. All very clean too. Only one downfall was the choice on the menu for dinner very red meat orientated no chicken or pasta dishes, I asked for another choice and was given the bar choice which I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cvh1312
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments! We recently refurbished all our rooms, and are very happy with the modern look of the hotel. We are sorry you found the a la carte menu lacking. Your comments have been passed on to our head chef. We hope you found something of interest in our Wine Bar menu, and hope to welcome...

Portrush, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed here during a rugby weekend when most hotels double their prices. We arrived at 9.30 am hoping to drop our bags off and go for a wander as we were too early to check in. The pleasant hotel staff told us we could check in as they had a room available - some 3 hours early! The room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Helen C
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on your stay with us. We do believe we are in an excellent location for all the attractions in Edinburgh, but taxis are sometimes helpful when in heels!! Your comments on the food will be passed to our F&B Team who I am sure will be delighted with them. We hope it...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2013

On first appearances the hotel is excellent - boutique style rooms, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, and although a fairly quiet restaurant, good food, with very attentive service. The downside was to find one dirty towel and no clean towels in our room, we mentioned it to reception on our way out, came back to find we had clean towels but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tinajn
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

thank you very much for taking the time to post comments on your stay with us. The green light is an emergency lighting system in case of a power failure. Your comments on the housekeeping have been passed to the appropriate department and will be brought to the attention of the staff. I am delighted you did however enjoy our...

glasgow scotland
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel 5 minutes walk from the castle, and 15 from the bus station. Room was immaculate, although a green light illuminated our room at night, but we still slept soundly. All staff we met were helpful and attentive, especially Alex our waiter at dinner on the Friday. Breakfast was great, dinner was lovely although not many choices. Would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rangers1872
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments on your stay. The green light is for emergency lighting in each room in case of a power failure and we hope it did not cause too much of an inconvenience. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and your kind comments on Alex will be passed to him. Thank you.

Aberdeen
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Location - 5 minute walk from the the Royal Mile, 10 minutes to Princes St. Really nice Hotel with large rooms. Complementary free wifi. The breakfast buffet was really good with lots of choice. We also had evening meal which was very nice. Not a large selection, but well cooked and presented. Found staff to be friendly, and helpfull

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RamieAnneAberdeen
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We will let the staff know you were very happy with the food and the service your received. Thank you.

Chapelhall, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Was pleasantly surprised to be able to check in a couple of hours earlier than we should have and could relax in our room . had just expected they would look after our overnight bag, Very nice and knowledgeable staff on the desk. Our room was well designed, although I can't think who would wish glass doors on the bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elspeth D
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We note the comments on the bed - we usually receive very positive comments on our comfy beds, but we appreciate we cannot suit everybody. It does sound however as if you enjoyed everything else about yoru stay which is great!

Manchester
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Really nice room, standard double was a nice sized room with a very comfy bed. The decor is lovely and the bathroom is very spacious. Complementary free wifi was an added bonus. They were also very accommodating as we arrived very early and they allowed us into our room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. The complimentary wi-fi has been a very welcome addition to our guests.

St Andrews
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I've stayed in many hotels in Edinburgh, but a first visit for this one. Safe to say it wil be my last. Upon arrival at the hotel I was greeted with an unfriendly receptionist who was blunt and unhelpful. Upon finding my "superior" room, I was greeted with a room the size of a postage stamp with barely any room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank antraveller71
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your comments - I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations. I am unable to ascertain which room you stayed in, but I feel our superior rooms are indeed spacious and well equipped, our bedrooms carry all the features of any other 4 star hotel. It may be that our housekeeping team had done us a...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Lovely stay in a fab hotel. Was a special occasion as my boyfriend was speaking at the parliament and this was the perfect hotel to make it wonderful. Paid for upgrade and although we thought 40 quid was a little pricey, the room was beautiful and large. Came back to hotel after midnight and the night watchman was happy to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L G
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a super stay! We are very proud of our Skyline rooms and i'm glad they added to your experience. We hope to see you again soon!

532 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (300)
Viewed
Room/Suite (114)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Other (80)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
Skyline Room Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
268 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,055 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Southside & Holyrood

Neighbourhood Profile
Southside & Holyrood
Many of Edinburgh’s student hangouts gather around university buildings in Southside, the sort of neighbourhood that supports a long string of second-hand shops and eateries serving ethnic food for just a few pounds. In August the student population is replaced by vast numbers of boisterous visitors here for the Fringe, Edinburgh’s world-class comedy and arts festival which headquarters itself here. Flanking Southside are two great parks. The Meadows is a vast flat and sporty space where football, rugby, tennis, cricket, croquet, and golf often all take place side by side. Kids in its big playgrounds add to the joyful noise. Far bigger and much wilder, Holyrood Park extends to the east and provides a real hike up Arthur’s Seat, but the district is best known as the site of Scotland’s Parliament and its premier Royal Palace—and their steady stream of sightseers.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
No.Ten Restaurant
No.Ten Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ten Hill Place Hotel in Edinburgh - one of the capital's premier city centre hotels. Voted as 'conference hotel of the year 2015' Scottish Hotel Awards. Set in a quiet Georgian square with airy public places to each of our 77 smart bedrooms, the mood of Ten Hill Place Hotel is one of quiet sophistication, and one we believe sets us apart from other Edinburgh hotels. So if you are looking for an Edinburgh city centre hotel, be sure to make Ten Hill Place your first destination and an address we hope you will come back to again and again. During your stay why not visit our Number 'Ten Restaurant' recently awarded 1 AA Rosette for our current menu or '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & Barrow, with live Piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings both are located on the ground floor and are the perfect places to enjoy a meal or drink with friends or family. 'Number Ten Restaurant' our Rosette award winning restaurant, enjoy friendly service whilst being tempted by our locally sourced a la carte seasonal menu served from 5pm to 9.30Pm. '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & barrow. The wine bar menu available during from 12pm till 9.30Pm offers a wide range of teas, coffees, snacks, sandwiches, lights meals and traditional dishes to enjoy. The bar displays a large range of specially selected wines by Corney & Barrow, draught and local bottle beers, malt whiskies, Gins, vodkas and spirits for you to sit back and relax with. Ten Hill Place cares about the environment and has a Gold Award for Green Tourism from VisitScotland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Address: 10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland (Formerly Ten Hill Place, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Price Range: $140 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Edinburgh
Hotel Ten Hill Place
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room no 420 and we can really recommend that one.”
 of 5 bubbles ChristerA_11, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a view look over the mountain which is lovely to wake up to”
  • View from room 421
  • Lovely bed
 of 5 bubbles Worldtravel1992, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“High floor and to the rear of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles liams320, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The corner rooms are very good.”
 of 5 bubbles V1915MBpeterb, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you can get an upgrade go for it. Higher up rooms great and ask for one with view over towards Arthurs seat etc. Penthouse rooms are lovely. But have never been disappointed with any of their rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles jad211958, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5