We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Nicolson Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Nicolson Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A colleague/friend and I stayed here for one night during the week for business as we both travelled far. We received an excellent welcome from the office which is on the way to the flat from the train station (so not a detour). The flat was very decorated and well looked added quality of being close to local amenities and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbwhite1
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in the Nicholson apartments for 3 nights over the bonfire night weekend for my birthday. Booked this in advance and got a massive saving on our booking. Excellent value for money, clean, comfortable and warm apartment. Can't believe how big the apartment was and how well equipped it was! Had everything we needed. Staff at the office for check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Emma, we appreciate you sharing our experience in an online forum and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that your comments have been passed to our maintenance department for immediate resolution. Thank you for taking the time to recommend us in an online forum and we hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh again...

durham
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Clean ,comfortable spacious apartment in good location. Very well equipped with the little things you sometimes forget eg corkscrew, tea towels, washing up liquid. Plenty of space for a family of five. We stayed in Drummond Street apartments very close to the Royal Mile, lovely restaurants near by and a tesco round the corner. Would advise getting a taxi from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenyabride
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Kenyabride, it was a genuine pleasure having you with us and we are very glad that we were able to provide everything you required. Located less than five minutes’ walk from the world-famous Royal Mile, this luxurious property offers two double bedrooms, a separate single bedroom, Egyptian cotton linen, two bathrooms and an open plan living room with fully...

Reviewed 17 October 2016

Good walking distance from everything and the staff were lovely. Unfortunately, the front door let every single noise in. We heard people coming in and out of their flats and talking at all hours which was a shame. We had hoped a holiday apartment would ensure that rest and peace is not disturbed. Also, the blinds in the front room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helloeleanor
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Eleanor, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with Apartments Edinburgh. Our Quartermile apartment offers vertical venetian blinds in both rooms which allow external views but prevent those outside viewing in. The blinds are there to offer privacy yet still allow ample light, however, please accept our sincere apologies if these were not to your...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016

This place is amazing value and in a great location - walking distance from everything you would need or want to see / do in the city. Four of us stayed here and we had 2 double bedrooms, kitchen, bathroom and a lounge diner. We also had a welcome box of shortbread on arrival and more tea, coffee and sugar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandamandypops
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, it was a genuine pleasure having you with us and we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time in our accommodation. At Apartments Edinburgh we strive to provide luxury self-catering holiday homes in the heart of the Old Town for affordable prices and we are very glad that everything lived up to your expectations. We...

Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Absolutely spot on as a location and very comfortable apartment. Everything provided for a lovely weekend visit in Edinburgh. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff in the office location for collecting keys. (Although office located some way from the location of the apartment). Clean and comfortable. I would go back again and just recommended to family as they are visiting Edinburgh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pjgrinner
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Pjgrinner, we appreciate you sharing your recommendation in an online forum and we are honoured to receive such a lovely review. At Apartments Edinburgh we offer 39 luxury properties in the heart of the city and strive to provide everything our guests could require for the perfect self-catering break. For the ease of all our guests our key collection...

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We stayed at 2 West Nicholson Street, which was clean and facilities were good. Pub below was noisy until 3am, so unless you are out its a bit noisy. I found the bed to be very uncomfortable and the living area lacked space for 2-3 people. Great kitchen and the office staff were nice. Quite expensive for what it was

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie G
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Annie, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in our Nicolson Classic apartments. August is Edinburgh’s busiest time of year due to the International Fringe Festival, the largest arts festival in the world, which sees the city’s population doubling and is the most expensive time of year. As such, the noise level throughout the city...

Reviewed 3 September 2016

Stayed for 2 nights for (260 pounds) - 5 of us. The place was very well maintained. Well furnished; equipped with internet and SKY TV. The location was exactly where we needed as we were attending a graduation ceremony at the Surgeon's Hall. Fantastic place to live in and highly recommended for anyone attending any ceremony at the Surgeon's Hall

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren Y
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Darren, it was a genuine pleasure having you with us and we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh. Our Nicolson Apartments are ideally located for Edinburgh University, Surgeon’s Hall and are only a short walk from the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle. Each of these luxury self-catering properties offer a fully equipped kitchen,...

Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We stayed in the Drummond Street apartment for a long weekend during the Fringe. In terms of location it's ideal, five minutes walk from the major locations, literally just up the road from Pleasance, but off the main streets so that there isn't too much noise. It's also round the corner from Tesco Express and various restaurants and shops. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, we appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay in an online forum and it is a pleasure to hear that our Drummond Street apartments lived up to your expectations. Should you return to Edinburgh in the future please contact us directly and we will ensure you are offered the best available rates for...

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here recently, at the West Nicolson St apartments. Ours was a studio on the top floor. There's no lift (we knew about the stairs on booking) but you quickly get used to the four flights of stairs. It's a good way to burn off the extra food calories from all the great Edinburgh restaurants. The apartment is in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toria1976
StGilesAptsEdinburgh, Manager at Nicolson Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Toria, thank you for sharing your experience in an online forum and we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your time with us. Rest assured we have passed your comments along to our maintenance team for immediate investigation and resolution....

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Kenneth Mackenzie
Kenneth Mackenzie
#131 of 150 in Edinburgh
289 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Richmond Place Apartments
Richmond Place Apartments
#23 of 205 in Edinburgh
200 reviews
Old Town
St Giles Apartments
St Giles Apartments
#20 of 205 in Edinburgh
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Lady Nicolson Court
Lady Nicolson Court
#105 of 205 in Edinburgh
11 reviews
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Merchiston Residence
#19 of 205 in Edinburgh
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Southside & Holyrood

Neighbourhood Profile
Southside & Holyrood
Many of Edinburgh’s student hangouts gather around university buildings in Southside, the sort of neighbourhood that supports a long string of second-hand shops and eateries serving ethnic food for just a few pounds. In August the student population is replaced by vast numbers of boisterous visitors here for the Fringe, Edinburgh’s world-class comedy and arts festival which headquarters itself here. Flanking Southside are two great parks. The Meadows is a vast flat and sporty space where football, rugby, tennis, cricket, croquet, and golf often all take place side by side. Kids in its big playgrounds add to the joyful noise. Far bigger and much wilder, Holyrood Park extends to the east and provides a real hike up Arthur’s Seat, but the district is best known as the site of Scotland’s Parliament and its premier Royal Palace—and their steady stream of sightseers.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the city Nicolson luxury self-catering residences offer a stylish and unique base to explore all our city has to offer. These spacious apartments are tastefully decorated using neutral décor with traditional Scottish furnishings to create a warm and relaxing atmosphere. All are situated only a few minutes’ walk from some of Edinburgh’s major attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, the Scottish Museum and are located just around the corner from Edinburgh University.Each apartment has a living room with dining area, modern tiled bathroom, well equipped kitchen, luxurious bedroom(s), cable TV, a DVD player, washing machine, dishwasher and hairdryer as well as soft fluffy towels and fantastic quality Egyptian cotton linen. We can also provide cots and high chairs if required.To complete your home away from home we also provide complimentary sea kelp toiletries from the Scottish Fine Soap Company as well as tea, coffee, mineral water and orange juice to help you settle in.Whether you are visiting for work, play, a family holiday or a romantic break away we have an exclusive private residence to suit your needs. Apartment Facilities:Iron, ironing Board, washing machine, heating, hairdryer, complimentary sea kelp toiletries from the Scottish Fine Soap Company, bathroom with bath or shower, TV, DVD player, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, electric kettle, cooking equipment and crockery, additional blankets. Cots and high chairs can be supplied upon request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nicolson Apartments

Address: 28 West Nicolson Street, Edinburgh EH8 9DD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Price Range: $103 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nicolson Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Nicolson Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicolson Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Nicolson Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nicolson Apartments staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Nicolson Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid apartment 2 unless you are younger and going clubbing. Note there's no en-suite”
 of 5 bubbles 509annieg, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't chose the Drummond Street Apartment.”
 of 5 bubbles luvank, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We were on the second or third floor with no elevators due to the age of the building but the rooms was clean, modern and comfortable.”
  • St. Giles lit up at night from our bedroom window.
 of 5 bubbles Y929VDjohnl, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
“no lift, there are 13 apartments 4 floors”
 of 5 bubbles gilliandrea, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“ask for a flat where the bedrooms are not at the front”
 of 5 bubbles Sammiiik, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay