We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Albyn Townhouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Albyn Townhouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Albyn Townhouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 385: English reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Great in all respects. You host, Lydie, is friendly, helpful and welcoming. Breakfast awesome. A number of great restaurants within 2-3 blocks. Rooms very comfortable. A bit of a walk to most attractions, but very doable, as we did it without difficulty and got to see and know the town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FGOG
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this review

thank you so much! we are indeed very lucky to be in Bruntsfield, lovely and vibrant yet so quiet & peaceful! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Take care Lydie

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Stayed for three nights while attending a family wedding & really enjoyed our stay. Parking is tight but saved a lot of hassle, also handy for public transport & hosts were a great source of help & advise. Enjoyed my breakfast although I would prefer full fat yoghurt & not the healthy fat free they had available, minor niggle. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Detectorman
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this review

Hi! thank you much for your comments, we enjoyed having you with us too! I am so pleased you realised that we have different types of pillows! Finally! I can now tell my husband; "I was right"!!! take care. Lydie

Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We've been there for 2 days to visit the city at the end of our Scotland trip. We had a great, huge room with a sofa, a very comfortable bed and with even a small table. The shower was very nice and everything was absolutely clean. We loved staying there and it was the best b&b during our whole trip....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moosevancity94
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments, my team and I are overwhelmed by your lovely note, I am so pleased your enjoyed your stay with us at the Albyn! Kind regards Lydie & Team

stoke
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this wonderful guest house. We visited Edinburgh for my wife's 40th birthday and chose the albyn guest house and we weren't disappointed. The owners lydie and David were so helpful and welcoming and before we arrived they supplied loads of info on restaurants and things to do. We went to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hughesstoke
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this review

I love the Fantastic word!! thank you so much for your lovely comments! yes food is good around here and we are lucky enough to have been able to sample some amazing places on our "Marketing lunches!!" it was lovely to have you both, take care. Lydie & David

Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We had a wonderful (first visit for me) stay in Edinburgh - based ourselves here for 3 nights for the Fringe and Tattoo. Lydie and her team are so welcoming and the breakfasts were amazing. We had room 7 - at the top with a view to the castle over the rooftops. As you'd wish - clean, well presented and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gillsplace
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for saying that! We are so pleased your felt that way with us, we really enjoy what we are doing and having happy customers makes the Albyn all worth it! take care. Lydie

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The Albyn Townhouse is a well located (20 minutes walk from Princes Street) B&B in a quiet residential neighbourhood. It is well served by local shops and restaurants and is an ideal spot for those who are happy to be a little bit away from the noise and bustle of central Edinburgh. Our room was very comfortable and of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnF62
Cornish Maine
Reviewed 8 August 2016

My husband and I landed in Edinburgh late, went through a chaotic period renting a car, getting lost and trying to make it to the B&B. We were in touch by phone with Lydie, who was very concerned that we make it safely. We ended up getting lost, and finally about 10pm she offered to come rescue us. We waited...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Miknamrok
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this review

Hello you two lost adventurers! Thank you for your comments, you are quite alright! it was nice to come and get you, what fun! I love your description of the night, you are funny. I also wish I was able to have kept you longer to rest your tired travellers bones, but beyond noon we do have to say goodbye!...

Paris, France
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Fantastic the quiet in and outside the house. The house is the last one in a dead-end street, thus no traffic noise at all. Not even coming from other streets. The neighbourhood is definitely very quiet. You can only hear seagulls! We had very much luck with the other guests as well, since they all have always been very polite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oreinar
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this review

Hello, i am so sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. I could have changed anything for you unfortunately. The room you reserved, was described in metre sizes on Booking.com, there was ample storage space under your especially designed bed and under the window bench for your two days luggage, the services (including times) were the same...

North Carolina
Reviewed 31 July 2016

This townhouse is more like a very small boutique hotel with a number of rooms and a restaurant style breakfast room. It is located on a cul-de-sac, very quiet, and the rooms are of decent size and well-appointed. The hosts are very welcoming. The townhouse is located in its own urban community about 20-30 minutes walk from the center of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DollyRW1
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for your review, you are very kind! We are so pleased you enjoyed the house, we are very fortunate to have the Albyn & to be in the Bruntsfield area, it really is lovely to see such comments from our guests. Thank you so much. Take care. Lydie

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, on the first port of call on our honeymoon trip around Scotland with our 5 month old baby. The guest house is gorgeous, very atmospheric, welcoming & homely. It's location is great- we enjoyed the 20 min walk into Edinburgh & the buses back were easy & regular. Dave the host was great, very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Micksterooney
Albyntownhouse, Owner at Albyn Townhouse, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for your comments, David will be pleased! he worked very hard and really enjoyed meeting you and I quote "the really cute baby....!!!" As a side note, I am glad you found all the restaurants good for you and baby, it can be difficult to dine in Edinburgh with kids, as restaurants have to have...

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (175)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
805 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraoch House
#9 of 445 in Edinburgh
730 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#16 of 445 in Edinburgh
608 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 445 in Edinburgh
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lovely Victorian townhouse 20 min walk to Old Town & all attractions. All en-suite quiet rooms, freeview TVs, Wifi, Visit Scotland Taste Our Best Award winning breakfasts also for veggies and vegans, lots of homemade goodies! Private parking £5.00 Per night. On parle Francais! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Albyn Townhouse

Address: 16 Hartington Gardens | off viewforth, Edinburgh EH10 4LD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Bruntsfield
Price Range: $94 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albyn Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Albyn Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albyn Townhouse Hotel Edinburgh
Albyn Townhouse Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Albyn Townhouse staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Albyn Townhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in Room 3 which is at the front on the first floor - it's huge!”
 of 5 bubbles Garamond11, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No lift so probably not suitable to those who are unable to climb stairs”
 of 5 bubbles tracysQ8874XY, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room #2 was very spacies.”
 of 5 bubbles burtm2013, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“located at the end of a dead end street, so very quiet in the evenings. Great restaurants/variety w/in 10 minute walk.”
 of 5 bubbles 752mt, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you're traveling with a group of people, be sure to book early to ensure that you'll be able to book multiple rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles E2277ORjamesb, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5