We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (5)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good32%
  • Average24%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Meeting Rooms
Free Parking
Breakfast included
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
78
83
70
32
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
78
83
70
32
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsall day breakfasthoneymoon suitepacked lunchfriday and saturdaycentral locationpittencrieff parkfull scottish breakfastcomfortable staytea and coffee facilitiesstayed for nightssteak piebit datedfamily mealcentre of townmy mumcouldn't faultstaff were lovely
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

My partner and I went for lunch today (20/04/18) very nice! When I went to pay for it my card declined unfortunately...to my embarrassment. The manager Chris (I think his name was, could be wrong) couldn’t have been more helpful and understanding. Can’t thank him...More

Thank lw_1992
Response from Emma A, Manager at The City HotelResponded 4 days ago

Dear lw_1992, Thank-you for reaching out to us via Tripadvisor. Callum was the supervisor on duty when you visited our restaurant, so we'll be sure to pass your kind comments on to him. We completely understand that these things can occasionally happen and are glad...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for a works reunion one night in a single room. The room was clean tidy and the bed was comfortable. The staff were pleasant and helpful. I had a meal in the restaurant and the food was well cooked and reasonably priced....More

Thank dabhanddoug
Response from Emma A, Manager at The City HotelResponded 6 days ago

Dear dabhanddoug, Thank you for leaving us this lovely online review! We do always try our very best to make our guests' experience enjoyable and hopefully we can welcome you back to The City Hotel next time you are visiting Dunfermline. Kind regards Hotel Staff...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice meal here, but disappointing that the waiting staff don't know the menu. Had asked whether the mixed salad with the hot and spicy chicken was iceberg lettuce based, the waitress replied she want sure, then yes, so I didn't order. My mum who was...More

Thank Laura M
Response from Emma A, Manager at The City HotelResponded 6 days ago

Dear Laura M, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and thank-you also for complimenting our food. We would however like to apologise that our server was unfamiliar with one of the menu items. We suspect that in this instance, the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed recently in this hotel, food had came out cold with hair in the food. When i got to my room the bathroom was in a disgusting state as well as the bed sheet, it had stains on it (god knows what). a couple of...More

Thank 541hotelreviews
Response from Emma A, Manager at The City HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 541hotelreviews, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent visit to our hotel and we apologise if things were not quite right for you during your stay. It seems a great pity that you didn't draw any of these...More

Reviewed 17 March 2018

Made a table booking for 14 family members for my Daughter 16th Birthday, which was made easy by Callum who understood my party requirements and explained the choices available for my guests. A deposit was required due to the numbers for this occasion, which was...More

Thank suds7301
Response from Emma A, Manager at The City HotelResponded 19 March 2018

Dear suds7301, Thank-you for leaving us an online review on Tripadvisor. At the City Hotel, we always strive to meet our customers' expectations and it is indeed heartening to read your lovely comments. We will be sure to pass your compliments onto Callum and the...More

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Dunfermline, United Kingdom
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Meeting Rooms
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$72 - US$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$72 - US$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (5)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The City Hotel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Try going for rooms with bigger capacity. The beds are comfy and conveniently positioned"
Read review
"There are quite a few hotels in the same vicinity with much better rates , I would shop about and use this..."
Read review
"some rooms are over the karoke room, but that is only on till midnight,"
Read review
"Their is traffic at the front and at the back of the Hotel so it really depends if you can get a room outwith..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing