We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kinkell House Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Kinkell House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 40: English reviews
Portland, Maine
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Y'know, this B&B isn't particularly high-end, and it's a couple of miles from downtown St. A, but don't let that fool you - it's got everything you need and is sited on a farm between two golf courses on an overlook of the sea that's incomparable. Innkeepers are personable, welcoming, and busy. Plan to sit out on the hilltop overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suomigrrl
WillAlex, Owner at Kinkell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you very much for all your kind comments, I would just like to add that two of our rooms do have showers and for the one that doesn't there is a separate shower room available. There is also a television available in the sitting room which guests are very welcome to use. I fear the wi-fi is slow because...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 9 January 2014

It was incredibly difficult finding the house in the dark and when the GPS did not recognise where it was. Even with the postcode typed in. The house was located away from the main road and no sign of Kinkell House on the main road. You have to be at a snail's pace in order to look out for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aster_palms
WillAlex, Owner at Kinkell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Our driveway on the A917 has a sign on either side of it saying Kinkell House clearly visible rom the main road. We welcome guests to arrive at any time by arrangement, but do suggest an arrival time after 4:30 as a norm. I take the comment re floors strewn with wood to refer to the fact that the entrance...

paisley
Reviewed 29 September 2013

House in great location and housekeeper friendly and helpful.This house could be something really special but needs a lot of refurbishment.There are no locks on bedroom doors and en suite bathroom door did not close properly.The window in our bedrom had broken pains of glass,was filthy and the blind has dead flies and cobwebs on it.In fact throughout the house...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank aileengormley
New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We spent the better part of a week at Kinkell for our daughter's graduation in late June. I can't say enough good things about our visit. Frippy and Sandy were the best of hosts. The rooms were spacious and clean with wonderful views. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms large. Frippy and Sandy were generous with their advice...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dcclarkjr
WillAlex, Owner at Kinkell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind words - hugely appreciated and I hope you find an excuse to come again

Greensboro
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Oh My!! How can I best describe the memorable 3 nights we had with Frippy and Sandy! We were greeted with tea and welcomed so graciously into their home (has been in Sandy's family). We cannot begin to put into words the way we were welcomed!! Our rooms were delightful, with gorgeous views, oversized bathrooms and all the conveniences of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank martityler
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Spent 3 wonderful nights at Kinkell in August getting a true feeling of Scottish hospitality from Frippy and Sandy. Quiet nights with great beds and bath accomidations. Breakfast was fantastic with Frippy treating us to full "Scottish Breakfast" each morning. Grounds are beautiful with views from everywhere. Quick trip into town, but far enough to have the true farm feel....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Buck P
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed for one night at Kinkell House and found the whole experience thoroughly delightful;my room was lovely, the bed very comfortable,and the bathroom was spotless. Frippy and Sandy were the perfect hosts,welcoming and friendly,and i felt very much at home;the peace and quiet there after a long drive was much needed,and the place overall has an old fashioned charm.I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margueritelaura
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Difficulty getting response to our arrival despite having two noisy cars. No key to bedroom or front door. No tea making facilities in room but met with a tray of tea and shortbread. No TV in bedroom but able to use house lounge television. No toiletries in bathroom apart from left over bits of soap etc. Glad I had brought...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Margaret S
WillAlex, Owner at Kinkell House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am really sorry this guest clearly did not enjoy her stay, but I must clarify some of the points that are made in the review. There is a perfectly serviceable door entry system at the front door. The front door has a lock and a code entry lock which can be used if we are not in. We are...

Carmel, California
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our long, long plane flight was met with a warm welcome and a great cup of tea. Frippy and Sandy were the most gracious of hosts. They essentially shared their beautifully-furnished home with us, including providing afternoon tea and drinks. The full Scottish breakfast was an opportunity to meet other travelers, all of whom shared our enchantment with Kinkell. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clarkieboy99
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in August and booked at short notice through the St Andrews B&B association which worked brilliantly. We booked a family room and the dog was welcome too Great location as its 2 mins drive out of the town and with amazing views.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coxie5

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
4.1 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
277 reviews
0.8 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
2,976 reviews
2.1 km away
Balmungo Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
The Inn at Kingsbarns
The Inn at Kingsbarns
#1 of 3 in Kingsbarns
149 reviews
4.0 km away
Braeside House
Braeside House
#40 of 77 in St Andrews
115 reviews
3.8 km away
The Spindle Bed and Breakfast
The Spindle Bed and Breakfast
#36 of 77 in St Andrews
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kinkell House is a family home on a farm on the coast to the south and east of St Andrews where Sandy and Frippy offer a warm welcome, good food and friendly hospitality. An ideal base for golfers, or those interested in the historic medieval city ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kinkell House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Kinkell Farm | Kinkell Farm, St Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Kinkell House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinkell House Bed & Breakfast St Andrews, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kinkell House Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are ensuite, but subject to availability, one has a shower, one has a bath, and one has both.”
Kirkytomlo, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I was in a room facing away from the sea. I honestly didn't hear the much-amplified music playing in the Byre.”
Rudyard_K_1234599, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I suppose best room is at the back of the house, ITs large and over looks the gardens”
521Karen, 4 Aug 2014 | Read review
“There are better value B&B's in the area with pristine rooms and better breakfast choices.”
aileengormley, 29 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Not a bad choice for any room!!”
martityler, 22 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5