We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Golf Inn

Hotels.comUS$139*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Golf Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Start your review of The Golf Inn
 Click to rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent 1 night at The Golf Inn, St' Andrews last week. The staff were very nice and friendly. We had a lovely bedroom with ensuite bathroom which was spotless. Bed very large and comfy. We had a great breakfast with everything you could wish for There is no lift so is not good for people with walking difficulties. Very handy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scottishgirl719
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had an Itison voucher for here. Had a Sunday family outing with the dogs. Made to feel very welcome. Food was lovely, service and staff very good. Dogs & kids made very welcome. Will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrick w
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Glad we could be of service see you next time Best wishes Alex

renens
Reviewed 20 April 2017

We were intensely disappointed by this hotel, which was by far the most expensive on our entire trip and the worst room. We had booked through booking.com and paid £200 for a room that ended up being quite small, with a single pane of glass that let in cold air and traffic noise. The room was overlooking a road where...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roadwatcher
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Hello Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay, shame you never mentioned anything to us when you were here as we could have perhaps assisted in making your stay more comfortable. All the best Alex

Dartford
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

We would thoroughly recommend staying here, the staff that we met, Trish, Lindsay and Paul were the loveliest people you could meet, so friendly and helpful. Everything about this place was great, the food was excellent, rooms too, with huge bed. The location was perfect only about a minute or two's walk to the old course and five minutes to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, we pride ourselves on our people and our product, glad you enjoyed.. All the best Alex

chelmsford
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Strange looking pub and basic grub, however hot and edible ! Poor value for money but very close to the course. Bit if a victim of the endless amount of visitors that must prevent it trying harder! Recommend you try somewhere different.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank merlin03
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Hello, not sure what's so strange about our venue, its a pub with a bar and seating area for serving pub food, sorry it wasn't for you... we try hard to do a good job all year around as most of customers comment upon, but its not for everyone I guess.. Cheers Alex

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We had a lovely evening here after wanting to stay the night in St Andrews for so long we finally decided to book a night in this hotel. We didn't want to break the bank by staying in an overpriced hotel so when we discovered this hotel it was perfect. The hotel is small and cosy, Its décor is beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin T
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely feedback, Best Wishes Alex

Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

Went in here for a few drinks while staying in st Andrews. Nice pub with very welcoming staff .would probably stay here next time I am in town aswell .very reasonably priced aswell .great location next to the old course

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott K
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Appreciate your feedback Scott, See you again maybe Best Wishes Alex

Troon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Great little hotel with very friendly staff. The rooms, at least ours, are not big but are clean and adequate. The kitchen extract fan outside the window ( room 7) was an annoying noise from 7.45 am until 8 pm but fortunately it was off at night. The food was very good and the drinks reasonable. The website claims "Boutique...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback Bob All the best Alex

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 27 February 2017

The hotel was perfect for our needs, easy to walk one way to st andrews golf course and the other to the main shopping area. The staff were friendly and the room clean with a view of the sea and st andrews pavilion. A lovely breakfast with plenty of choices available for your needs. Whilst it was a short stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback David, Best Wishes Alex

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Just had a 2 night stay here, we were so impressed with the place. The location is perfect, the food and room were great and the staff were about the friendliest we've encountered. We have a toddler and they couldn't have been more accommodating. We'll go back to St Andrews and when we we do we'll definitely stay at The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SABrown82
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, much appreciated. All the best Alex

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
464 reviews
0.6 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
346 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#10 of 17 in St Andrews
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#9 of 17 in St Andrews
486 reviews
0.2 km away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
302 reviews
0.1 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WELCOME TO THE GOLF INN, previously known as 1 Golf Place, which has been bought over and had a fairly big makeover throughout. The property is located conveniently just across the road from the Old Course 18th hole and within walking distance of all the main attractions that St Andrews has to offer.Comprising 6 Double / Twin rooms, all en-suite, 1 Golf Place boasts crisp clean and comfortable rooms all complete with the following facilities: WiFi, Tea/Coffee, toiletries, high quality linen and towels, seating area iron facility as a small Inn we pride ourselves on our first class friendly customer service. Should you require anything during your stay please do not hesitate to ask us - we have staff available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Golf Inn

Address: 1 Golf Place, St Andrews KY16 9JA, Scotland (Formerly 1 Golf Place)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: $173 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Golf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Golf Place Hotel St. Andrews
The Golf Inn St Andrews, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Golf Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Golf Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You would do better to choose a beachfront hotel.”
roadwatcher, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the front of the hotel”
25cs, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I believe they have about 7 rooms available. Rooms at the front have a better view”
508rons, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room tips for views: 8&9; 5&6.”
Daytripper882015, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room 7, over kitchen noisy because of extractor fan, it did go off when kitchen closed, started up again around 7a.m.”
294elainem294, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$139* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$139
Hotwire.comUS$139
Orbitz.comUS$139
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates