We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Golf Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Golf Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Golf Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 46: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

The location i cannot complain, was ideal, in fact perfect. The breakfast was pretty tasty too. but the room was so small. and in the morning we heard people chapping on friends doors to wake them up for golf....we werent there for an early start. It wasnt remotely disabled friendly and i was exhausted walking up all the stairs to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah S
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Hello there, sorry you were awoken early, we do encourage guests to respect others, but sadly this not always the case in any hotel or wee Inn in our case... as for the room being small that is I guess a matter of opinion for which everyone is entitled. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and our location, your...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We only stayed overnight for 1 night with DBB. This hotel is just a 5min walk from the bus station in St Andrews, so if you don't wish to use your car you can get a Stagecoach X24 bus from Glasgow Buchanan St directly to it. If you need a small break this is ideal as the small hotel facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daytripper882015
vermont
Reviewed 20 November 2016

We arrived early and the staff took our luggage so we could hasten off to discover St. Andrews. We found our luggage in our rooms when we returned and that seemed to be how the Inn is run - ever accommodating to their guests. Our two rooms had large picture windows looking down over Golf Place to the sea. Beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MacD-NC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016

The Golf Inn was ideally situated for the Golf Course, beach, town center, Aquarium, St Andrews Castle and the old Cathedral. The bedrooms are above a bar/ restaurant, our room was compact but clean and well equipped, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing board and iron, hairdryer but no mirror in bedroom!! Bathroom was good size with bath and great shower, complimentary...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elaine m
glasgow ,scotland
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This is a pub with some rooms above. Room was clean and warm and had a slight view of the beach. Ideal for a short stay. Breakfast was tasty. Dinner choice was limited but the fish and chips went down a treat. Handy position and on a Monday night , it seemed quiet enough. Staff were very friendly. All in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greypigeon
Pitlochry, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

After walking around St Andrews trying to find a pet and child friendly place to eat our lunch we finally came across The Golf Inn. A family of 4 adults two children and a dog we were all a little tetchy at being sent away from so many places. The staff here immediately lightened the mood. They brought water for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie B
Canada
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We stopped in for lunch before wandering around the Old Course. We had a very basic lunch of soup and sandwich with coffee and it was just that - basic. We weren't expecting anything special so that's OK. The cafe is small and the decor is typical with golf memorabilia on the walls. Pleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CanadaFisher
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for that... anyone out there fancy a Soup & Sandwich lunch we serve them 1130am – 5pm daily here's the menu - served over two floors, pets welcome in the bar area only. Choice of Daily Soups are Served with Crusty Bread £4.50 Sandwich and Soup Combo £8.00 Triple Decker and Soup Combo £9.50 All our Sandwiches are made...

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Right down the street from the Old Course. This is a hotel with rooms on the 2nd and third floor (walk up only). Rooms were clean and comfortable. We stayed for two nights that included a nice Scottish breakfast. You have to rely on public parking on a side street which is only a block away. We had pints in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Colonel_Butler
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

thanks for taking the time to post your review Colonel ... sounds like you enjoyed your visit... see you next time maybe? All the best Alex

Pitlochry
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We spent a lovely morning in St. Andrews walking on the beach and decided it was time for some lunch. We had been looking forward to fish and chips so when we saw The Golf Inn it looked perfect. We sat down at a vacant table, no one came over for 10 minutes. When a waitress eventually came over there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katowa
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Let me continue the part of the story that you've missed off "You then upon being table checked you pointed this out and were subsequently offered an apology, and then a replacement, an alternative or a full no quibble refund" right... ..Er, no, the decision was made not to be straight with us at the time allowing no chance of...

Reviewed 10 October 2016

Stayed there for one night wish it had been longer , really nice and clean room ,big bed .staff friendly and helpful .breakfast was first class .and it's only walking distance to the old golf course ,golf museum and aquarium .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda R
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Hello Brenda, Thanks for your feedback, glad we could be of service... see you next time,, only for longer. yes.. All the best Alex

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
654 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
447 reviews
0.6 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
480 reviews
0.2 km away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
298 reviews
0.1 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WELCOME TO THE GOLF INN, previously known as 1 Golf Place, which has been bought over and had a fairly big makeover throughout. The property is located conveniently just across the road from the Old Course 18th hole and within walking distance of all the main attractions that St Andrews has to offer.Comprising 6 Double / Twin rooms, all en-suite, 1 Golf Place boasts crisp clean and comfortable rooms all complete with the following facilities: WiFi, Tea/Coffee, toiletries, high quality linen and towels, seating area iron facility as a small Inn we pride ourselves on our first class friendly customer service. Should you require anything during your stay please do not hesitate to ask us - we have staff available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Golf Inn

Address: 1 Golf Place, St Andrews KY16 9JA, Scotland (Formerly 1 Golf Place)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: $173 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Golf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Golf Place Hotel St. Andrews
The Golf Inn St Andrews, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Golf Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Golf Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You would do better to choose a beachfront hotel.”
roadwatcher, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the front of the hotel”
25cs, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I believe they have about 7 rooms available. Rooms at the front have a better view”
508rons, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room tips for views: 8&9; 5&6.”
Daytripper882015, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room 7, over kitchen noisy because of extractor fan, it did go off when kitchen closed, started up again around 7a.m.”
294elainem294, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5