We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ardgowan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

480 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 468: English reviews
Start your review of Ardgowan Hotel
 Click to rate
whitburn
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our very first visit to St Andrews (Shocking i know) ,but it will certainly not be our last. We choose Ardgowan Hotel at random from the internet , and i am pleased to say we couldnt have choosen better. The hotel was excellant from booking on the telephone(cheaper than booking .com) to check in to check out. The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Tom, Wow! What a great review! Thank you so much for leaving your kind comments for us. It's a good feeling to know that all of our hard work has paid off, and that you've not only had a great stay in St Andrews, but that you enjoyed your time with us as well! As a family-owned business, when...

Haverhill, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at the Ardgowan for four nights on a golf trip with friends and family. While the rooms were clean and accommodating they did show their age a bit. The staff was friendly and efficient. The food was very good and a hearty breakfast was included. The pub called Playfaire was a lot of fun at night and as a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emarcy54
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello emarcy54, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us, and we're glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. We do appreciate your comments on our bedrooms. We've recently refurbished our Classic Standard rooms, and are in the process of making several other changes throughout the hotel, so we hope you can come back and...

Dundee
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely reception staff! Couldn't do enough for us! Room was lovely, clean and comfortable. Food was excellent! Only downside was fire alarm going off in the morning which was deafening but also reassuring that it works!! Would highly recommend this hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fiona_gill
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Fiona, Thank you for leaving us a great review for your stay! We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time with our staff! It was such a pleasure having you both here. We're glad to see that the unexpected fire alarm didn't put a damper on your stay, and we can only...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 2 nights in a 1st floor classic room which faced rear gardens. Twin room fairly compact with reasonable bathroom but not great toiletries. Walls very thin - could hear fan running in bathroom of adjoining room. Breakfast good and staff tried hard. But overall - thought the Ardgowan was a bit overpriced for the experience delivered!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steven_esher
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Steven Thank you for your review. While I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast with us in Playfair’s Restaurant, I’m sorry to read that you were disappointed with a few aspects of your stay. I appreciate the feedback you’ve given us on our bathroom toiletries. We are in the process of selecting new toiletries for each of...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for the fourth year running on our annual golfing trip to st Andrews. The hotel has a great location is clean, tidy and comfortable with a good breakfast in the morning, couldn't really ask for more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Alan, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review for your return stay! We always love when guests return to stay with us again and again, so we're glad we could welcome your group back for another great stay with us (and hopefully some good golfing on your part!) As always, we appreciate your kind comments, and...

Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good communication from the hotel in advance. I stayed in their annex hotel The Pilmour. Very nice and clean room. The only oddity seemed to be the bedside lights which could only be operated from the wall socket, one was inaccessible behind the bed! The receptionists were lovely, very helpful and welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Jim, Thank you for leaving a great review for your stay with us in our Annex, the Pilmour Hotel! We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that our reception staff really made a great impression on you during your stay. After I read your review, I went to the room that you stayed in to check the...

Scotland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent a night at this lovely hotel with friends while on a walking trip. Staff were very helpful especially the young American sounding waitress at breakfast, which I have to say was delicious. Situated in a great part of town with the only slight drawback is parking We managed to find a space in the street opposite the hotel. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dh20281
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello dh20281, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we really made a great impression on you while you were here, especially with our delicious breakfasts in Playfair's! I've made sure to pass your comments on to all of the breakfast staff to let...

Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently stayed on short golf vacation playing three local courses (The Castle , The New and the Old Course). Excellent hotel, spotless and with genuinely welcoming staff. The location is excellent for golfing history and a wealth of great restaurants and bars within 5 minutes walk. Traditional Scottish breakfast is a great start to the day and the bar has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline G
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Jacqueline, Thank you for leaving us a great review for your stay with us! We're so glad that you enjoyed everything about your stay, from our friendly staff, to our perfect location in St Andrews, and even our restaurant and bar in Playfair's! We're glad to hear that you will be back again next time you are visiting St...

County Armagh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here as part of a large group on a golfing trip and it could not have been better. It is in such a convenient location for the golf courses! Our room was beautifully decorated with old golf memorabilia too. Breakfasts were delicious and staff were friendly and helpful. If I'm ever back in St. Andrews, I wouldn't consider staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexandra_m-12345
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Alexandra, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review on TripAdvisor! We're absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us in our Annex, the Pilmour Hotel. We had some fantastic weather last week, so we're glad to know your group took full advantage and played golf while you were here. We hope you can...

Erbach, Germany
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Booked as part of the Winter Golf package - excellent location within 2 minutes walk of Old Course 1st tee and 5 minutes into town centre. Free parking across the road from the hotel made everything very easy getting in and out/unloading clubs etc. Excellent breakfast offering.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to take advantage of the St Andrews Links Winter Golf Package! It really is a fantastic deal, with guaranteed tee times on the Old Course and 2 other courses, for a fraction...

250 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (184)
Viewed
Classic Standard Double Room (16)
Viewed
Classic Standard Twin Room (13)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (17)
Viewed
Deluxe Triple Room (19)
Viewed
Junior Double Room (13)
Viewed
Junior Twin Room (15)
Viewed
Pilmour Double Room (16)
Viewed
Pilmour Twin Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
450 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
654 reviews
0.2 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
327 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
281 reviews
2.6 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St Andrews
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated 200 yards from the 18th green of the world famous Old Course, and still only 5 minutes from the centre of town The Ardgowan Hotel offers the ideal location whatever the reason for you visit to St Andrews. Our comfortable en suite bedrooms are decorated in a modern Scottish style, perfect for relaxing after a long day’s golfing or sightseeing. Located below the main hotel, our restaurant, Playfair’s, is ever popular with local people as well as with our guests. We serve a wide range of dishes prepared with the fresh local ingredients wherever possible. The Ardgowan hotel does not have its own lift, but staff will be more than happy to assist you with your bags. Free on-street car parking is available close to the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ardgowan Hotel

Address: 2 Playfair Terrace | North Street, St Andrews KY16 9HX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: $136 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardgowan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ardgowan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardgowan Hotel St Andrews, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ardgowan Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ardgowan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher rooms have best views”
dh20281, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“top floor room was very quiet, with excellent views on three sides”
weekendholiday, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the main building”
Fudgedog, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor corner...”
pansymclean, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we had no problem, very quiet and located near golf and the local pedestrian streets!”
Deb1028, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5