We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ardgowan Hotel

Save
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (157)
Dining (31)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good37%
  • Average13%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Laundry Service
Free Parking
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
569 results
Traveller rating
261
213
72
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
261
213
72
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflights of stairsno lifthotel is in a great locationtop floorroom was clean and comfortablegolf triphotel restaurantgolf coursenice breakfasttown centrethird floornice staysmall hotellarge roomblack puddingtrip to st andrewsshort stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 569 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

First room I was given was not fit for purpose. Cracks in paint in the main bedroom and signs of mound in the bathroom. Dirty towel too but the main issue was a shower that was scolding hot and the heat adjuster did not work....More

1  Thank TMacnaughton
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

The receptionist made us wait 5 minutes without even acknowledging us whilst we stood in front of her and she looked at her screen. A bit rude. Our rooms were in the 'sister hotel' so we had to go outside again and walk next door...More

1  Thank Kerry G
Reviewed 1 week ago

For those of you planning a golf trip to St. Andrews, The Ardgowan is the place to stay. Only a 7 iron from the 18th green of The Old Course, it ticks all the boxes. Staff were fantastic & food excellentMore

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cliffoldroyd
Response from PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan HotelResponded 1 week ago

Hello cliffoldroyd, What a pleasure it was having your group with us! We're so glad that we were your home base for all of your golfing adventures in North East Fife, and that we were able to celebrate Martin's birthday with you! It was sad...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleasent well maintained very helpful staff nice decor well located to explore all of St Andrews. We were there 30no to celebrate a 50th and play soem of the old golf courses in the area. Our package was only bed & breakfast, breakfast was a...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank leejbedford
Response from PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan HotelResponded 1 week ago

Hello Leejbedford, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us, and we're glad you chose our hotel as your destination for a birthday celebration AND as a base for your golf! I'm sorry to hear of your disappointment that Playfair's Bar...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

A great location close to the town (2 minute walk) and the famous Old Course golf course and beach (3 minute walk), friendly and helpful staff. Very nice rooms and a great breakfast. What more could you want.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jaydpayne
Response from PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan HotelResponded 1 week ago

Hello jaydpayne, We're so glad that we were the perfect choice for your time in St Andrews! You really can't ask for a better location - within just a short walking distance of both town centre and the historic Old Course, as you said! We...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$137 - US$329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#7 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$137 - US$329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#7 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (157)
Dining (31)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MM106
6 February 2018|
Answer
Response from PlayfairHotelsLtd | Property representative |
We guarantee our rooms from 2pm, however for a fee of £20, we can guarantee a 12pm early check in. Our breakfast is served between 7.15am - 9.15am.
0
Votes
Carole A
11 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from IANTT2012 | Reviewed this property |
Lots round about the hotel there is parking advice on hotel web site
1
Vote
donaldduck53
10 July 2015|
Answer
Response from Roweyourboat |
Hello P. Brown, We are located in St Andrews, Scotland, just around the corner from the Old Course. I believe Maidstone is in the south of England, and it's far away from our hotel! Kind Regards, Carmen
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Rooms were clean & tidy with a touch of character. We had 3 guys in a Deluxe Triple Room & there was..."
Read review
"Bigger shower and sky t.v."
Read review
"Not street side."
Read review
"Room 18 faces the back so no sound of traffic from the front main road . Good space, king size bed"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing