We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Doune Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Doune Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 152: English reviews
Kingston upon Hull, UK
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Recommend without reservation. Yufei is so welcoming. The rooms are spotless and comfortable with lovely touches such as dressing gowns and toiletries. Breakfast is good and a takeaway breakfast can be pre-ordered if you are out and about early. Great, central location with parking (if you are lucky).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
Renfrew
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night , great location , just couple of minutes walk from centre of town . Bedroom was warm, comfortable and very clean, had a great nights sleep Will definitely recommend and stay again when visiting. Didn't have breakfast so unable to comment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Welshlad12
Saltsjobaden, Sweden
Reviewed 4 February 2016

Yufei & Ilya that runs the place are wonderful people and are always very kind and they do not see any problems with anything. The rooms are great and their breakfast are the best! I go here twice a year and have tried most of the B&B:s in S:t Andrews and since 3 years back I have stayed at Doune...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NilsLindeblad
Doune5, Manager at Doune Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Nils, Thank you very much for your kind words! It is always a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. See you again in May! Ilya

LaPorte, Minnesota
Reviewed 14 September 2015

It's a great spot in St. Andrews. It's near everything. The room was was very comfortable, clean and attractive. Our hostess was charming, knowledgeable, and helpful. We visited Scotland for the second time and would stay at the Doune House again. Jim & Ruth S.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James S
Stillwater
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Spent 4 days in St. Andrews with our family. Golfed St. Andrews with my in-laws, spent time shopping and pub crawling. The Doune House was our home base. Great accommodations, great location and Yufait was a wonderful hostess. Definitely would go back for another extended stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomas L
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We discovered just how much of a gamble booking a room here is. Our room (4) was a double which in fact had two single beds pushed together and one of these had some broken springs. There was very little space around the beds and a very small bathroom with tiny sink. Our friends also staying here had an even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick F
Doune5, Manager at Doune Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Nick, Thank you very much for your review! We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us as you might have done, but it is lovely to know you have found the location and the parking arrangements convenient and cleanliness up to standard. Please consider that your friends have paid the same price for...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Very conviennet, clean and nice little St. Andrews Guest House. The owner is very firendly and accomidating. Only a half block behind the main street and maybe a 3 minute walk to the Dunveegan the best pub in St Andrews and less than a 5 minute walk to the 18th hole green at the old course.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellingArizona
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2015

just spent week doing Fife coastal trail and can honestly say this was the best, what a lovely welcome we received, the taxi dropped our luggage on route to guest house in advance and the lovely young man took each of us to our rooms when we arrived and carried our luggage to the rooms lots of little touches coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debbie l
Motherwell, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at Doune House. It's location is great, our room was spacious it was spotlessly clean as was the ensuite, beds were comfortable and the tea,coffee, iced water and biscuits in the room were great. Breakfast was first class as was the service, everyone was very friendly and polite. Only one concern is the parking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rita M
Georgia
Reviewed 28 June 2015

We stayed on a Saturday night right after graduation at the University. Ilya and Youfei at Doune House were actually not there. But they'd left a key for us and gave us instructions to get settled into our rooms on the top floor. The rooms weren't huge, but they were comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was very good, cooked to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie W

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 km away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
299 reviews
0.4 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
327 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Five Pilmour Place
Five Pilmour Place
#14 of 77 in St Andrews
156 reviews
1.5 km away
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
0.2 km away
Fairways of St Andrews
Fairways of St Andrews
#4 of 77 in St Andrews
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Doune Guest House

Address: 5 Murray Place, St Andrews KY16 9AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Doune Guest House St Andrews, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Doune Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Doune Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay for breakfast!”
N8732SHelizabethb, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 7 is the best.”
NilsLindeblad, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
“A room to the back would be a little quiter, but St Andrews is not a noisy or late town by any stretch.”
TravellingArizona, 13 Aug 2015 | Read review
“There was 7 off us , everyone had twin en suite I had single room which was immaculat”
978debbiel, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the back.”
296stephaniew, 28 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5