We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nethan Guest House

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 193: English reviews
Start your review of Nethan Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Basically wanted to book a double bed room but they didn't have more available from that so we were told to get a bigger twin room. It was so nice and the room was very clean and very well-equipped, thx for it! About the breakfast I can tell u honestly, it'd been the best I have ever had, we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Metál R
Taby, Sweden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just round the corner from St Andrews Old Course, friendly atmosphere and nice breakfast. A few blocks from Market Street and the town centre. I hope we will be back soon for a visit and playing golf.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anders386
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I just squeaked in with a reservation for a one-night stay at Bryan and Linzi's Nethan Guest House. It was fairly short notice, as we only put together the plans to visit St Andrews six days prior to departure. So a big thumbs-up to Bryan and Linzi right there, for accommodating us at all ! Everything was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nightnurselyn
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 22 April 2017

With only a 5 minutes walk from St. Andrews Links, where we played for three days, Nethan Guest House was a good choice. They serve a good breakfast with a personal touch every day. Choose from what they have in the corner and alså what ever you want from their menue. Everything is made at your order so everything is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank svas
Westwood, New Jersey
Reviewed 15 April 2017

When our son decided to attend the University of St. Andrews for a semester abroad, we thought it would be nice to visit him when our other child had spring break. The Nethan House was recommended to us by the mother of one of my son's high school friends who had graduated some time before. And we were not disappointed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ernie W
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

For the second year running eight of us stayed at Nethan Guest House. Once again we were well looked after by Bryan and Linzi. Comfortable accommodation with a superb breakfast. Great location close to golf and town centre would definitely recommend. We have already booked for next year looking forward to it already.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ian j
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Eight of us came back for a second stay at Nethan. Great location in the town centre and well looked after. Great breakfast as usual and short walk to the old course and all the attractions of St Andrews

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MorrisHughes
Cricklade, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Jumbo stayed here 5 years ago , so i knew it would be good , but not how good it was . We arrived a bit early but it didn't seem to put Brian out . He looked as though he could tear your limbs off and eat them with his Neeps and Tatties ! But underneath he's a Pussy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greggo772
bry140t, Owner at Nethan Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! It was great having you guys back again, thoroughly enjoyed your company, nothing was ever any trouble, such a laugh at Breakfast. Hope you enjoyed your golf, lucky with the weather See you all next year! Bryan

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Perfect spot which is central in St. Andrews, The room was fine, but the bed was not so comfortable and it had over stuffed cushions That were impossible to use as just hard. Poor room refreshment facilities & im sorry but the breakfast was not fresh but heated from frozen mushrooms which I left as they tasted stale. Our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovesunshine A
bry140t, Owner at Nethan Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Its a shame you chose to post a review on Trip Advisor rather than raise any issues when you stayed, even at check-out you stated that everything was fine. All our cushions in the bedrooms were replaced 3 months ago, as they do tend to go flat after a certain time (Usually guests would mention...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We were made very welcome by Brian and Linzi and this remained so throughout the visit. Linzi is a very good cook and the breakfast was very high quality. The location is good and convenient for St Andrews. We were in room 7 at a slightly higher price(+£10/n) than other double room offers from B&B in Murray Park. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrinceAyla
bry140t, Owner at Nethan Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Shame you did not mention your concerns regarding your room during your stay, and for the record you actually stayed 3 nights not 2! For your information the room size actually far exceeds Visit Scotlands requirements for a Double room, I'm sure you will find that many rooms in the Murray Park area are smaller...

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
465 reviews
0.4 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
347 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
659 reviews
0.4 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,244 reviews
0.1 km away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#10 of 17 in St Andrews
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Nethan Guest House

Address: 17 Murray Park, St Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Nethan Guest House Hotel St. Andrews
Nethan Guest House St Andrews, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nethan Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Nethan Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close to St. Andrews Links, free internett, good breakfast, spacious rooms”
svas, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book early. The front of the hotel may be loud on occasion from students partying hardy.”
504erniew, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“It could have been so much better with a little attention to detail & cooking care.”
lovesunshineA, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I was in a single room and it was perfect room 8 quiet and catered to my needs as a lone traveller”
513kirstyw, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Great location near the Old Course.”
_cowtown2010, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5