We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nethan Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 190: English reviews
Start your review of Nethan Guest House
 Click to rate
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

With only a 5 minutes walk from St. Andrews Links, where we played for three days, Nethan Guest House was a good choice. They serve a good breakfast with a personal touch every day. Choose from what they have in the corner and alså what ever you want from their menue. Everything is made at your order so everything is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank svas
Westwood, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

When our son decided to attend the University of St. Andrews for a semester abroad, we thought it would be nice to visit him when our other child had spring break. The Nethan House was recommended to us by the mother of one of my son's high school friends who had graduated some time before. And we were not disappointed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ernie W
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For the second year running eight of us stayed at Nethan Guest House. Once again we were well looked after by Bryan and Linzi. Comfortable accommodation with a superb breakfast. Great location close to golf and town centre would definitely recommend. We have already booked for next year looking forward to it already.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ian j
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Eight of us came back for a second stay at Nethan. Great location in the town centre and well looked after. Great breakfast as usual and short walk to the old course and all the attractions of St Andrews

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MorrisHughes
Cricklade, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Jumbo stayed here 5 years ago , so i knew it would be good , but not how good it was . We arrived a bit early but it didn't seem to put Brian out . He looked as though he could tear your limbs off and eat them with his Neeps and Tatties ! But underneath he's a Pussy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greggo772
bry140t, Owner at Nethan Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! It was great having you guys back again, thoroughly enjoyed your company, nothing was ever any trouble, such a laugh at Breakfast. Hope you enjoyed your golf, lucky with the weather See you all next year! Bryan

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Perfect spot which is central in St. Andrews, The room was fine, but the bed was not so comfortable and it had over stuffed cushions That were impossible to use as just hard. Poor room refreshment facilities & im sorry but the breakfast was not fresh but heated from frozen mushrooms which I left as they tasted stale. Our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovesunshine A
bry140t, Owner at Nethan Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Its a shame you chose to post a review on Trip Advisor rather than raise any issues when you stayed, even at check-out you stated that everything was fine. All our cushions in the bedrooms were replaced 3 months ago, as they do tend to go flat after a certain time (Usually guests would mention...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We were made very welcome by Brian and Linzi and this remained so throughout the visit. Linzi is a very good cook and the breakfast was very high quality. The location is good and convenient for St Andrews. We were in room 7 at a slightly higher price(+£10/n) than other double room offers from B&B in Murray Park. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrinceAyla
bry140t, Owner at Nethan Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Shame you did not mention your concerns regarding your room during your stay, and for the record you actually stayed 3 nights not 2! For your information the room size actually far exceeds Visit Scotlands requirements for a Double room, I'm sure you will find that many rooms in the Murray Park area are smaller...

Midlands
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I emailed several B & B`s on Monday 24th, looking for a single room for 3 days and immediately received a response from Nethan House, advising me that they had a room, which, although not a single room they would do single occupancy rate. I also received responses quite quickly after theirs, but, after reading Nethan House`s Trip advisor reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wanderingstarlet
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Brian and Linzi run the best guest house in St Andrews. Both offer a warm, friendly welcome, clean, beautifully appointed rooms, complete with a small fridge containing a bottle of water. Linzi cooks superb breakfasts, her home made potato scones are delicious, and her lemon curd is the best I've ever tasted!! The location is perfect. Quiet, yet convenient, within...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maggie0201
Reviewed 12 October 2016

On my arrival I was greeted with a friendly welcome by Brian , I felt at home instantly . my single room was very clean and had every facility that a guest would need . The breakfasts were excellent with such a variety of choice . and the staff were very nice . Nethan House is situated in a location...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John C

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
447 reviews
0.4 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
326 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
654 reviews
0.4 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
1,230 reviews
0.1 km away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Nethan Guest House

Address: 17 Murray Park, St Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Nethan Guest House Hotel St. Andrews
Nethan Guest House St Andrews, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nethan Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Nethan Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close to St. Andrews Links, free internett, good breakfast, spacious rooms”
svas, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book early. The front of the hotel may be loud on occasion from students partying hardy.”
504erniew, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“It could have been so much better with a little attention to detail & cooking care.”
lovesunshineA, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I was in a single room and it was perfect room 8 quiet and catered to my needs as a lone traveller”
513kirstyw, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Great location near the Old Course.”
_cowtown2010, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5