We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$88
View deal
US$87
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$87
PricelineUS$88
Destinia.comUS$97
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1512)
Room & Suite (579)
Dining (108)

About

#48 of 103 hotels in Glasgow
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located at the very heart of the city, directly adjoining Glasgow Central station, voco® Grand Central Glasgow occupies one of the city’s most historic and impressive buildings. With an abundance of historical grandeur and a guest list to match, over the years we’ve played host to everyone: from politicians such as Winston Churchill to Hollywood stars like Frank Sinatra. Awarded the Best Hotel Bar in Glasgow at the 2019 Best Bar None awards, Champagne Central bar is the go-to place for glamorous cocktails for guests and locals alike. Take afternoon tea in the Champagne Lounge or enjoy a cocktail (or two) while you people-watch across the station concourse and enjoy great Glaswegian hospitality. No matter what brings you to our door, whether it be a work trip or a weekend away, we are here to play host and make sure you have everything you need. It’s time to eat, sleep and everything in between.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Laptop safe
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Hindi and 2 more
5180Reviews66Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,128
  • 1,711
  • 768
  • 322
  • 252
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
The Honest Grain wrote a review Yesterday
Glasgow, United Kingdom4 contributions4 helpful votes
We attended the Gala Hogmanay Ball and had a fantastic evening. On check in we received a glass of prosecco, and had the opportunity to visit the Champagne bar before the evening started. We had a room on the fifth floor which was stunning. The Gala ball and four course meal was excellent. The full evening ran smoothly and we enjoyed the rolls on bacon and cans of irn bru after the bells. Staff were excellent. We would highly recommend VOCO Grand Central for an overnight stay as well as the grand ball. We hope to return next year!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
EMH13 wrote a review Jan. 29
1 contribution
Stayed here last week with my husband and our dog. It says the hotel is dog friendly but I’d say it accepts dogs and it isn’t by any means friendly. I appreciate there will be certain rooms that Will use for dogs and it is a hotel right beside the train station - however allocating a room to people with dogs right above the train station seems a bit silly. There are trains going in and out all day and night so it was hard to get a dog to settle. I’ve stayed here before and there are rooms on the other side of the hotel where this noise isn’t heard at all. We were asked when booking if we needed a bed for the dog and treats but none was in the room on arrival. The hotel was by no means full and the room we were allocated was probably the busiest and noisiest hallway I’ve ever stayed in. Rooms are spacious and clean with ample tea and coffee making facilities. Bathroom too is well stocked. Staff were pleasant for the most part, apart from the woman who was working room service was quite rude when we called to place an order and ask questions Would stay again but not with a dog
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
DJRobertsonfife wrote a review Jan. 24
Burntisland, United Kingdom68 contributions75 helpful votes
We had originally booked to stay for my husband's birthday on 17th December but had to move the date due to illness. Upon checking in we mentioned this and the lovely lady on reception gave us two free drinks vouchers to celebrate the birthday. Our room was ready early as requested and was fantastic. As soon as you enter this hotel you feel the history with the grand sweeping staircase and the decor. It really is fantastic. Our room was large with a huge bathroom and everything we needed (apart from a mini fridge which would be our only suggestion for improvement). One thing to watch out for us the extremely quick closing lift doors...we got caught in them a few times. We had booked Champagne Central for drinks and just as we were about to go down for drinks an envelope got pushed under our door which contained another two drinks vouchers as thanks for being an IHG member. We used the vouchers in Champagne central and there were no restrictions on the drinks you could have with them. We thought this was a lovely touch and not one we have come across in many other hotels. The staff were all lovely and the guy serving the cooked breakfast items was so friendly and cheerful. The breakfast choice was great and one of the best we've experienced. We'd love to have a return visit sometime soon. What a fantastic hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Handy Tesco and Sainsbury's mini supermarket right across road for any essentials. Watch out for...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Fred C wrote a review Jan. 22
Dumfries, United Kingdom49 contributions50 helpful votes
This was something of a mixed experience. Our room was of good size with a large bathroom, but along with most of the rest of the hotel it was only dimly lit. The mattress was okay, but not the best. we have slept in. The bed linen was fresh and clean. The shower arrangement above the bath was complicated and the bathroom itself suffered from a lack of surfaces. I.e. there was nowhere near the shower to hang a towel and no surface behind the wash basin. There were no complaints regarding cleanliness and the only other issue we had was that the fire alarm went off at around 7:30 am presumably by mistake. Breakfast was adequate, although we did not expect to be making our own toast in a luxury hotel. The mushrooms in the cooked breakfast were cold. The fruit and yoghurt selection were good. The doors on the lift were too quick to close, and I was twice hit by them when entering. The staff, without exception, were helpful and courteous The hotel itself could not be more handily situated for the city centre. We would stay here again .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi Inal, Guest Services / Front Office at voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Fred C Thank you for taking the time for let us know about your stay. We will pass your suggestions over to the Housekeeping Manager to see if we can add few shelves to the room and caddie for the shower. We will certainly investigate the lift doors to see if we can do something about it. I do apologize for that. Thank you for staying, hopefully we can welcome you back soon! Kind Regards Kristi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joel and Tracey wrote a review Jan. 19
Sheffield, United Kingdom30 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
I visited on Tuesday 17th for 1 night for business. The hotel is stunning. I was extremely pleased with my room (436) which looking at the plan is one of the largest on the floor. The room and bathroom were immaculate. I ordered room service and again food was delicious. Breakfast had plenty of options for everyone and the chef even got me to try Haggis , which I loved. All round great experience and I'll definitely be back to book in for a longer stay to enjoy Glasgow
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi Inal, Guest Services / Front Office at voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear JoelandTracey Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to read that you found the hotel stunning and were happy with the size of your room. The hotel is full of character and none of our rooms are the same. In fact this year we are celebrating our 140 th birthday! Please visit us again not in too distant future. Kind Regards Kristi Inal
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mandy R wrote a review Jan. 8
8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Having just finished treatment for Breast Cancer we had a belated Christmas stay in the Grand Central. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, thank you for the added extras. My husband left cash in the safe which he remembered half way home but a quick phonecall, a friendly concierge and his cash was returned and resulted in us rebooking another night. If you park in Oswsld Street multi storey the hotel will give you a discount token for parking. I cant wait to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi Inal, Guest Services / Front Office at voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 876madyr This is what we love about working in hotel. Its very rewarding to receive positive feedback. We will pass your kind words on to the team. Kind Regards Kristi Inal
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma H wrote a review Jan. 8
Falkirk, United Kingdom13 contributions10 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel, very central area for exploring Glasgow. Spotlessly clean, we stayed on the 5th floor which has recently been renovated, beautiful spacious room with amazing free standing bath! Breakfast good and plentiful. Champagne central is lovely for a chilled drink and watching the world go by. Thank you for the extra complimentary touches for my Birthday celebrations! We will definitely stay again 😃
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Park in nearby Oswald Street NCP car park and the hotel provide a discounted ticket on check out...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi Inal, Guest Services / Front Office at voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 719emmah Thank you for a lovely 5 star review. You are very welcome! We are glad that you celebrated your birthday with us. Kind Regards Kristi Inal Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alandeans63 wrote a review Jan. 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom454 contributions143 helpful votes
Last night we attended the Gala Hogmanay Ball and it was fantastic from start to finish! We got checked in early which was great and allowed us to enjoy the Champagne bar for a couple of hours. The cocktails were nice but over priced. The Gala Ball itself was superb, the reception event at 7pm was well organised and managed although it was not Champagne served as advertised but rather Prosecco! the meal was rich but lovely and the DJ and Band (Soundtrax) were excellent although the Piper was disappointing. And after the bells breakfast rolls were on offer which was a nice touch. Overall well worth the money and we would highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi Inal, Guest Services / Front Office at voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear alanderans63 We were truly grateful to host the Hogmanay Gala Ball this year. Its safe to say we missed it in previous years due to the pandemic. Even better if you found it all worth the money and would recommend it to others. We will take a note of the Champagne comment and pass this on to your sales team to further investigation. Thank you so much for attending. Hopefully we can see you again! Kind Regards Kristi Inal
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hope G wrote a review Dec. 2022
Dundee, United Kingdom24 contributions23 helpful votes
Overall a great stay in a beautiful and centrally located hotel. It was my fiancé’s birthday so I had managed to organise a bottle of Prosecco in the room which was great. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and the reception was lovely and cosy. We were surprised when checking in that we weren’t asked to provide a card, as most hotels do. We went to champagne Central which was lovely, however when we asked to charge to the room they said there was no account opened on the room (as we hadn’t been asked for a card!). The breakfast was good, albeit slightly disappointing, there were no vegetarian sausages on offer so I had to make do with some beans on toast. I tried to get someone’s attention to order from the a la carte menu but everyone was so busy, no one paid me any attention at all. Overall the reception staff were lovely and it was a good experience. I would definitely return, especially if the vegetarian options at breakfast are improved!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try to go to breakfast before 9 as it’s mobbed afterwards!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi Inal, Guest Services / Front Office at voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Hope G We are pleased to read and overall you had a good experience with us and will found the reception staff lovely. Please accept our apologies with the issues you experienced during breakfast. We do have vegetarian sausages in offer, but due to the nature of the sausages we are not able to keep them under the hot plate. The Chefs will cook them to order. We will certainly pass over your feedback to the breakfast team. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Kristi Inal
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nick164 wrote a review Dec. 2022
Sydney, Australia2308 contributions741 helpful votes
Under the new operators, this hotel has now been nicely refurbished to some of its former glory. Checkin was friendly albeit not informative on the hotel’s facilities. And little in the way of recognition as an IHG Rewards Gold member. Arriving after a 30+ hour journey, which I advised check in staff of, I was disappointed to find the first room allocated was on the first floor directly above the function area. With afternoon Christmas parties in full swing to music and DJ commentary, I requested a room change. Located on the 4th floor, the new room was quieter, with a small shower room (compared to the larger bathroom in the original room). With aircon heating on full, the room was still cold - staff provided a heater on advising them. I didn’t use the bar or restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi Inal, Guest Services / Front Office at voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear nick164 Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are glad that the team was able to change your room to more quiet one. December is a celebration month and the festive parties are on full swing. We are sorry to read that you did not find our King Premium room good value for money. These rooms usually are very popular among our guests Kind Regards, Kristi Inal
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$97 - US$178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Grand Central Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandGlasgowCity Centre / Merchant City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
230
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Scotland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Locked In Escape Room (0.04 km), Riddle Rooms Glasgow (0.4 km), and Xcape Room (0.08 km).
What are some of the property amenities at voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Meat Joint Scottish Steakhouse, Rhoderick Dhu, and Las Iguanas.
Is voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Glasgow.
Are any cleaning services offered at voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Hindi, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Mackintosh House (2.3 km), The Tenement House (1.1 km), and House for an Art Lover (3.7 km).
Is voco Grand Central Glasgow, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.