We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Central Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Central Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,604 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,477: English reviews
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2015

Brilliant location right in the heart of Glasgow and perfect if you have travelled by train as we did. We stayed here to go to an event at the Hydro and decided to make a weekend of it. Easy access to Hydro and Armadillo via train, although there was a replacement bus service the weekend we stayed. It was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Woodshed26
Graeme G, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Woodshed26, Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our amazing building and found our location to be ideal. I hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Graeme

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2015

The hotel back entrance is actually with-in Glasgow Central station Building.. So ya great to get from your train to your room in minutes. Friendly chatty reception people. High ceiling rooms..The only downside during my stay was due to loud people noise round about 2am...The hotel was hosting a Wedding on this particular Saturday..Not a major issue but I guess...

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank penelope1492
Graeme G, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear penelope1492, Thank you for your kind review. Really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, I hope we see you again in the future. Kind regards, Graeme

ballymena
Reviewed 7 November 2015

Haven't stayed here for over 10 years and really enjoyed being back. Has been beautifully done up while still retaining its Edwardian charm. Reception staff were very helpful, we were asked if we needed help with our luggage which was much appreciated. Rooms were very comfortable and spotless, beds just right and the duvets not too heavy so we could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank loughfarm
Graeme G, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear loughfarm, Absolutely delighted you loved your time at the Grand Central! We look forward to seeing you back in the future. Kind regards, Graeme

Crawley
Reviewed 7 November 2015

Lovely hotel - very large room - plenty of space for clothes. Spotlessly clean - lots of hot water. Only downside is I was woken by traffic a few times in the night but thats not the hotel's fault :) right next to Central Station, and very close to main shopping streets and restaurants. Ideally located for business or weekend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 31hayley
Graeme G, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 31hayley, Delighted you have excellent time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Kind regards, Graeme

aberdeenshire
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Stayed for a couple of nights in a deluxe room. Strange sort of layout and think one large room would be better. Had breakfast in room both mornings and had to pay a £5 tray charge (fair enough) but also a £6 supplement as well both days. Not worth it. Our room was not serviced the second day so still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daytripper066
Graeme G, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear daytripper066, Thank you for your honest feedback. Your comments will be shared throughout our management team so we can make the improvements to better our guest experience. Kind regards, Graeme

Accrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

This is a well updated, classic Victorian grand rail hotel with 'good bones' and proportions. Make sure you take the lift to the top floor and walk down the stairs, it's spectacular and worth the effort. Check-in was warm and friendly. Dinner in Tempus was delicious - mussels followed by haddock washed down with a cocktail and Pinot Grigio. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dewhura
Graeme G, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dewhura, Great to read you an enjoyable stay with us and took the time to admire our grand stair case. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Graeme

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2015

We booked this hotel through Tripadvisor and must admit were a little concerned about the reviews, particularly the noise element. Luckily we had no complaints. Our room was on the other side to the station and the taxi rank and we didn't experience any problems on this count. Our room were very nicely decorated and laid out albeit very warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neal710
Graeme G, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neal710, Thank you for your kind review. I'm delighted to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. I hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Central Hotel. Kind regards, Graeme

New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 November 2015

This is hotel was great for location, central to everything in Glasgow, easy to get to if traveling by train and the rooms had an old european feel to them which I liked. The problem with the hotel is the noise. My room was on the street side and you can hear the traffic, garbage trucks, and drunks all night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonChlr
Graeme G, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TravelingGulliver1, Thank you for your review. Great to hear you found our central location great fro your time in Glasgow though disappointed you were disturbed by external noise. I really hope that you give us the opportunity to welcome you back, so we can try and improve your impression of the hotel. Kind regards, Graeme

Stevenston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for an overnight stay on the 30th October. The hotel itself is lovely, beds comfortable and great breakfast but my room was overlooking the street and the noise was unbearable. There must have been a karaoke on because we heard every song, very loudly, until 3 in the morning. My daughters room overlooked the train station and she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
Graeme G, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ann T, Thank you for your review. I am glad you found the hotel to be lovely, though disappointed you were disturbed by some of our neighbours. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Graeme

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

I booked this trip quite quickly, it wasn't very expensive, but it was amazing! It was very easy to find, and right in Glasgow city centre, the room were marvellous and food ok. All i did was stayed there and had breakfast. So not that much. Lots of shops and restaurants near by and tourist attractions. Room clean and luxurious,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samburton1
Graeme G, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review

Dear samburton1, Thank you for the positive review of the Grand Central Hotel. Really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, I hope we see you again in the furture Kind regards Graeme

951 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (753)
Viewed
Room/Suite (164)
Viewed
Bathroom (61)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (138)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Other (357)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Family Deluxe Room (20)
Viewed
Junior Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Robert Rowan Anderson Suite (28)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (18)
Viewed
Standard Suite (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
2,175 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 96 in Glasgow
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
2,515 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
3,051 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Tempus Bar & Restaurant at Grand Central Hotel
Tempus Bar & Restaurant at Grand Central Hotel
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish, Central European
Champagne Central
Champagne Central
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Price Range: $127 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Central Hotel staff and other travellers.
37 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
manchester

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Central Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High front side facing”
 of 5 bubbles roquejoaof, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best to ask when checking in”
 of 5 bubbles Fitzcaraldo, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 503 is a good one, huge with a Dressing Room, big Shower, and Roll Top Bath”
 of 5 bubbles issy28, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“if you are not too great with mobility be sure to ask for a room near the lifts”
 of 5 bubbles dphsborders, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just ask the staff and they will endeavour to oblige - we asked for a quiet room and that is just what we got.”
 of 5 bubbles DawnK273, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5