We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carlton George Hotel

Show Prices
#20 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Carlton George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,613 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,562: English reviews
Start your review of Carlton George Hotel
 Click to rate
Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for 2 night whilst attending a concert. Very clean with professional staff who actually cared. Great Breakfast on both mornings. So handy for the City Centre. The pub next door which belongs to the hotel serve an excellent variety of drinks and food all at reasonable prices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjcopcutt
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fantastic location and good sized room. No view from the room but the rooftop restaurant had great views. Buffet breakfast not very fresh. However, you can order omelettes or scrambles eggs on order. Free mini bar was a nice touch (although mainly spirits). Hotel was clean and comfortable. Not a lot of character, but fine for a business stay. Right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Carlton George. I am so pleased your stay with us was a good one. I am glad that you seemed to enjoy most aspects of hotel including the complimentary mini bar and of course our great location. We do hope we see you again soon. Kind Regards, Monica

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I decided to to treat ourselves to an overnight stay in glasgow on Friday 17th March ,even though we actually only live a few miles way !! What a treat it certainly turned out to be, a lovely informative welcome by the girl at the check-in desk, our room was lovely, a great size, with a huge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine D
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine, Thank you for the fantastic review. I am delighted that you had such a great time with us at the hotel and am thrilled that you enjoyed all that the hotel has to offer - from your bedroom, complimentary mini bar, to the good food and service in Windows Restaurant to the Executive Lounge. We certainly agree you...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I had booked this hotel for my husband's birthday and wasn't disappointed. I had booked a executive room which meant we had access to a lounge where we could help ourselves to wine, beer and spirits. OUr room was nice, view was over an alley, but that didn't bother us. The hotel is next to waxy O'Connor, which was great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hillary T
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hillary, Thank you for choosing to celebrate your husbands birthday with us at the Carlton George and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The executive lounge is a firm favorite with our guests so I am pleased that you were able to benefit from it during your stay. St Patrick's Day is certainly a busy time for...

Greenock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel 17th March 2017 bought as a gift from my daughter for my 50th birthday. On arrival we were greeted by reception staff who welcomed us and was aware of my daughter making booking and they gave us all the information needed and booked us in for our evening meal . Opening the room door I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, Top marks...we cant do better than that! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. What a lovely gift for you to receive from your daughter and I am delighted that you enjoyed your celebratory stay with us and enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Thank you for your kind comments regarding your...

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Myself and my friend stayed at the Carlton on 3rd March for 2 nights and was really disappointed. The room we booked was a superior room but was a small and very dark room that looked out on to coolers. The room was also very stuffy. I thought when I booked a superior room I would get a superior room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry that you did not however, enjoy your stay with us. The hotel is situated in the heart of the city centre and it is unfortunate that some bedrooms do not have the best view, however we believe that the central location does make up for...

Greenock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here Friday night in March with friends spread over three rooms and there wasn't one complaint from our party. Check-in was straight forward & took no longer than a couple of minutes. The rooms were all spotless with double bed, wardrobe, dresser, tv and a well laid out bathroom which again was spotless. As always with the George there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmik44
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jimmik44, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay - we are delighted that you and your friends all enjoyed your time with us. I am pleased to read your comments on the cleanliness of the guest bedrooms, our housekeeping team do work very hard and will be delighted with your comments. I am pleased to...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

the hotel deserves 5 stars as everything was great n we had blast during our stay. staffs were all well-coming and warm. its food was international and real tasty and also the hotel was very clean and comfortable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank farnazahmadi
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear farnazahmadi. Thank you for the great review. I am so pleased you had such a great stay with us. Thank you kindly for the lovely comments regarding the team. Hope we see you again if you visit Glasgow in the future. Kind regards Monica

Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 2 nights in the Carlton George, Glasgow on an 11 day European vacation. This was one of our most favorite experiences. The location unbeatable for shopping, tour assembly and restaurant choices. We easily walked from Central station to the hotel, and Queen St station is literally steps away, round the corner. Our room overlooked George street on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank D H
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear D H. Thank you for the lovely review. I am so pleased that you had such a great time with us, and the Carlton George was one of your most favourite places during your Europe trip! Glad you enjoyed our little extras such as the complimentary mini bar and use of the lounge. Hope you had a safe trip...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The reception staff were some of the best I've met and were always very helpful. The hotel looks very smart and we were looking forward to staying here, albeit only for one night. We had a bargain room via hotels.com and sadly that's why I think we were given a cheaper room which didn't have the best feel to it....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LoveLondonLife
Monica R, General Manager at Carlton George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LoveLondonLife. Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am sorry you didn't find the room to your liking and there seemed to be some housekeeping issues. I would love to address these properly and hoped you could advise us of room number? Please contact the houskeeper on hkgeorge@carltonhotels.co.uk. Please be assured that your room allocation is...

522 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (341)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (150)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (138)
Viewed
Club Room with Balcony (20)
Viewed
Executive Room (16)
Viewed
Normal Club Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Superior Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
2,175 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
984 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
2,515 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 96 in Glasgow
3,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Based right in the heart of Glasgow, adjacent to Queen Street Station and Buchanan Street and with the airport bus service stopping right at our door, we are the perfect city centre base. We are four star rated, and each of our 64 bedrooms feature a complimentary Minibar and decanted spirits, multi channel LCD TV with Sky Sports 1, 2 and 3, desk, and bathroom with bath and power shower to ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay while you are with us. WiFi is free for the duration of your stay, and so are local phone calls. National calls are just 3p per minute. Located on the 7th floor of the hotel, Windows is Glasgow's only rooftop restaurant. Windows Restaurant serves delicious dishes created with local produce with menus changing to reflect what's in season. In fact, the food is only matched by the view over the rooftops of Glasgow! Breakfast is served in Windows in the morning, or can be delivered to your room. Guests can enjoy complimentary soft drinks, snacks and coffee throughout the day, and complimentary wine, beer and selected spirits each evening in the Executive Lounge located on the 7th floor. The lounge also features the Thomson Boardroom, ideal for meetings or private dining for up to 14 people. At the Carlton George Hotel we've worked hard to create a comfortable and informal setting where you can make yourself at home and relax, but still experience fantastic service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carlton George Hotel

Address: 44 West George Street, Glasgow G2 1DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: $155 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Carlton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton George Glasgow
Hotel Carlton George
Carlton George Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carlton George Hotel staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
Marquette, MI
3 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Carlton George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from the lifts”
 of 5 bubbles PaulT327, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on second floor and above the bar even though we could hear the customers it wasn't that loud for a city hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 765SharonM, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Its better to choose a VIP room as it is all inclusive”
 of 5 bubbles farnazahmadi, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on George St. for excellent city views, but expect a little noise.”
 of 5 bubbles DH474, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Resturant very good”
 of 5 bubbles Susiebumshine, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5