Ambassador Hotel

Traveller (115)
Ensuite Bathroom
Room & Suite (40)
Dining Room
Dining (7)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, May 2
No prepayment needed
C$276
Fully refundable before Fri, May 3
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
C$275
Fully refundable before Fri, May 3
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
C$275
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#10 of 103 hotels in Glasgow
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice
Conveniently located in the heart of Glasgow's fashionable West End, surrounded by numerous shops, bars and cafes and only 1 mile for the City Centre. This stylish 3 star hotel is the ideal base for a leisure or corporate stop over in the city. Don't forget to check out our Facebook page for more. We hope to see you soon.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English

Location

7 Kelvin Drive, Glasgow G20 8QG Scotland
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles884 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Nestled in the West End, the Ambassador Hotel garners accolades for its cleanliness and well-maintained rooms, with guests often resting comfortably on pristine beds. The staff's friendly demeanor and swift service contribute to a welcoming atmosphere praised by many visitors. While opinions on the rooms vary, with some finding them on the smaller side, the consensus is that they are both spacious and well-appointed. The hotel's prime location near lush botanical gardens and vibrant dining scenes is a highlight, making it a popular choice for those seeking both relaxation and local entertainment. However, the value proposition receives mixed reviews, with some guests pointing out the basic nature of amenities despite the general affordability.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Serene
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
884Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 490
  • 259
  • 91
  • 23
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom26 contributions65 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Was booked in here for an overnight due to work and was for the money surprised the hole place its location is lovely with no direct traffic whizzing by and is in walking distance of local amenities
The inside of the hotel. Has been setup. For. The resent covid for your safety and theres with hand gel Stations located around and marked flooring and signs top marks in the current situation we are facing
The room I had which was 15 was well set out very warm and cosy with towels and a well setup coffee station with 2 lots of yummy biscuits the room even came with proper curtains not flimsy things but solid blackout ones nice power shower aswell with despencing shower gel which was full they offer free WiFi aswell and it was very fast with no lag.
In the morning I had a good breakfast which was loaded with all the trimmings and well. Prepared
I really couldn't faulterthis hotel to be honest and I as you can see give you a review which is honest and pulls no punches lol
Top. Marks
Huge thanxs Marlene she was the Hostest when I arrived and was warm and welcoming for us travellers and knocks up a good breakfast a credit to the hotel
Ty
Mark 247
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robert McQuade, Owner at Ambassador Hotel
Responded Sep 20, 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay with us at the Ambassador Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and a hearty breakfast. We look forward to seeing you on future visits to Glasgow.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NatReksio wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff were very friendly, forthcoming and helpful.

They let me check in earlier than their usual check-in times because my room was free (and cleaned) already and I got to check-out earlier than their usual check-out times because of how early my flight was.

I had a nice and comfortable single room, the bed was clean and so was the bathroom.

The location of the hotel is lovely as the Glasgow Botanic Gardens are right across the street and taking one of the First buses gets you to the city centre in 20 minutes or less.

When I come to Glasgow again, I'll definitely book a room here once again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel
Responded Feb 2, 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay with us at the Ambassador Hotel - we are delighted you enjoyed your time here. Our staff & our managers will be very happy to hear the recognition as they do strive to make your stay with us enjoyable & are happy to accommodate requests where possible. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador when you return to Glasgow (& don't forget to mention the discounts available for returning guests!).
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
kyna wrote a review Oct 2021
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed for nine nights at the Ambassador as a first step to moving to Glasgow, while I prepared to move in to a new flat. Marlene, especially, was friendly and very helpful during my stay (and before). My room was clean, tidy, with easy to use shower/TV/sink/window! The housekeeping staff was also friendly and helpful. One of the most quiet hotels I've ever stayed in, and in a fantastic location: five minutes' walk to Glasgow Botanic Gardens, across the street from one of the entrances to the North Kelvin Walkway along the River Kelvin, five minutes' walk to the famous 'Sixty Steps', and all shops, restaurants, and other resources along Great Western Road and Byres road, a very short walk to Tesco Express and Boots along Queen Margaret Drive, and a 10-15 minute walk to the University of Glasgow. Plus, great places to walk around Kelvin Drive. Really enjoyed my stay here and I'd recommend it to anyone visiting Glasgow for a few a days or weeks (great room prices). (I did not take advantage of the the daily breakfast as I prefer to eat on my own, but there is one offered in a large room on the ground floor and can be added to your accommodation pricing.)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Top floor room had great view over the roofs of Glasgow.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robert McQuade, Owner at Ambassador Hotel
Responded Oct 23, 2021
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us at the Ambassador Hotel - we are delighted to have been part of your transition into living in the city. Marlene will be thrilled to have made such a positive impression during your time here. We hope you enjoy life in Glasgow, and if you ever have need of us again we'll be ready to welcome you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Igorgriffiths wrote a review Dec 2021
Taif, Saudi Arabia279 contributions58 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
There is private parking at the rear of the hotel and you either have a half hour walk into the city centre or a short walk to a bus stop.
The hotel is kept at a comfortable temperature and the room was well furnished with a very comfortable bed. The breakfast options are varied with cooked breakfast being my favorite.
The staff are friendly and would definitely consider using this hotel again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Parking is to the rear of the hotel, so if bringing a car ask for directions prior to arrival as...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robert McQuade, Owner at Ambassador Hotel
Responded Dec 4, 2021
Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us at the Ambassador Hotel - we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff here make your stay comfortable, if you have any request or queries they are more than happy to help accommodate... They are a credit to the hotel industry. Parking is free either on the road outside or in the hotel car park
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robert McQuade, Owner at Ambassador Hotel
Responded Jul 16, 2020
Mr Evans, thank you for your very kind review of your stay with us at the Ambassador Hotel - we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon - don't forget to book direct with us to take advantage of our repeat customer discounts.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom Mc Goldrick wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent 4 wonderful nights in this hotel. Joe, the concierge was welcoming and helpful in answering all my questions. The rooms were very clean and beds and towels were changed and bins emptied every day. I really liked the policy of no smoking in bedrooms and each door had a plaque fixed to it to remind people not to smoke and would be fined if caught doing so.
I had a very full and appetizing traditional cereal and a big breakfast at a reasonable cost.
it is also situated opposite the beautiful botanic gardens and Kelvingrove park which is excellent for small walks and indeed picnicking. There are numerous restaurants of different types nearby within walking distance. And it only takes a 15 bus ride into the city centre. And you can park your car for free outside the hotel. I would certainly stay in this hotel again. Tom Mc Goldrick Dublin Ireland
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Good value for a solo traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robert McQuade, Owner at Ambassador Hotel
Responded Jun 2, 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review of your stay at the Ambassador Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality and professionalism of the staff. We are pleased that you found our standards of cleanliness and hygiene were to your standard and satisfaction and that you enjoyed your freshly prepared breakfast. All staff take pride in their roles within the hotel and we will pass all your complimentary comments to all the team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ewanmac76 wrote a review Mar 2020
78 contributions92 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Ambassador in February. If you’re looking for a hotel in the West End then the location is excellent and it had free parking also which is a big plus (although you have to navigate a narrow lane with loads of bins in the way).

The staff were friendly enough and the hotel was clean, neat and tidy. The bed was also very comfortable so it ticks all the necessary boxes.

Our room was on the top floor with low ceiling so felt quite cramped and it was freezing when we arrived as the panel heaters are we had to switch the panel heaters on.

Both wall mounted soap dispensers were empty and instead an unmarked dispenser of soap/shower gel was left next to the sink . You had to remember to take it into the shower with you and vice versa.

So nothing particularly wrong with this hotel but nothing to write home about either.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel
Responded Mar 13, 2020
Dear ewanmac76, Thank you for taking the time to review The Ambassador Hotel. We are happy you found the location excellent & enjoyed the use of our private car park. Always happy to hear our staff are friendly, you found our rooms clean, neat & tidy & that you enjoyed a good nights sleep in our comfortable bed. We are currently in the process of replacing all the dispensers throughout the hotel & in the mean time have supplied an all over body & hair wash in the rooms in independent dispensers. We apologise if this did not meet your needs however, if you had enquired as to its contents our staff would have gladly explained. Unfortunately it is not recommended that we leave the panel heaters on in the rooms when there is no guests present, we do apologise that you were not satisfied that you had to turn this on yourself however, these heaters take no time at all to heat up as I'm sure you had discovered. We do hope you visit us again in future & hopefully we can improve on your 3 star rating of The Ambassador.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rossmooring wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom2 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
For the price I paid for the room to not have separate shampoo was a bit disappointing. Also could strongly smell breakfast being made from very early on inside my room. The food itself was good however. Nice and clean rooms and friendly staff. Good not great location. Overall the experience was okay but didn’t really provide good value for money. Will look elsewhere in Glasgow next time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Dear Mr Mooring, We are saddened to hear you did not find us good value as this is not a common occurrence here at The Ambassador. You did note that the rooms were nice and clean, the breakfast was good (although aromatic early on) & that our staff were friendly. We do wish you had approached us with any other aspects you had felt lacking in value. Please note that the shower wash supplied in the shower is a hair & body wash, we could have informed you of this had you mentioned your desire for shampoo or enquired about the shower wash with our staff. We do hope you change your mind in the future and we wish you the best when next visiting Glasgow.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mohammed A wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
They were extremely accommodating and allowed me to check in early at like 10 am. I got to the hotel super early and I didn’t wanna wait. So this was a big plus. The service was exceptional as well. I have recommended this hotel to my friends and family.

The price is extremely affordable and if you are a Student I highly recommend this place, I have even extended my stay twice because of how friendly and clean the hotel was, and when I compare it to any other hotel in Glasgow the Ambassador Hotel stands out in all aspects. I am certainly staying it in again.

Thank you so much Marlene this has been a great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robert McQuade, Owner at Ambassador Hotel
Responded Aug 15, 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a positive review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the hospitality from the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ambassador in the future .Remember to ask your friends and family to book direct and take advantage of our great offers.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tripping wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for two months at the end of 2020 due to practical issues caused by the pandemic. The hotel is extremely well managed by responsible and genuine staff who are present at all times. The hotel is tastefully decorated and my room was bright and clean. Cleaning staff are present every morning/afternoon to maintain a high standard of cleanliness/change sheets etc. Coffee and breakfast in the morning are great. The hotel offers an ideal locations for visiting Glasgow or if you need to reside there for a while like I did: directly opposite the Botanic Gardens at the top of Byres road with access to shops, coffee, food, pubs (if they ever open again) busses and the subway system that gets you into the city center in less than 10 minutes.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robert McQuade, Owner at Ambassador Hotel
Responded Feb 1, 2021
Dear Culture31391816618, Thank you so very much for your amazing feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Your kind comments have been passed to all of the staff who are delighted. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us . Best Wishes Robert
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CoachCColin asked a question Apr 2022
Stourbridge, United Kingdom67 contributions33 helpful votes
Is ther. Car parking at the hotel as well as on street parking. If so how many spaces?
Answer from TomandCamilla
Lyng, United Kingdom2 contributions
At most half a dozen if you turn up early. Access is by a narrow lane off the road behind the hotel.
Wilma Gilmour asked a question Jul 2021
Dumbarton, United Kingdom1 contribution
Does this hotel have a restaurent for dinner
joemcaloon1965 asked a question Apr 2018
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Staying 19 may 2 nights, what's best way to get there from airport
Answer from Joanne I
Rochdale, United Kingdom10 contributions7 helpful votes
There is an airport shuttle bus that takes you into city centre, you’d have to get another bus from there to the hotel, will take about an hour in total. Otherwise it’s about 8 miles in a car/taxi approx. 20 minutes.
Answer from kirsihaa
Brussels, Belgium116 contributions24 helpful votes
I think you would need to book it night before to make sure they have place.
Answer from Fetlar13
Wirral, United Kingdom146 contributions291 helpful votes
The Edinburgh train goes to Queens Street station not Central. Taxi would cost about £8, or you can walk around the corner to Buchanan Street and catch the subway (Inner line) to Hillhead and the hotel is a 10 minute walk away. Subway cost £1.75p
George G wrote a tip Apr 10
6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking area at the rear is small with tight parking bays."
Read full review
jacqui r wrote a tip Mar 2024
Huddersfield, United Kingdom51 contributions40 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you're booking breakfast leave plenty of room..... You'll need it! 😁"
Read full review
bignelBonnieScotland wrote a tip Mar 2024
bonnie scotland10 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Think most rooms hav fridges so great for a nice cold beer or wine! "
Read full review
Gillian C wrote a tip Mar 2024
9 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"None ..you've got it right 😁"
Read full review
Emma B wrote a tip Feb 2024
Bury, England, United Kingdom26 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book breakfast well in advance if you want it. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Glasgow area.
PRICE RANGE
C$122 - C$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ambassador hotel glasgow
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandGlasgow
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Ambassador Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Ambassador Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Ambassador Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Glasgow Botanic Gardens (0.3 km), A Play a Pie and a Pint (0.4 km), and Oran Mor (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ambassador Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Ambassador Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Ambassador Hotel?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Ambassador Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ambassador Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cail Bruich, Ka Pao Glasgow, and Papercup Coffee Company.
Are there any historical sites close to Ambassador Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Mackintosh House (0.9 km), The Tenement House (1.7 km), and House for an Art Lover (4.0 km).
All Glasgow HotelsGlasgow Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GlasgowHotels near Ambassador Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars