We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,015 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 936: English reviews
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I have stayed at this hotel more than 200 nights in the past 4 years. And I stay at Holiday Inn properties around the world more than 100 nights a year. Some of the people that work at this hotel are great -- and some should be working at a hamburger chain. The manager of this hotel is never here!!!!!!!!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tide14fan
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Tide14fan, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further...

Tain
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The hotel reception staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, comfortable and bright, though basic. Breakfast was a complete disappointment. The only cooked items were baked beans, tasteless sausages and horrible scrambled eggs -- take it or leave it! We had a few bites and left it. Would go elsewhere next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SharringTain
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was sorry to hear that your breakfast experience with us was disappointing to you. As a Brand we offer selected hot items on our breakfast buffet which are beans, sausage and scrambled egg. I will pass your comments onto our suppliers regarding the eggs and sausages. it was good to hear that you found the staff to...

Aberdeen
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by a friend who knows Glasgow well. We were not disappointed. The hotel is smart, clean and the service very efficcient: the reception staff were particularly helpful and will keep luggage until you leave Glasgow if you have checked out of your room. The reception area was just completeing renovation when we stayed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara41
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your fantastic comments regarding your recent stay here with us. We pride ourselves on our customer service and the quality of product we provide here so it is wonderful to receive feedback such as yours. I have passed your comments onto all the team and we look forward to seeing you here again in the...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed in this hotel on business and as per my previous reviews stay in this branded hotel quite a bit all over the country. This hotel is located in the heart of Glasgows theatreland and after a cock up on my booking (my fault) everything was sorted very quickly by fantastic reception staff who made me feel very welcome as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Demetrios C
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Demetrios, It was a pleasure to take care of everything for you during your stay and we hope to see you back here again very soon! Warmest Regards, Tracey Sweeney General Manager

Scotland
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. Tiny rooms - really not a lot of space to walk at side or end of the beds. Room looked on to west Nile Street and street noise was unbearable. You would have thought that with being next to a main road there would have been double glazing. Also a lack of power sockets. Only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gillh001
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear gillh001, Thank you for your stay and leaving feedback of our hotel. I am glad that you found our location to be convenient for your needs. I am deeply sorry that you found your stay to be less than satisfactory due to the condition of the room accommodations you were given and unavailability of power sockets. We take all...

Kildare
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We arrived on an early morning flight from Dublin to Prestwick Int Airport. The staff at the hotel were very accomodating allowing us to check into our room( we only wanted to drop our bags). They insisted on us checking in & allowing us to freshen up as room was ready. Staff were also very helpful providing us with maps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angestar
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel. It is always great for the team and myself to know that we have left such an impression on our guests. I have passed your comments onto the team and we look forward to your next stay here with us. Warmest Regards, Tracey...

aberdeenshire
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This is a basic, clean and reasonably cheap hotel. It has cheap parking opposite, £7 overnite and is only a few minutes walk from city centre. The staff are helpfull and friendly. Reception could have used a little more help at busy time when they have to serve the bar as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daytripper066
MarkBurke, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking time to post a review regarding your recent stay. If you return to Glasgow we hope you you choose to stay with us again. Thank You Mark Burke

Fife, Scotland
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Just had two nights here with my wife as part of a long weekend. Had never visited Glasgow before so it was a completely new experience for us. Hotel was good. Room was spotlessly clean with all of the facilities you would expect in such an establishment. Staff were friendly and helpful. Subsidised car parking across the street was both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scotrodg
MarkBurke, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your recent review i was pleased to read you found our central location ideal for your needs and we hope you will stay with us the next time you visit Glasgow. Kind Regards Mark Burke

U K
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed for 1 night on 14th February. Very close to Queen Street Station.Great location for city centre. Very clean . Comfy Beds.Breakfast good. All the staff we came in contact with were very helpful and friendly. Very good value

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahlindsay555
MarkBurke, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Glasgow. Mark Burke Guest Services

Fort William, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Stayed for 3 nights 9/11th Feb 2013 on the 5th floor in a spacious VERY clean room. All the staff from check-in to check-out were fantastic, friendly and efficient. When I mentioned to one of the guys at reception we were visiting the SECC on Sunday he suggested leaving our car in the multi-story opposite and taking the bus or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
MarkBurke, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking time to post a comment about your recent stay. Your kind comments are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all departments within the hotel. We hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Glasgow. Thank You Mark Burke

228 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (150)
Viewed
Accessible Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Standard Double (35)
Viewed
Standard Twin (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
892 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the city within the Theatreland district. Glasgow boasts a wide variety of shops, from high street stores to the fabulous Buchanan Galleries, the exclusive Princes Square and Italian Centre, and they are all within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has 118 well appointed rooms and all rates are inclusive of continental breakfast and FREE Wifi access. The hotel has a bar which is open from 12:00 until late and a vending area where guests can purchase a wide selection of drinks and hot and cold snacks. The hotel is a perfect starting point for visiting the Highlands, Trossachs and other major towns and cities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Address: 165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Price Range: $90 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Scotland
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms at back of hotel quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Stuartros, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on a high floor at the back of the hotel to avoid traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles 618boba, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room was at the back of the hotel - not a great view but quiet for being in the centre of a busy city.”
 of 5 bubbles 112maureenm, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid first floor and ask for a new room”
 of 5 bubbles mitch121, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“On a busy street so higher probably best”
 of 5 bubbles Kildress, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay